We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lives up to the reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lives up to the reviews!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent three nights at the Harbour View and really cannot add anything to the already excellent reviews posted. It is just lovely. The walks from the back of the motel were excellent. One was easy, the other, Harray's Track, a tad more challenging! But both were worthwhile. We also walked to the Driving Creek Railway via one of the walking tracks , as the route was paved almost to the door. If you are keen on self catering, the equipment provided was more than adequate for basic meals. Although the local snapper and chips was so amazing that you might not want to cook. Just one hint though, don't leave internal lights on and windows open at night! You are on the edge of the bush and you might find uninvited house guests in the morning. They are friendly and harmless but some people might not think they are cute! I would recommend this motel with wonderful views to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    70
    18
    3
    0
See reviews for
36
157
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Discovered this little bit of Paradise back in 2008.Since then have stayed about twelve times.
It is great to get away from the bustle of city life and to just enjoy the peace and quiet and relax.
The rooms are spacious and the view is very special.Everything is spotless and nothing too much trouble for the hosts Leanne and Des.( I now consider them friends).Sadly they will be leaving the motel soon, but I will continue to pop down from Auckland for my little breaks and will visit them round the corner

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The four of us stayed here for one night. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with fully equipped kitchen.
Owners are helpful and are happy to advise about sightseeing, restaurants, local attractions etc.
We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during our recent visit. The view is absolutely stunning across the bay from a lovely large and private decked area and the room very large with parking right outside. Would recommend the walk to town over the hill (ask at reception who were very helpful).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
328 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed two nights at the Harbour View where we were incredibly lucky to get a room as we hadn't booked but were able to get a cancellation. This has to be the best motel I have ever stayed in. First, the welcome from Leanne and Des is warm and genuine. They really do want to make your stay a happy one. Then, there is the unparalleled view from the room's deck over the water, with the deck ringed by glorious shrubbery and flowers which make a natural screen between your room and next door so it feels totally private. The room itself is spacious, well maintained and with everything you could possibly want in terms of self catering (though we didn't). There was a smaller room, too, with two single beds - not needed but really handy for laying out our luggage. A really lovely end to a long trip

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notacouchpotato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Ticked all the boxes. Great accommodation, great hosts in Leanne and Des, fabulous views, and a couple of walking tracks leading right from the property. We wished we could have had longer at the Harbour View. Oh by the way the fish and chips from town were every bit as good as other reviewers have said...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shell Beach
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 lovely nights. Upon arrival Leanne couldn't have been more helpful. After checking in we took the trail from behind the motel to town. We had a fabulous dinner at the Pepper Tree and then hiked back by the light of dusk to dark. The rooms all look out at the harbor/bay and it is very peaceful. Clean and comfortable and my only suggestion to the owners is to provide hair conditioner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 17 in Whitianga
480 reviews
13.0 mi away
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
Oceanside Motel Whitianga
#5 of 17 in Whitianga
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#5 of 11 in Coromandel
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coromandel Court Motel
Coromandel Court Motel
#6 of 11 in Coromandel
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#2 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing