We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Very clean and welcoming"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tourist Court Motel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Very clean and welcoming"”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The building itself is a simple brick block accommodation. However, simple tasteful decorating with no fuss made for an exceptionally clean uncluttered space that I looked forward to returning to. I stayed for three nights. Whilst I was right by the main road I did not hear anything, especially as the roads were not busy after 6.30pm anyway. The sheets - beautiful clean crisp sheets. You could not question the level of cleanliness of this place. Really nice owners, friendly and excellent service.

Room Tip: Great for business people travelling through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worthys1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Manager at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for such a wonderful review. Your comments reflect the type of result we strive to achieve for our guests. We hope you managed to enjoy some of the wonderful sights and amenities our town and area offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    41
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
49
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a 1 bed appt. Although as other reviews have identified the decor and fittings are slightly outdated the motel is exceptionally clean and relatively well equipped. Road noise was a slight issue for me as a light sleeper but everyone else slept soundly. The children's trampoline was well appreciated by my son, despite this being a late find. Our host was very accommodating and went up and above to make our stay a good one. We wouldn't hesitate in going back!!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank wildt38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Manager at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and managed to spend time with new found family members. You comments are very positive and reflect what others are expressing. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for two nights, at the last minute after a quick and sad trip home to NZ to see our Nan for the last time. Owners were so helpful, welcoming and friendly. The room was cosy, warm and quiet - just the right place for us to retreat to after an emotionally draining few days. We can't wait to come back with our family and enjoy the comfort, convenience and friendliness of the Tourist Court Motel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harawira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Manager at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
What a wonderful review. It is great that we were able to provide a calm place for you to relax at such a stressful time. I hope your return visit will be under better circumstances and give you time to enjoy our fantastic region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Tourist Court Motel is on the main road into Whakatane and is a typical old fashioned 1960s Motel – but personally, I am not a great fan of nostalgia if it comes at a cost. The Motel has been well maintained, but the layout and standard of fixtures is showing it's age. The noise from the adjacent road all night, the kitchen facilities, with the buzzy old white florescent tube over head, the set-top box to access the Freeview channels, the old shower + shower curtain in the access way between the kitchen + the bathroom with the non water proof 230vAC light switch right next to the shower curtain. The outlook into the neighbours house next door obscured by the pull down blind. The host was a nice friendly chap. Would not recommend the Breakfast. Would expect to pay about the $80 per night for this site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevz110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
I am sorry that you feel you did not receive value for money. It is difficult to change the interior too much without considerable cost and thus the tariff would need to increase. I hope you enjoyed the facilities our region has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights, we were greeted by the lovely friendly hosts, who also suggested some local places for us to visit. The rooms were lovely and clean, with plenty of room ,the kitchen was well equipped with all you would need. The beds were very comfortable. It is close to the town for all your needs. Defiantly recommend this motel for your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always nice to have such positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your time in our wonderful region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We had a one night stay here as part of a motorcycle tour of the East Cape of the North Island. We received a very warm welcome from the owner and had a lovely chat with him about our tour. After a long day's riding the spa pool was a great way to relax and chat about the day's riding.
All the facilities were spotlessly clean and the rooms were comfortably furnished.
The only downside was the mattress which was way too soft. When I spoke to the owner about this he showed genuine concern so I believe he'll probably address this.
All in all we enjoyed our stay, and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaxxiBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thanks for your positive comments. It is great to have groups like yourselves stay with us. Yes we have looked into the soft bed and will be replacing it soon.
I hope your return trip to Auckland was safe and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Opotiki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Great friendly hosts thank you. The one room was very good, comfortable and had everything we needed for our family stay. I would definitely stay again and recommend to family and friends. Reasonably handy to town and shops.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gotokojo, Owner at Tourist Court Motel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Your comments are very pleasing for us. We do try and maintain a high standard and enjoy receiving positive reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.8 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Court Motel

Property: Tourist Court Motel
Address: 50 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tourist Court Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a motel with clean and spacious units which have recently been redecorated with lcd tvs with USB & HDMI ports, freshly painted and new carpet.We have studios, one-bedroom units and a two-bedroom unit which sleeps up to 7.We are 2kms from the CBD of Whakatane and the port which is the gateway to tours to White Island (a volcano)- which we can book for you plus fishing and diving tours.Lots of walks to keep you fit while on holiday.We are one hour from Rotorua or Tauranga and two and a half hours from Gisborne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Tourist Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing