We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Alpine splendour” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DOC White Horse Hill campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
DOC White Horse Hill campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Alpine splendour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Drive as far as you can go up the Hooker Valley and you're there - this large DOC site is in a stunning setting, and mid Winter we were the only overnighters - splendid isolation! There are a couple of interesting shorter walks in the general area if you need to stretch the legs, and a very impressive DOC centre just up the road in Mount Cook village.
The cooking / dining building is very large, but one thing I did find unusual was the locked toilets (closed for Winter) - didn't encounter this anywhere else, and made the $10 per person fee a little steep. You'll probably need chains in Winter too (see pic) as it gets pretty icy!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KentandMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    20
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

The sourrounding is breathtaking. In the night you can hear the noise of the glacier. From the campside you will find three different footpaths. One is very steep and will bring you to the Mueller Hut. The price per person is 10 NZD, but you will find a lot of space in the shelter, where you can cook, also a lot of toilets. Warning - next morning they will check, whether you have paid. In the small town you will find public showers, just ask at the info. The road to the campside is also scenic! I think you don't need a reservation, there is a lot of space. If you are not sure, you can call them.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Math_83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were advised to look at Lake Tekapo on the way to Mount Cook, great, but the best lake was the one we drove round to get here, Lake Pukaki, fantastic start to a great campsite. A long road to get to the foot of the mountains but well worth it. The campsite is, as most DOC sites are, quite basic, water not to be drunk etc and toilets, well, whatever. If you are self contained these sites are the best to stay on. We actually witnessed an avalanche in the evening which was amazing.
Having done a huge walk to the foot of Mount Cook over swing bridges, rocks, climbing, paddling etc (supposedly one of their easy walks!!!) to see Icebergs etc, it was just great sitting by the mountains with a beer taking in the magnificent scenery. Would really recommend this site to any fellow camper.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

If u are on campervan or camping, this is the best place to start out your explorations. The campsite is located right on the walks and you have wondrous views first thing in the morning. While it may be cold at the foot of the mountain, nothing beats the convenience of a leisurely walk at your own pace and returning to your site as late as u possibly can. The water is ultra clean as told by a DOC staff I met there. Cost me $10. Dear for a DOC site but the amenities were in excellent condition. Go for the kea point track if u want an easy walk with great views. A thigh torturing walk on sealy tarns track is the quickest way to get up high for awesome views. And the hooker valley track was also quite tiring and wet but rewards with close up glacier views. All these are atvthe doorstep of this campsite.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Docjoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
313 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

This camp site is in a scenic location at Mt Cook and only a few minutes drive from Mt Cook Village. The fee for 2 adults and one child was $25 per night. There are very basic facilities here which is no problem if you have a self contained motor home. Just pay the fee and choose a spot. There are toilets, no showers, water and a large picnic shelter. This room has sinks, tables but no cooking facilities. There are plenty of walks in the area and the scenery is stunning.

Room Tip: arrive in daylight to choose a site to park your motorhome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Snookystraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
0.0 mi away
Rainforest Retreat
Rainforest Retreat
#8 of 14 in Franz Josef
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel St Moritz Queenstown - MGallery Collection
0.0 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centre
Mount Cook Glentanner Park Centr...
#2 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
YHA Aoraki Mt Cook
#1 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
Mt Cook Lodge and Motels
#4 of 4 in Mt. Cook Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DOC White Horse Hill campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DOC White Horse Hill campsite

Property: DOC White Horse Hill campsite
Address: 2.5 km from Mt Cook village at the end of Hooker Valley Rd off SH 80, Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing