We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Livingston Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Livingston Motel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great Motel, loved the spa pool in the room and the welcome basket was a great touch. The room was nice and clean and the owners are always friendly and ready to help. Excellent breakfast as well, will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J0leen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the spa, and the complimentary snacks. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    41
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
43
59
7
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

What a treat...excellent motel.
The spa pool in the bathroom was a pleasure to use and the bathroom was really clean and spacious. Very nicely decorated rooms and clean.
The owners very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorelei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our motel - and for your kind comments. The spa pools are very popular, I'm glad you enjoyed yours. We'd love to welcome you back if you happened to be back in Whakatane again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Shore City, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Our visit to Whakatane had to be comfortable and relaxing and our stay at the Livingston Motel ticked all the boxes. Our guest from Australia, first time in NZ, was equally impressed with our three day stopover here. The whole experience was delightful, having stayed in a two bedroom unit. It was very spacious with all the amenities needed, plus more.
On a personal note, as a business traveler I have required accommodation in Whakatane on several occasions and stayed in other motels, but had I spread my wings further I would have booked Livingston Motel. There was no comparison. Suffice to say I will definitely book Livingston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our motel and for your kind comments. We're thrilled that your stay with us was comfortable and relaxing. We'd love to welcome you back when you're next in town; either on business, or travelling with family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have stayed here twice now and both times the accommodation has been excellent.
You are made to feel very welcome and nothing is a problem.
Highly recommend the breakfast both continental and cooked.
This has got to be the only choice in Whakatane.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lettsg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our motel, and your kind comments. Since you stayed we have completed replacing the beds - we've now replaced all the beds, so should make for an even better night's sleep!. We'd love to welcome you back when you're in town next.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was looking for a motel where I could spend a couple of days as a break from a heavy work schedule. I chose the Livingston motel and could not have chosen better. The welcome was warm and the accommodation was immaculately clean and well appointed. The good selection of complimentary snacks is a nice touch. The 50 channels of sky is great for evening entertainment.
Will stay there again next time I am in Whakatane.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigandAngela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our motel, and your lovely comments. We're thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us; we'd love all our guests to truly relax and unwind during their stay with us. We'd love to welcome you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014

On arriving I was given a warm welcome and the staff were really helpful with maps and information. The 50 TV channels were great--awesome to wake up and watch Errol Flynn. After long bush walks and visitng the volcano it was really nice to come back to a cleaned room and a spa bath. I was also in town for work and did not have time in the morning to clean the dishes etc and always came back to a super clean room.

Room Tip: Best gluten free chocolate brownie ever is to be had at Peejays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettydavies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing our motel, and we're thrilled that the staff were welcoming and helpful. We would like for everyone's stay with us to be very relaxing and stress-free. I noticed that you weren't as happy with your sleep quality during your stay so I'd like to let you know, that when our order arrives in 10 days all the remaining beds in the motel will be replaced so guests' sleep quality will definitely improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I regularly use tripadvisor to find accommodation that others recommend, and I was not let down! Spacious, clean, warm, and modern, with sky TV and yummy complimentary snacks. We made a last minute decision to stop for the night in Whakatane, and the Livingston was conveniently placed on our way into town, and the owners were happy to accommodate us without any notice. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberlina671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie B, Owner at Livingston Motel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind comments, and for sharing your thoughts by reviewing our property. We're thrilled we could help out with your last minute decision to stay in town, we'd love to be able to welcome you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
145 reviews
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 12 in Whakatane
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 12 in Whakatane
70 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livingston Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livingston Motel

Property: Livingston Motel
Address: 42 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Livingston Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have large spacious, stylish rooms - all ground floor with a variety of bedding configurations, some with cooking facilities; most with full-sized spa pools - individually filled and controlled. 2 easy-access units. Excellent showers. All rooms have LCD TVs and SKY Guest Select with movies and all sports channels; tea & coffee facilities, including plunger coffee, fridge & microwave. One bedroom units and genuine two bedroom unit all have 2 LCD TVs and spa pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Livingston Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing