We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant view and great hospitality”
Review of Buffalo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spend great time in the lodge. Enjoyed great view from the balcony, good food and coffee, and that was very cozy place. The paintings on the walls were also beautiful!!! I really want to visit there again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ikuko_ya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

A warm welcome, a charming host en the best food of New Zealand. The house is situated on a beautiful spot, the food is prepared of locale and own produce. Evelyne made us feel at home from the moment we arrived until the moment we left.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Very friendly and service-minded staff. Excellent value for your money, good standard on the rooms. I really enjoyed my stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Evelyne and enjoyed a wonderful night in her home. The weather wasn't great so we didn't see her magnficent forest garden or the panoramic views of the Coromandel at their best but the bird life was fascinating. She cooked a fantastic dinner too which was a bit expensive but saved us having to get back in the car to find a restaurant in the town. She was very knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of useful advice about the roads and places to visit. The walls of her unusual home are covered in exciting artwork by herself and late husband and she enjoyed explaining about the various artefacts on show.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John and Maggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have had two stays at Buffalo Lodge, most recently in December 2011. Without exaggeration, it is our most enjoyable stay of any place in the world, and we are looking forward to the next sta . Evelyn is an outstanding hostess, wonderful chef and exciting artist. Her home is beautiful and relaxing and we are transported to a very special place staying with her. The meals are simply outstanding and we have conferred with her before arriving for special birthday and special anniversary dinners and always have been delighted. We enjoy talking with her about her art and new directions she is taking, and especially enjoy the pieces we have now hanging in her home, wanting more. The views from her place, listening to the native birds in the morning and evening, and having a bubble bath overlooking the bush are incomparable. Buffalo Lodge and Evelyn are very special.

Room Tip: We particularly enjoy the room next to her studio.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed here for two nights and it was a wonderful time. Evelyn loves cooking, food from the garden, prepared with love and that is what you taste. We were lucky to eat there for both day's. Beside thats she gives you good ideas to explore the area. Enjoy the sundowning.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This was our second visit to this mountain top b and b. Evelyn is the perfect host, warm, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area. Plus, she is a terrific chef and although dinners are an additional cost, they are worth every penny. Breakfasts,included, are created as you request, and again, wonderful. The views from the various decks are breathtaking

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nader522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.2 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
8.8 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
13.7 mi away
Tangiaro Kiwi Retreat
Tangiaro Kiwi Retreat
#52 of 95 in Coromandel Peninsula
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Villa Toscana
Villa Toscana
#15 of 23 in Whitianga
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
1.7 mi away
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
Anchor Lodge Coromandel
#3 of 11 in Coromandel
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge

Address: 860 Buffalo Road | PO Box 11, Coromandel 3543, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range: £110 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buffalo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing