We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Buffalo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a wonderful stay at "Buffalo Lodge". The most tranquil place you're ever likely to stay!
Evelyn is an exceptional hostess, and left us with extremely fond memories of both herself as well as her beautiful corner of the Coromandel Peninsular.
Our en suite room was not over fussy but comfortable and we had the best sleep we had on the peninsular. The bath is lovely - hovering over bush cover with windows surrounding it - allowing a lovely view. If you want high tech and a big tv then this is not the place for you. However, no matter what, you should experience the peace and pure tranquility of Buffalo Lodge.
We had pre arranged to have dinner which Evelyn, which was cooked with quiet passion and warmth.
The meal was truly delicious and the best we had during our stay on the peninsular. We started off with Evelyn's home made Chinese dumplings and dipping sauce. Oh my goodness they are amazing - a main course of these would make me very happy. However, the main course was salmon en cruet with simple but wonderfully tasty veggies and salad. A true delight of course, I ate every morsel! Dessert was home made ice cream with drunken prunes, the title does not do justice to the perfect end to a lovely meal. I have to add that we ate this wonderful meal from 7 to 10.30, not something we would not normally due. However, in the relaxed atmosphere of Buffalo Lodge this was just perfect. We suggest you give Evelyn a minimum of 24 hours notice to book dinner but so worth it. It is also BYO which is easily sorted in Coromandel Town and kept chilled in Evelyn's fridge. I would recommend an extra bottle to have prior to dinner on the lovely deck watching and listening to the birds. You might be lucky and see a Morepork or two as we did up close.
Staying at Buffalo Lodge was a highlight for us on the Coromandel Peninsular. Evelyn is not only a talented artist and amazing cook,but a delightful and warm hostess. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacko05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Herrliberg
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

This was our second stay at this beautiful, esthetically perfect place after 13 years. Evelyne is still the same great hostess and cook. Spectacular views from all the rooms and no unfulfilled wishes. For European travellers it should be noted that Evelyne is not only mastering Mandarin and English but also French, German and even Swiss German as she worked for several years in an excellent Restaurant's cuisine in Switzerland.

But, above all, it is Evelyne's personality that makes Buffalo Lodge such a special place.

Room Tip: P.S. There is neither a pool nor a Fitness Studio (and one does not miss them!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moab02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamaica
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

A beautiful place in the hills above Coromandel village. Evelyn helps in many ways to make your stay a great experience. We had the back room with unbelievable vistas. The house is reminiscent of an alpine retreat - a result of her late swiss husband. The dining area is three walls of glass allowing you to watch the birds dart about as you enjoy breakfast. Prior high rates are justified. Great job Evelyn.

Room Tip: Reservation are recommended as is the backroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank im44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Coromandel is a wonderful place to visit and a stay at Buffalo Lodge enhances it. Evelyn has a beautiful home and shares it with you. The rooms are stunning and the breakfast provided comes from her garden and her chickens is delicious. The view is to be believed. We really enjoyed it there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Our one night stay here was arranged by a travel agent. We had a lovely room with a balcony and view over the trees. The B&B was built for that purpose so there is a large livingroom area for guests and breakfast. The cheerful owner gave us refreshing tea, and her morning breakfast was quite substantial. The fresh eggs were from her own chickens, and the owner makes her own jams. WiFi is included. We were the only guests that night, so we felt very special.
The B&B could be hard to find as it is a short distance out of Coromandel on a side road that gets VERY steep before arriving at the B&B.

Room Tip: There are only three rooms and all probably have the same stunning views and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We have stayed at many B & Bs in New Zealand over the past 6 years, all great, but this is probably the best of the lot, and this was our second visit. Our lovely room had a large balcony overlooking bush, sea and mountains beyond, and a bathroom set out into the bush so that you are surrounded by greenery. The house is very beautiful with amazing westward views, so magnificent sunsets, and full of the art of our wonderful host Evelyne and her late husband. Evelyne is a really gifted chef, do make sure you have dinner there, they are absolutely superb. Breakfast is good coffee, delicious breads and mueslis, homemade croissants and jams, and if you are lucky, the hens have laid and provided you with eggs. It's not cheap, but it's worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolfinaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

We started our annual NZ trip in the Coromandels and found Buffalo Lodge via Trip Advisor. What a wonderful discovery. Evelyne is the most charming host, sharing her wonderful home and life with us. Her knowledge of and contacts in the local area make planning your day to day activities easy. The area around Coromandel town is fabulous - in some respects time is standing still and yet in others there is a quirky self confidence that makes you feel very comfortable to relax and enjoy your time.
The lodge is at the end of a long drive on a narrow track through native bushland fording a creek - don't be put off - it is worth it to see the views from the house when you get there!
Evelyne is a wonderful artist and great cook who is very happy to give her time to make your stay a wonderful experience. We are definitely coming back!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
1.2 mi away
Coromandel TOP 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Coromandel Colonial Cottages Motel
0.6 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Shelly Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
1.6 mi away
Abbey Court Motel
Abbey Court Motel
#5 of 14 in Coromandel
81 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge

Property: Buffalo Lodge
Address: 860 Buffalo Road | PO Box 11, Coromandel 3543, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing