We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, spectacular”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DOC White Horse Hill campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were advised to look at Lake Tekapo on the way to Mount Cook, great, but the best lake was the one we drove round to get here, Lake Pukaki, fantastic start to a great campsite. A long road to get to the foot of the mountains but well worth it. The campsite is, as most DOC sites are, quite basic, water not to be drunk etc and toilets, well, whatever. If you are self contained these sites are the best to stay on. We actually witnessed an avalanche in the evening which was amazing.
Having done a huge walk to the foot of Mount Cook over swing bridges, rocks, climbing, paddling etc (supposedly one of their easy walks!!!) to see Icebergs etc, it was just great sitting by the mountains with a beer taking in the magnificent scenery. Would really recommend this site to any fellow camper.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for DOC White Horse Hill campsite
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

If u are on campervan or camping, this is the best place to start out your explorations. The campsite is located right on the walks and you have wondrous views first thing in the morning. While it may be cold at the foot of the mountain, nothing beats the convenience of a leisurely walk at your own pace and returning to your site as late as u possibly can. The water is ultra clean as told by a DOC staff I met there. Cost me $10. Dear for a DOC site but the amenities were in excellent condition. Go for the kea point track if u want an easy walk with great views. A thigh torturing walk on sealy tarns track is the quickest way to get up high for awesome views. And the hooker valley track was also quite tiring and wet but rewards with close up glacier views. All these are atvthe doorstep of this campsite.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This camp site is in a scenic location at Mt Cook and only a few minutes drive from Mt Cook Village. The fee for 2 adults and one child was $25 per night. There are very basic facilities here which is no problem if you have a self contained motor home. Just pay the fee and choose a spot. There are toilets, no showers, water and a large picnic shelter. This room has sinks, tables but no cooking facilities. There are plenty of walks in the area and the scenery is stunning.

Room Tip: arrive in daylight to choose a site to park your motorhome.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank しろくま君
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuryshchelkov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oksanalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vvivan89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
0.0 mi away
Hermitage Hotel
Hermitage Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mt. Cook Village
1,975 reviews
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
264 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Tekapo Motels & Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Aoraki Court Aoraki/Mt Cook Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DOC White Horse Hill campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOC White Horse Hill campsite

Address: 2.5 km from Mt Cook village at the end of Hooker Valley Rd off SH 80, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing