We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffalo Lodge, one of our favourite places!”
Review of Buffalo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buffalo Lodge
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Buffalo Lodge, one of our favourite places!”
Reviewed 12 March 2009

This was a wonderful lodge and an equally wonderful hostess, one of our favorite places during our tour of North and South Islands. The approach road to the Lodge is not for the faint hearted with steep gradient and hairpin bends, but it is worth it. We were the only ones staying and Evelyne put us in the Deluxe Double in stead of the booked standard room at no extra charge. An isolated location in the middle of the bush with magnificent views out over the peninsular, but only 10 minutes from Coromandel and well located for other attractions of the Peninsular. Breakfasts are a delight with lots of home made produce, fresh eggs from Evelyn's two free range hens and home roasted coffee. The dinner prepared by Evelyn on our second night was superb. The Lodge itself is well designed and built with local timbers and takes full advantage of the location with big windows. Inside the walls are hung with a wide selection of pictures painted by Evelyn and her late husband. Our only regret, we were not staying longer!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dandjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stratford on Avon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We stayed at Buffalo Lodge for 2 nights on our visit to Coromandel and were very sorry to leave.
Buffalo Lodge is in a wonderful location situated away from Coromandel with panoramic views over the peninsula. Our hostess Evelyne couldn't have been more helpful and it was so enjoyable spending time with her when we returned at the end of the day having explored the area.

We will always remember the evening when we sat with a bottle of wine on our balcony watching the sun go down over the horizon. It was one of the highlights of our holiday in New Zealand and we can fully understand why people return to Buffalo Lodge.

Evelyne is a very talented artist and it was a privilege to see her work (and her late husbands) on the walls of her home.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PollyStratfordonAvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2009

Buffalo Lodge is a extremely special Lodge tucked in the hills above Coromandel Township. I have just had yet another return visit and reluctantly leave today. The views from the balcony in front of my room are stunning, always changing with the different light. Last night there was another exceptional sunset to be enjoyed.

Buffalo Lodges host Evelyne has always made me feel so very welcome. Breakfasts are always special with the most divine home roasted coffee, home made jams and home made muesli. Any meal Evelyne cooks whether breakfast lunch or dinner is always delicious, made with fresh seasonal local produce. Evelyne also has two much loved chickens called Meggie and Penny who produce free range eggs for breakfast.

Being a lover of art I love to see new art Evelyn creates when she has time in the winter months. I have a small collection of Evelyn's art and it is slowly growing bigger.

I keep returning to Buffalo Lodge with friends and family and sometimes on own and can highly recommend Buffalo Lodge as my favorite place to stay. We all love Evelyne's coffee and I never return home empty handed.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Jules684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds uk
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2009

My family and I spent two glorious nights at Buffalo Lodge. Having arrived in NZ only a couple of days earlier from the UK the peace and tranquility of the lodge was just what we needed. Evelyn was amazing. She is so friendly and nothing is any trouble to her. Our room was spotless and felt so private, overlooking Evelyn's garden.
Our meals were delicious and we were lucky enough to sample Evelyn's wonderful home-made Chinese Ravioli. Breakfasts were fresh and delicious, with free range, organic eggs from her resident chickens, Maggie and Penny.
I would urge anyone planning a trip to Coromandel to book their stay now! I can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
Thank EveTedRoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steentje
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We stayed with Evelyne at the lodge for 2 nights and had a most wonderful time. The lodge is situated just outside of the town Cormandel, in the middle of the forrest. So the only sounds you hear are the wind through the trees and the birds. Fantastic!!
The first night we stayed in a standard double room, and the second night we moved to the cottage room, which was larger and had a beautiful bathroom (this room was occupied the first night). Both rooms had their own deck with smashing views.
In short, the lodge, its location and Evelyne's company were the best. When we go back to the Coromandel, we will definitely return to Buffalo Lodge.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nedlands , Western Australia
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2008

We stayed in the cottage room at Buffalo Lodge for 4 nights and were very sorry to leave. Evelyn (the owner of the lodge) makes everyone feel like they are very special guests in her home. We felt at home as soon as we arrived and were thrilled we had chosen to spend more than a day or 2.

The location is great (we were very happy to be on the Western side of the penninsular) and has lovely views over the hills to the water. We also loved being close to the town of Coromandel.

The accomodation is very clean, comfortable and has lots of great art work to look at.

This is a place where you can rest and enjoy the tranquility of the lodge or get out and explore.

The drive from Thames is also a highlight. The road hugs the edge of the bay and offers beautiful views. The light on the water gives the area a very special feel.

We plan to return!

Barbara & John

  • Liked — Large clean room , good views , balcony , excellent bathroom , access to a kitchen
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Babs012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2008

Back again for fabulous food, pampering and stunning views.
I think this is the BEST place for a rejuvenating holiday and only a 3 hour flight from Sydney.

Lots to do locally and a bit further afield and a lovely room to come back to after a busy day.

Evelyne's food really is sensational, love her Chinese ravioli and Duck wrapped in betel leaves. Her ice cream is sensational.

This time I watched Evelyne roasting coffee, very interesting and the process filled the house with a gorgeous aroma.

I'm definitely coming back again

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank annieday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coromandel
0.6 mi away
Hush Boutique Accommodation
Hush Boutique Accommodation
#2 of 17 in Coromandel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
8.8 mi away
Wairua Lodge - Rainforest River Retreat
17.4 mi away
Hahei Horizon Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Within The Bays
Within The Bays
#9 of 42 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
17.6 mi away
Rapaura Water Gardens
11.7 mi away
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
Andrea's Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 42 in Whitianga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Lodge

Property: Buffalo Lodge
Address: 860 Buffalo Road | PO Box 11, Coromandel 3543, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Coromandel Peninsula > Coromandel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Coromandel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing