We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Clean and Friendly Accomodation At Cortex Motor Inn”
Review of Cortez Motor Inn

Cortez Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortez Motor Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed a night at this motel run by Chris & Gerry, will be back to stay again. They are very friendly....also rooms so clean and value for money. Love the communal division between the motels where pool and seating are instead of vehicles.
Plenty of parking for vehicles at entrance.
We give them top marks
B & L

Room Tip: Clean & comfortable
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Cortez Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights after a long trip from the north. The rooms were perfect for the three of us. The spa / bath / shower was a bonus after a long day visiting various sites. The motel owners were very friendly and hospitable. The swimming pool was another bonus just outside our room. Keep up the good work in renovating the place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Really friendly motel run by Gerry. Even asked if we wanted anything from the local supermarket!

Instead of being able to park outside your room like most motels, this motel has used this space to provide a great communal area with a refreshing pool, BBQ and benches. Great for socialising with other guests but it all stops at 10pm so you get a good nights sleep in well equipped rooms.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stuart099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I work for an international company and spend a lot of nights away from home, for work reasons.

First things first.. On arrival, and during your stay,Chris and Gerry are pleasant, friendly, easy to deal with and extremely helpful with any reasonable requests.

The choice of rooms ranges from studio to family rooms with and without cooking facilities.
3 Studio rooms and 2 family rooms have had a spruce up with bathrooms renovated, painted and new carpets fitted, in early December 2013. The other rooms are also well maintained.


Points on the watch list and are found here are:

Good water pressure on the shower.
Clean units.
Swimming pool.
Barbecue free to use.
Comfortable beds.
WiFi.
Relaxing courtyard area.
Friendly and accommodating hosts. (Let them know immediately if there is an issue).

This is my home away from home in Whakatane.

Thank you Chris and Gerry!

Room Tip: Units 3-8 have very little to no road noise, and the road noise is very little in all the other unit...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Needed an affordable place for an overnight stay in Whakatane, and was very happy with what Cortez had to offer. The room was tidy, and pretty spacious for 'studio' accommodation. It had pretty much everything we needed. Swimming pool was a handy addition, and a free newspaper was a nice touch. Modern TV, with lots of channels. Made to feel very welcome by the hosts.

Only negative comments would be that I found the double bed a bit hard, and the room could've done with a clock/radio.

All in all I fould Cortez good value, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Had the experience of my vehicle breaking down recently in Whakatane on the weekend just gone. Had to wait until Monday for repairs to start. Was directed to the Cortez Motel and grateful for the local taxi company.
Chris and Gerry were simply fantastic in providing service I've never seen in many years and I have travelled extensively.
Having no vehicle obviously presented issues about getting food but the owners offered to transport us wherever we needed. They did transport me to a rental firm so that my son could journey back to Auckland.
I'm so grateful to Chris and Gerry for the service provided at a stressful time.
Rooms were great and clean and they provided tea milk etc whenever needed
At no stage was I asked to checkout at the usual time. Access to the room whilst waiting for my vehicle was open which allowed the family to rest
Chris and Gerry you are the bomb host. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cecil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Chris and Gerry are so friendly and made us feel welcomed as well as going out of there way to help us with transport and food needs. The rooms we had were very nice and well equipped for our big family and my kids really enjoyed the pool that is available for guests. And the access to free WiFi was very helpful as well & something we really needed! Whenever we need a place to stay in whakatane we will gladly stay in Chris and Gerry's beautiful motel again and we will definately recommend to all our friends and family!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Amber Court Motel
Amber Court Motel
#12 of 12 in Whakatane
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortez Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortez Motor Inn

Address: 55 Landing Road, Whakatane, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range: £49 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 ground floor units from studio to family units - 7 with full kitchen facilities and 4 with spa baths. Studio units all have jug, toaster, microwave and fridge. Sky TV and free WIFI. Swimming pool plus BBQ's in spacious courtyard. Guest laundry and ample free parking available. Enjoy your hosts' hospitality and friendly, relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cortez Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing