We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A great little motel complex just 5 minutes from town. Had all the facilities one needs and great friendly staff to go with it. Will stay there next time we are in town. Only drawback if at all is the fact that its probably about 15 minutes walk to town. On the good side that means that there is peace and quiet to go with the great views.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    72
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
37
163
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at this motel for the 1st time and have no hesitation in recommending it. As previous reviews have said, the harbour views and the size of the units are quite remarkable. It is a little way out of town but the units have cooking facilities so not a problem to bring food back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jill r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We spent 4 nights here and were pleased we chose this Motel. A good sized Unit with wonderful views of the harbour. A King size bed in the large living room and 2 single beds in a separate bedroom. Good sized bathroom and heating is available as required. The free Wi-Fi worked okay but being a fairly isolated town top speeds can not be achieved. At about $90 per night it would hard to get better value.
The owners were always available and were very happy to answer any question put to them.
Car park is immediately outside each unit so no stairs or distance to carry ones bags.
Highly recommended and would definitely return if we have a need to be in Coromandel Town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent three nights at the Harbour View and really cannot add anything to the already excellent reviews posted. It is just lovely. The walks from the back of the motel were excellent. One was easy, the other, Harray's Track, a tad more challenging! But both were worthwhile. We also walked to the Driving Creek Railway via one of the walking tracks , as the route was paved almost to the door. If you are keen on self catering, the equipment provided was more than adequate for basic meals. Although the local snapper and chips was so amazing that you might not want to cook. Just one hint though, don't leave internal lights on and windows open at night! You are on the edge of the bush and you might find uninvited house guests in the morning. They are friendly and harmless but some people might not think they are cute! I would recommend this motel with wonderful views to everyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghenna_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Discovered this little bit of Paradise back in 2008.Since then have stayed about twelve times.
It is great to get away from the bustle of city life and to just enjoy the peace and quiet and relax.
The rooms are spacious and the view is very special.Everything is spotless and nothing too much trouble for the hosts Leanne and Des.( I now consider them friends).Sadly they will be leaving the motel soon, but I will continue to pop down from Auckland for my little breaks and will visit them round the corner

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The four of us stayed here for one night. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable with fully equipped kitchen.
Owners are helpful and are happy to advise about sightseeing, restaurants, local attractions etc.
We will come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights during our recent visit. The view is absolutely stunning across the bay from a lovely large and private decked area and the room very large with parking right outside. Would recommend the walk to town over the hill (ask at reception who were very helpful).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jidsprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
494 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#2 of 11 in Coromandel
88 reviews
12.6 mi away
Beachfront Resort
Beachfront Resort
#3 of 18 in Whitianga
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing