We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay, staff, location, cleanliness, food, fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Island Rendezvous

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Island Rendezvous
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Whakatane
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, staff, location, cleanliness, food, fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Excellent friendly, helpful, staff on reception. Sunny room with pleasant outlook & scrupulously clean. On site cafe Peejays provides excellent food & coffee. Located overlooking the Wharf at Whakatane & a flat easy walk to town makes it ideally located to enjoy the many restaurants or the movies. Like previous reviewers we were booked for the White Island Tour which left just over the road. Would definitely stay again when we are hopefully back to do some fishing. Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Upstairs have better views. Lovely & warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    114
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
204
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Booked via lastminute.com and got a package of 2 nights and a trip to White Island, plus breakfast in the cafe. Spacious rooms, great breakfast, free wifi, enough to watch an AFL match. Across the road from the White Island boat tour. Could not ask for more.

Room Tip: I think they'd all be good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just home from 2 nights here. Wonderful accomodation, very spacious and clean. Light and bright and warm. Had everything we needed and the spa bath was a lovely way to relax after our trip to White Island.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were delicious. Will be back

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EAS509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My trip down memory lane continued to my hometown of Whakatane. . Great place to stay and a bonus was White Island Tours. PEEJAYS. We stay budget studio. AUD $140.00 Great choice on the second floor. Room 6... . Good size room . worth the stay. Fantastic coffee and omelets. White Island Tour was breathtaking and a huge tick of our Bucket List. Enjoy

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TRACY R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed here three times on business so far, and each stay has been great. The location is excellent and there is plenty of car parking. Rooms are spacious, comfortable and very attractively decorated.
There is a wonderful cafe at the motel which has a delicious range of breakfast options, including a range of cooked breakfasts (mushroom dishes, etc), which aren't meat-based. Staff are friendly and helpful.
I'd go so far as to say that this is my all-time favourite motel - and I do a lot of travelling!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights as we visited to do the White Island Tour. We were surprised by the size of the spacious room we had on the second floor. Not too much of a problem getting the bags up there either.

Great little on site cafe provides breakfasts and lunches. They make great coffee too.

The staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful, making the stay more pleasant. A short walk to the wharf for the tour and a short walk to town also, so very handy to shops, restaurants etc.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiWanderers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in the adjacent white front villa for our trip to White Island. As the tour was cancelled for the first two days of our stay, we extended another night, and ended up with a lovely four nights. The fully serviced accommodation is very spacious with a sunny verandah and front garden, a huge reception hall with french doors and authentic decorative log burner fire, a generous sized lounge with leather 3 piece suite and telly, kauri kitchen/diner and very nice bedroom/en-suite. Fabulous! The icing on the cake was to have a huge cooked breakfast and drink of your choice delivered to the villa each morning at a time to suit. The villa has its own parking space, and is in a convenient location to walk to town and right opposite the boarding point for the tour. Was very pleasant to sit on the verandah in the late afternoon to watch the setting sun across the river. And of course the highlight of our stay was the tour to White Island in beautiful weather, such an unusual experience to see and climb among the geothermal activity, saw dolphins en-route, enjoy the company of the friendly guides, and eat a nice packed lunch on the way back.

Room Tip: Stay in the villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whakatane hotels
1.5 mi away
Tourist Court Motel
Tourist Court Motel
#7 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
Tuscany Villas Whakatane
#5 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Livingston Motel
Livingston Motel
#2 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.4 mi away
37 The Landing Motel
37 The Landing Motel
#4 of 13 in Whakatane
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cortez Motor Inn
Cortez Motor Inn
#8 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Island Rendezvous? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Island Rendezvous

Property: White Island Rendezvous
Address: 15 The Strand, Whakatane 3120, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Whakatane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Whakatane
#3 Romantic Hotel in Whakatane
#4 Business Hotel in Whakatane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — White Island Rendezvous 4.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At White Island Rendezvous we offer a range of quality accommodation choices to suit every traveller. Located opposite the picturesque Whakatane wharf, we are just a short walk from the town centre and many great restaurants. Join a tour to visit the active volcano, White Island, take a stroll along the river or enjoy one of the local bushwalks to view the spectacular scenery across the bay. Our quiet location means not only a great night's sleep but you may even be lucky enough to hear the distinctive call of the kiwi which live in the nearby bush. We are the only accommodation provider in Whakatane to offer an onsite cafe (famous amongst locals for fantastic breakfasts and delicious espresso!) All units have free wireless broadband access and Sky TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your White Island Rendezvous reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Island Rendezvous Whakatane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing