We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Motel With Great Views”
Review of Harbour View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harbour View Motel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Coromandel
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Lovely Motel With Great Views”
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We only stayed here for one night, but it was a nice little motel. The staff were helpful and made us feel welcome on arrival. The only negative for me was that it was just a tad too far out of the town of Coromandel. You could in theory have walked from the town back to the motel, but I would not have wanted to do it along the unlit road, especially after sampling a few beverages at the local hostelry. Saw the most fantastic moon rising over the sea from our front window/porch, which was really memorable.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhiggins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 30 September 2009
Many thanks for your comments.
Just a note for any would-be guests :
both the "Top Pub"- Coromandel Hotel, and the "Bottom Pub" - Star and Garter offer a free pick-up, and drop-back service if guests choose to drink/dine with them. I apologise if we didn't tell you about this, and will add it to the information in our compendium.
Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    71
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
36
159
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2009

# The owner of the motel was very kind and showed us the activities around the places.
# The room was very tidy and slightly larger than any other model we have ever been.
# The motel is right next to the sea and view of sunset was fantastic.
# Wireless Internet was fast and reliable for checking emails and remote access to work place.
# The spa pool was nice and warm.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoBai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed here in November 2007, had a fantastic break, pleasant clean accomodation and superb views to wake up to . A welcome break in a busy schedule, would have loved to stayed for longer than we did. Hosts Angela and Ian very helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Organising trips etc.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My family only had one night to spend at the Harbour View, and we would very much like to return sometime for a longer stay.

After a scenic two hour drive from Auckland Int'l Airport, we were warmly greeted by Angela, who immediately gave us many helpful tips on what to see and do, and options for dining (somewhat limited in the winter), in the area.

The motel is small, and all six or so units have wonderful views of the harbour both from inside the rooms, and from their large porches. We had a huge two bedroom suite, with a fully equipped kitchen, a dining area, and living room type furniture, in addition to the usual sleeping furnishings. The motel seems more oriented towards summer stays, with just an electric wall heater which was adequate (but no additional heating in the bathroom). The television was a modern flat screen type mounted on a wall. Overall the decor was not particularly stylish, but all very practical and pleasant. Strangely there was no wall outlet or mirror in the bathroom, a slight inconvenience.

Although every room has a parking space in front of it, getting one's car to it requires some tight maneuvering, and you'll need to be careful to leave space for other cars to get by. A little nerve-racking the first day driving on the 'wrong side' in a new rental car.

There is an outdoor shared spa by the office, which my family enjoyed. Laundry facilities are available at a moderate cost. There is free wi-fi, and a computer is available for guest use at no charge in the office. Breakfasts can be ordered the night before and are delivered to the room, very convenient.

We decided to have dinner at the Pepper Tree, in town, and this proved to be an excellent choice. Truly superb food at a reasonable price for the quality. Angela also pointed us to a wonderful bush walk just a mile or so away, where one can see a large ancient kauri tree and a grove of reforested Kauris.

All in all, the Coromandel is a great place to visit, even in the winter, and the Harbour View is a fine, reasonably priced place to stay while enjoying the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Runner4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Good views from a very spacious room. Owners are very helpful. The motel block is obviously old and there has been some work undertaken to try and bring it into the 21st century. It doesn’t take long to see its age though, eg the cupboards in the mini kitchen area give a 50s, 60s feel. It was clean and we were only there for a night. We would normally stay at properties at least 4star and this certainly wasn’t. Mind you, I didn’t see anything else in the town that looked any better.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztraveller52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Thank you for your comments. The motel was built to a timeless design in the late 70’s, and has been through many upgrades over the years. The kitchen cabinets are now next on our list of “to-do‘s“. Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
316 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2009

After reading previous reviews, we were really excited about coming to Coromandel. Well, we arrived in rain and it poured the whole time we were there. We thought the room was okay - certainly nothing special as others thought. We felt it was dated and the walls were thin. We kept hearing the person in the next room coughing. The deck looked nice but we couldn't venture out there in the rain. We did cook dinner there but, compared to other places we stayed (for the same price) with full kitchen facilities, thought the efficiency kitchen was small. Angela was certainly friendly. We weren't able to use the spa (weather) but did use the laundry facility, which I thought was fairly expensive to do a load in a very old machine and dryer.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayteeMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
We appreciate your comments, though we were sorry to hear you didn’t enjoy your stay in Coromandel.
In reply to your comment re the “thin walls’, this was a real surprise to us, as the walls are 8inch thick solid concrete. We have taken on board your comments re the cost of a load of washing for $5.00, and will look at reducing this. Although we agree with your comments re the dryer - it is certainly old and battle-scarred, it still goes well and does the job. However - the washing machine is only 4 years old.
Thank you again for your comments.Regards, Angela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 April 2009

Harbour View Motel has exceeded our expectations.It was perfect!The hosts Iain and Angela made it so special for us that the stay was definately the best in New Zealand and experience we shall treasure.The service was top class,room was clean, big and perfect for cleanlines police (like my wife!).
The place is beautifully set up right in front of the waters with the mountains at a distance giving it a scenic spectacle from your own balcony making the sunsets so beautiful and romantic.The view is beautiful!The motel website doesnt do justice to it like I said ... It exceeded our expectations!I would recommend the big spa pool which the guests can use.What makes the stay more memorable is not just the accommodation but also the hosts.Angela and Iain are two wonderful people who made our stay special.They had our room ready with a box of Turkish Delights just for us !!! Also Iain was kind enought to drop us off at the bus stop at 7 in the morning when it was so cold.Thank you Iain and Angela for the wonderful stay and making it easily the best stay of our trip.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irfu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela049, Owner at Harbour View Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2009
Many thanks for your comments.
Regards, Angela & Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.9 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
13.3 mi away
Beachside Resort Whitianga
Beachside Resort Whitianga
#2 of 18 in Whitianga
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#4 of 11 in Coromandel
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Olive Motel
The Olive Motel
#1 of 11 in Coromandel
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
13.2 mi away
Oceans Resort Whitianga
Oceans Resort Whitianga
#1 of 18 in Whitianga
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour View Motel

Property: Harbour View Motel
Address: 25 Harbour View Road | Coromandel Town, Coromandel 3581, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Coromandel
#4 Luxury Hotel in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbour View Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious self-contained 1brm ground floor units, all with private deck and harbour views. Set in quiet garden and bush setting, parking at door. Kitchens with cooking facilities, dining area, en suite with shower/shub and separate toilet. King or queen size bed in living area, separate bedroom with 2 single beds. SKY TV, Spa, BBQ, laundry,Broadband Wi-Fi. Continental/cooked breakfast available. Bikes for guest use. Adjacent to walking tracks, Wetlands, safe swimming beach; 2klm to town and golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harbour View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing