We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
37 The Landing Motel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Business trip one night. Came in rather late but no issue. Room was warm and cozy on a cold freezing night! Room is immaculate and spotless. Very quite and felt safe. Great value for brand new accommodation!

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gracie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

Now stayed here a few times when visiting town for work. This is really a modern motel that is much better than a lot of hotels I have stayed in here in NZ. Same as all the other reviews - there is no better place to stay when visiting Whakatane.
I used to stay at another motel in town when visiting but no
longer after discovering this place.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank W0rcesterWarri0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Matt met us on arrival and is a very personable host, nothing was too much trouble and we booked into 1 bdrm apartment. It was spacious very clean and everything worked. Would recommend this to everyone whilst in Whakatane this is surely the best.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Great service and very modern and large rooms - recommend this hotel to anyone. Service was exceptional nothing was a problem and good knowledge of the area as I had never been to Whakatane. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place delivers exactly what it claims it does - it's wonderfully new and modern, functional and surgically clean. Matt is as cheerful and welcoming a host as you could wish for and very helpful. The in-room motel guide to services and local attractions is bang up to date and still in perfect condition. Of critical importance, the beds are fantastic. Being slightly out of the CBD might be seen by some as a disadvantage but for the sake of a 5 minute drive at most it's not a point worth squabbling about, especially as meals can be ordered in if that's what you want. I would definitely come back here; the owners have down a great job.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaymondH646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Newer motel with a variety of room types we opted for a 1b/r apt after Matt let us have a look at the types offered.
Thanks Matt who is an excellent very welcoming host who from our 1st email contact to check out was very professional & ever so obliging.
I hope Jason reads these accolades about you & not only from us but other TAers.
Large 1/br apt with KS separate bedroom but also had a single bed in the lounge/dining which did not impede on any area as the lounge/dining is very big.
Full size fridge & very functional kitchen. Large flat screen TV with Sky & free WiFi another big plus
Spa bath & separate shower. Large drawers under vanity for storage for ones own toiletries & lovely fluffy towels.
And the biggest plus was having a BLANKET. Why are a lot of accommodation opting for the American way of bedding. IE: Sheet, then doona then a top covering. Doona's why oh why in a summer to mid temp climate. So it was great to have a blanket to replace the doona without having to ask for one & that is even if some accommodation even have blankets any more. So a BIG TICK to The Landing owners.
We also did not notice a lot of road noise & we were in one of the apts close to reception. Plus we had a window open for fresh air but being Easter Monday could have contributed to this although there appeared to be a lot of traffic around & we were away early on the 1st day of work so maybe this could change.
A little way out of the main restaurant area but a short drive & you are there. Also & what looks like fairly new shopping complex with a Farmers & KMart etc also a short drive away
Would highly recommend
.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggysue45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

Amazing service by Matt. He is the main reason I keep going back. Clean and modern rooms, always stay there when I travel to Whakatane . A must to visit and location nice and central. I stay in many hotels around NZ and service is key for repeat business.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.4 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 12 in Whakatane
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#3 of 12 in Whakatane
195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barringtons Motor Lodge
Barringtons Motor Lodge
#6 of 12 in Whakatane
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 37 The Landing Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 37 The Landing Motel

Address: 37 Landing Road, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Whakatane
Price Range: £76 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — 37 The Landing Motel 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your 37 The Landing Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing