We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent little place for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Coromandel Cafe

Coromandel Cafe
Ranked #17 of 26 Restaurants in Coromandel
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grimsby, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Decent little place for a quick lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We grabbed a quick lunch at this little café and found it decent. Food was nothing special but it was tasty enough and well priced. Not a bad little place to grab a quick bite.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    10
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“May not look like much, but very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I'd walked pas a few times and though it looked a bit old and grotty, but always busy. On my last day in Coromandel I decided to give it a try for breakfast. The menu for breakfasts looked a bit strange but did include my favourite - Eggs Ben - so I ordered that. Turned out to be one of the best I've ever had.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka-shi, Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Give it a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overpriced and low quality food. Very little ambience. Best to avoid it unless you are after a custard square or something your grandmother used to make.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dated and without a smile”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Upon arriving in the coromandel we were looking for somewhere to have a quick lunch meal.
We selected this establishment as it didnt look to bad from the outside.

They have a decent selection of cooked and cabnet bakery type food on offer most of which varies from reasonibly priced to excessive. This seems to be the same at the other options here to - Auckland prices.

The service was fairly average, we were not greeted particularly well. Hardly a smile and the attitude seemed as if we were a burdon to serve. Guess the smiles are saved for the locals.

The inside of the cafe is in big need of a clean up, the chairs and carpet need a major clean at the very least. Pretty dissapointing in this respect.

The food arrived after a bit of a wait but nothing overly long. Based on the price paid I would not say I was blown away however the food did meet what I was expecting. Lower the price and it would be great.

The factor that pretty much ruined the entire experience - overhearing the waitress talking to locals about how some girl 'stepped her out' (asked for a fight). Terrible.

Safe to say this alone removed any future visits. Not a good look for tourists even ones from NZ.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FlawlessStevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coromandel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well we tried”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

It is probably the biggest cafe in town and they open early but close early too. We thought about having a late brunch, ok it was 2 o'clock. The benchs were still outside so it appeared open, we were told in no uncertain terms Nah, Kitchen's closed. Baically Go away.
So we did, but it left a nasty feeling of poor hospitality.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank tadpoleCoromandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coromandel Cafe also viewed

Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
Coromandel, Coromandel Peninsula
 

Been to Coromandel Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing