We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thornton Beach Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
Livingston Motel(Whakatane)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alton Lodge(Whakatane)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Island Rendezvous(Whakatane)(Great Value!)
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tourist Court Motel(Whakatane)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cortez Motor Inn(Whakatane)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
54
19
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
54
19
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping pillowtourist flatssurf castinggreat fishingboat rampcamp groundgreat spotsurf beachawesome holidaycovered areapowered sitegreat for familiesnothing too much troublegenerous in sizeclean facilitiesshort drivequiet location
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Probably one of the coolest, modern Holiday parks ever! Thornton holiday park is surrounded by the beach a riverbed, perfect for swimming and fishing! The facilities are excellent and the place as a whole has a positive vibe :) you know the hosts take pride in the park because its so well kept. 12 of us camped as a group in 2 tents and a cammpervan and it was great cause all the facilities we so close by! 7min drive from the nearest town (Edgecumbe) pub, shops, petrol etc. Will definitely go back with my family - our new favourite camping place in NZ! :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JarneeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Thornton Beach is an absolutely beautiful beach so I was excited that the Holiday Park was just as lovely. I was there slightly off-peak (end of January during the week) and almost had the place to myself. The whole place is REALLY clean and tidy. They provide hand soap, dish soap and tea towels for you convenience. There is no random pots, pans and cooking gear lying round so be sure to bring your own. The showers are token operated only but I had hot water for the whole 6mins throughout the day when I showered.

The location is close enough to Whakatane without feeling like you are in the town but you can still pop over for a meal or whatever in 5mins. Only one hour outside of Rotorua and it's beach side which was a much nicer place to stay than in Rotorua. They are family friendly though I did hear a few kids complaining that they were bored. The only sort of entertainment is a jumping pillow which seemed to get old after a while. If they put in a swing set within the campground so parents can still keep an eye out that would keep families there longer I think and give parents a break from entertaining. I was traveling by myself this time (30yr old female) and felt very safe while staying there.

Would definitely stay there again to get away from Auckland!!

Room Tip: Could be a bit cramped on the campground part during peak season and would not have been as enjoyable, but that isn't any different than any other place in New Zealand really.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed in one of the Tourist Flats for two nights. The cabin (which was in an elevated position) overlooked the whole site facing towards the nearby ocean, although you cannot see the beach or ocean much as the view is obscured by private beach-front cabins but you can certainly hear it. The 2 bedroom cabin was very clean and adequately equipped for a comfortable stay. The cabin was warm and cosy with a nice outside deck area with table and chairs.No complimentary shampoo or shower gel etc was supplied so make sure you bring your own as well as your bed linen and towels. It does mention this on their website to be fair and we were asked if we needed linen when we arrived for our stay. Staff were helpful and very friendly. Beach is fantastic and goes on for miles as far as the eye can see. Also there is very good fishing to be had for snapper and kahawai off the beach here and also the nearby Thornton River mouth. No shops nearby so bring adequate supplies. Highly recommended and will definatly stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KomfortablyNumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed in a holiday flat just before Xmas, The flat was very comfortable and well equipped with a verandah overlooking the campsite. The site has direct access onto a wide sandy beach that goes as far as the eye can see in both directions. The beach is popular with local fisherman, but for the most part is wild and deserted. From the beach there are good views of Whale Island and volcanic White Island steaming ominously on the distant horizon. The site was very quiet during our stay, but obviously geared up for young families in high season. Although we were self-contained, we looked at the showers & kitchen - they were very clean and modern. There aren't any shops nearby, so a car is essential for supermarkets etc in Whakatane, a pleasant town about 15mins drive away. Overall this was a very restful and pleasant stay and the cabin represented very good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seaside-Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Thornton Beach holiday park is a great place to stay. It is right on the beach so you only have to walk a couple of minutes to see the ocean but the great thing is you can hear the ocean at night and first thing in the morning when you wake up. We stayed in a tent and they allowed us to have our dog (as it wasn't peak season, being just before Xmas). The amenities were great and always clean, family friendly also which we were thankful for as we took our one year old son. The showers are awesome too. The male owner was really friendly and easy to approach, however we found the female owner to be quite rude at times. That would be the only negative thing about the place. A friend of ours had come to visit us just for the day but by afternoon had had a few too many beers so was deciding whether to stay the night in our tent or try and get a lift home with a friend. While he was on the phone talking to his friend about it he was approached by the female owner who demanded once he'd gotten off the phone (she had been listening to his conversation!) that he go and see her in the office to pay to stay the night (he hadn't even made his mind up yet and hadn't discussed it with us as to whether or not we'd mind him staying - of course we didn't but he wanted to ask us first). There were a couple of other occasions where she was a little rude but other times she wasn't too bad so I don't know if it depends what mood she's in? Anyway that aside, the holiday park is a wonderful place to stay and I'd definitely recommend it to others, especially those who struggle to find places that allow dogs and also families who want family friendly amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becz-Awa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews