We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Buffalo Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fern Lodge(Coromandel)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Rock Winery(Coromandel)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Central Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
The Olive Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel(Coromandel)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
66
5
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
5
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome roasted coffeehomemade jamshome madeyogurtevelynartbathbushhostchucksnzgardentownstudiochooksensuite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 71 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Evelyne and enjoyed a wonderful night in her home. The weather wasn't great so we didn't see her magnficent forest garden or the panoramic views of the Coromandel at their best but the bird life was fascinating. She cooked a fantastic dinner too which was a bit expensive but saved us having to get back in the car to find a restaurant in the town. She was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of useful advice about the roads and places to visit. The walls of her unusual home are covered in exciting artwork by herself and late husband and she enjoyed explaining about the various artefacts on show.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have had two stays at Buffalo Lodge, most recently in December 2011. Without exaggeration, it is our most enjoyable stay of any place in the world, and we are looking forward to the next sta . Evelyn is an outstanding hostess, wonderful chef and exciting artist. Her home is beautiful and relaxing and we are transported to a very special place staying with her. The meals are simply outstanding and we have conferred with her before arriving for special birthday and special anniversary dinners and always have been delighted. We enjoy talking with her about her art and new directions she is taking, and especially enjoy the pieces we have now hanging in her home, wanting more. The views from her place, listening to the native birds in the morning and evening, and having a bubble bath overlooking the bush are incomparable. Buffalo Lodge and Evelyn are very special.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoy the room next to her studio.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a wonderful time. Evelyn loves cooking, food from the garden, prepared with love and that is what you taste. We were lucky to eat there for both day's. Beside thats she gives you good ideas to explore the area. Enjoy the sundowning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our second visit to this mountain top b and b. Evelyn is the perfect host, warm, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. Plus, she is a terrific chef and although dinners are an additional cost, they are worth every penny. Breakfasts,included, are created as you request, and again, wonderful. The views from the various decks are breathtaking

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nader522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed two night's in Evelyne's beautiful home, designed and built as a luxury guest home. (B & B, even for New Zealand, doesn't quite seem to do it justice!) It poured with rain for most of our stay, but being in the middle of what felt like rainforest was a magical experience. The house is built surrounded by greenery, with gorgeous views as far as the sea. Evelyne really seems to enjoy having guests, she is so relaxed and hospitable, and the external beauty is matched by beautiful internal art, some Evelyne's own and that of her late husband. She is a magnificent cook, we had two superb dinners, if you stay there, do book dinner, and bring your own wine. Breakfast was lovely too, and we enjoyed meeting her other guests from Boston (helped by us all being in political agreement!). We want to go back if we get the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews