We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Walk”

Hooker Valley Track
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Always check the website for changes that might affect your trip.
Waimate, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Walk”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This track is currently being upgraded and while most of it is done there are some small sections that are quite muddy. We left the car park at 10am and -2 degrees so it was cold walking until we got into the sun about 45 minutes later. The good thing about starting in these conditions was the track was frozen and very quiet. We reached the end of the track about mid day, it was stunning and we had it all to ourselves. On the way back the track had thawed and was a bit muddy in places and very busy. Pleased we started early. Fantastic scenery.

Helpful?
Thank Buelland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    478
    81
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must must do in Aoraki!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Luckily we decided to take a trek and got information about Hooker valley track since it is the most famous one. It is around 10KM round-trip and takes a god 4-5 hours to complete but every minute spent is worth it. The views are just great and the hooker lake will make you speechless. Do remember to wear good trekking shoes and take a windcheater with you. Even though the track is not sloppy, avoid carrying a lot of stuff as it will slow you down. But yes, do carry some water unless you are comfortable drinking water from a small stream that comes on the way. Also, make sure you sue restrooms located at the starting point because there is nothing once you start the trek. Absolutely in middle of nature.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ankitarora200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Sunset is the time to be there”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Hooker track is a lovely walk either starting from your hotel at Mt Cook village or shortening a little by starting at the public car and caravan park. Your walk passes the rock next to which the famous NZ female mountaineer posed after conquering Mt Cook and a memorial to mountaineers who haven't returned . Several swing bridges over raging rivers and the constant rumbling of avalanches on Mt Wakefield add to the atmosphere .
When you arrive at the end a glacial lake full of icebergs awaits.
Tip. Plan to arrive near sunset as the view of Mt Cook Aoraki is breathtaking .
The walk takes about 3 hours return and is easily done in the twilight
Remember to wear sturdy shoes as the weather is changeable.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank deesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun but wear good shoes”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We took about 4 hours to walk this three hour hike. We talked with many people on the track which added to the fun. It ends at a glacier and the views are wonderful. Some of the track has larger rocks to traverse. Introspect we would have worn hiking boots but we did well in our tennis shoes. The path crosses over a river several times and there are three beautiful swinging bridges to cross. We thoroughly enjoyed this tramp.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“You can't say you've been to Mt Cook if you miss this track ;-)”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Beautiful track beautiful scenery and the end result was so worth it!!!!

The trek is very popular so even if you're doing it alone, you will meet lots of ppl. Proper hiking shoes is a must as the tracks are all on uneven surfaces and lots of lots of rocks sections. You will need to climb, hop, and descend hence proper shoes will be required to avoid injury.

It's not overly challenging, but those who haven't tracked before or rarely exercise will find it difficult. The track can be completed in 3 hrs. I finished the whole track in exactly that time - 2 hours to go up and 1 hr to go down. A good chance to break in my new hiking shoes. It may take longer if you stop for taking pictures etc

The whole experience was amazing!!!!You could see the mountains so close as if you could just reach out to touch it. I was in awe when I saw the mountain. And as you climbed up and up, the mountains grew closer and closer. Breathtaking! Of course what made it all worth the struggle was the end result....the ice lake!!!! Full of ice melting and breaking apart with the mountain view on the backdrop. Make sure you spend enough time to rest and enjoy the view before heading back.

You can't say you have been to Mt Cook if you miss this track ;-)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Poikime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hooker Valley Track also viewed

Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), Mackenzie District
 
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Mt. Cook Village, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
 

Been to Hooker Valley Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing