We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst service ever experienced!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chevalier Bay Restaurant

Le Chevalier Bay Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Anse Lazio
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Le Chevalier Bay Restaurant at the best beach on Praslin Anse Lazio. With each meal ordered, gets 1 Free Fresh fruit juice. Open 7 Days a week. Breakfast 8am to 10:30am. lunch 11am to 3:30p.m Dinner reservation needed Takeaway is also available. The restaurant offer a large range of dishes from Sandwiches, burgers and salads to Grilled fish, fish curry, Chicken curry, seafood platers, garlic prawns and a lot more.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worst service ever experienced!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We ate here in June 2014, with it being the only place on Anse Lazio open for lunch (there are 2 restaurants but one was closed for renovation). We were approached on the beach by a lady who gave us a voucher so we thought we'd give it a go. When we approached the restaurant we were literally glared at by the waitress who begrudgingly took us to a table and threw a menu down on it. She was just about the rudest waitress I have ever experienced in my life. I made a point of being especially polite to see if I could elicit any pleasantries from her - not a chance! And to top it all off, when paying for a very expensive baguette and drink (around £15) she didn't even say thank you for the payment and there was a 5% service charge added!!!!!!!!! A shame because the restaurant is in a lovely setting and the food is okay (albeit it overpriced, like everywhere on Praslin) but I would rather eat the sand on the beach than eat here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemaki1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    61
    60
    35
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paks, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The shame of Praslin”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Never ever come here to eat! Lobster for 80 euros. Taste is average. Hamburger: 25 euros. Less than average taste. One portion of French fries, 200 rupees, that is roughly 14 euros. The lawest quality deep frozen French fries for - I repeat - FOURTEEN euros. The owner, who replies to you in French when you talk to her in English, is only interested in money. I am really stupid not to have read the reviews before. I could have saved this horrible experience. I am also an idiot to have actually paid the 14 euros. If you like mediocre school canteen food at the price of a 3 Michelin star restaurant, then this is the place for you. The owner is not even Seychellois, some immigrant, who is judt ripping off tourists who are stupid like me. She brings shame to this country. It should be immediately closed. You know how they transport sll the frozen food? On the open backside of a small truck, under the scorching tropical sun. Some hygiene issues as well...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Kotasz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Best seafood and huge portions!!! If you love homelike cousine enjoy it at Le Chevalier Bay Guesthouse!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Yappinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Stick to the fish burger”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Next to the beach, we came here as we got a voucher for a free drink. Prices were higher than expected and service was quite slow, they seemed overwhelmed by the number of people to be honest. The fish burger was great tasting tho, still expensive for what it was but that's praslin.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sheldita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meat patty puzzle does not match up”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

We went to Le Chevalier on Anse Lazio beach on March 31st to have lunch. The restaurant was quite nice and located close to the beach. Prices were definately in the high end (250 scz for a burger with fries, 400 scz for a main with fish). But the location close to the beach might justify the price.
However, when the burger came, I opened it to add some lettuce and tomatoes for my daughter and found that the patty was in 10-15 pieces and quite hard fried. I got a bad suspicion that the meat had been "recycled" and called the waiter. She had a look, rushed to the kitchen and came back to explain that the patty had broken during frying but they were making a new one.

I don't see the pieces matching up and therefore cannot recommend this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank NielsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chevalier Bay Restaurant also viewed

Anse Boudin, Praslin Island
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
 
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
 
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
Anse Volbert, Praslin Island
 

Been to Le Chevalier Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing