We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”

The Windsor Lodge Backpackers
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Windsor Lodge Backpackers
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Location: Very close to Countdown supermarket and 10 mins walk to riverfront or New World Supermarket.

Room: Room size is relatively small for a 3 shared room. If all 3 persons stand in the room there will be not place to put your luggage. But the bed is good.

Communal area: Kitchen is clean and tidy. Toilet & bathroom are clean. Cosy lounge and outdoor area.

Service: Owners stay on site and they are friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

The hostel itself was clean and comfortable but the couple who own it are unwelcoming and unprofessional. You are made feel like you are in the way and being unnecessarily monitored. With only three guests at the time of my stay, you would think they would make the effort to be more accommodating. Ray persistently showed attitude and rudeness to myself and other guests, seeming to resent his job and destroying any atmosphere it might have had. Terrible shame as there are few hostel options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma_Ireland_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The unit was comfortable, clean and plenty big enough. Tea-making facilities in the room and the en suite was huge and is wheelchair-accessible. Communal facilities are good and there's plenty of room. The owners promised scuba gear washing facilities but this was a rather small basin, an outside hose and a line to hang things on. Fortunately it was a fine night so things dried but it was a bit inadequate. The hostel is very handy to Countdown supermarket and the main road into town.

Room Tip: I have no suggestions and this is just to fill in the necessary 10 characters to get the review lodg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JNCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Which is always a good thing. Immaculately clean, handy to the main centre (and the supermarket is a stone's throw away), quiet and comfortable. There is a heater and a fan in the bedroom (we opted for the one with en suite) and plenty of room. Would be more crammed if all four beds/bunks were occupied, but still not too bad. We also had a wee fridge and tea and coffee making facilities, although we used the good sized and well equipped kitchen for that, along with making our own breakfast and dinner. (Which is why one does hostels, to be self~sufficient without all the space a motel entails).

Friendly hosts and a good sized recreation area, both indoors (TV/stereo/books) and outdoors (picnic tables/BarBQ area).

One teensey gripe... (just because it should be easy to rectify). Two large chopping knives, and several smaller ones, but have you tried slicing up a ciabatta without a decent serrated bread knife? *sigh*. Next time I must remember to take pre~sliced bread!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The double room we had was located away from the main hostel and was clean and modern, with a five to ten minute walk to the town centre. The owners were helpful and friendly and showed us to the room which had a ceiling fan (it was hot that day), towels, TV, fridge, kettle, tea and coffee. Nice bathroom and shower. I would stay at this pace again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The owners were very friendly and helped me book a tour to White Island. When I was sitting in the living room, the lady came in to put on the heater for me. The bathroom was nice and the kitchen was clean. I enjoyed my stay here and would come back again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2010

awsum rates for the service and quality..supermarket across the road..leave the car and walk everywhere..5mins to town centre (strolling) Good place to stay, we are definately going back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
0.6 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
362 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#11 of 12 in Whakatane
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#12 of 12 in Whakatane
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
144 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Lodge Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Lodge Backpackers

Address: 10 Merritt Street, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Whakatane
Number of rooms: 21

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing