We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT Honeymoon in Paradise!”
Review of Constance Halaveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Constance Halaveli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2012

First of all…WOW! We could not have picked a more wonderful place to conclude our honeymoon! My husband and I visited during the end of July 2012 and stayed for 7 nights following on from a busy and hectic week in Thailand. We wanted somewhere we could totally relax, enjoy beautiful and luxurious surroundings and have first class service. We got all of these things and more until the moment we left.

We arrived by seaplane onto a jetty in the sea before transferring to speedboat to the island. Several members of staff greeted us, who took us to reception where we were given a gorgeous drink & cool towel to freshen up. Before arriving in the Maldives, we had requested water villa 90 that was at the very end of the jetty (sunset side), which was kindly honoured. We were taken initially in a golf cart following a tour of the island (which you could request to pick up & drop off every day) but we enjoyed the 15 min walk.

The villa was absolutely stunning; there was nothing at all we could fault (and we tried very hard to! Everything we could possibly need for an amazing stay in the Maldives. A complimentary bottle of sparkling wine awaited us, which was a nice touch and after drinking this we went straight out onto our private deck with plunge pool! We had superb privacy being the very last villa and it wasn’t very often that any snorkelers swam past our way at all. Our villa was replenished twice daily by a lovely man (wish I could remember his name) who always went out of his way to make everything as perfect as possible. This included a turn down service of an evening and the best bit were the various sweet treats that awaited us on our bedside each night! The entertainment facilities were brilliant, with the wifi, amazing long list of films & TV it meant we could keep in touch with everybody back home (showing off our amazing villa) and also chill and watch a film (on the one bad afternoon of weather we had or of an evening once we had got back to the villa). The mini bar was also great (expensive as expected) but this didn’t stop us from our daily treat of the beers & chocolate! We got different fruit each day too along with fresh water, and the ice bucket was topped up twice a day, which was essential! The sleep/awake eye sign was also lovely by the front door rather than the classic ‘do not disturb! Just remember to turn it to ‘awake’ when you go for breakfast of a morning if you want your room replenished, as no one will disturb you all day haha!

The service we received from all staff was fabulous around the resort. After 2 days of ordering room service for lunch, guest services knew exactly what we both liked including the bits I didn’t want (I can be silly fussy). In the buffet restaurant, staff also remembered where we liked to sit (not always the same staff either) and what we liked to drink. You never actually had to refill your glass once…the staff were topping up anything you had before you even had chance to notice. It was all these little touches that really made a difference. We never walked past a member of staff without receiving a smile and ‘hello’ and nothing was too much trouble. We definitely felt we left more as friends than guests. We particularly would like to thank the general manager Renato W. Chizzola who first introduced himself when we arrived in reception. He bumped into us several times during our stay enquiring if everything was okay and actually remembered us as people rather than just guests. It was lovely to see a manager actually taking so much time within a resort, constantly mingling with guests and other staff members that I am sure he didn’t have to do. When we left all the staff blew us away, including Renato who waved us off as we flew away in our seaplane. It was a lovely ending to our honeymoon.

We opted for half board for our stay so enjoyed the buffet most evenings, which had a different theme every night. It was far better than any ‘buffet’ meal I have ever had, and other than getting up and helping yourself we wouldn’t have ever known it was a buffet. The standard of food was beautiful and you could see the passion clearly from the chefs who were serving it. I particularly loved the wide range of gorgeous desserts they always had on offer! We dined at Meeru twice during our stay (once inside on one side of the buffet restaurant due to threatening rain) and we much preffered this! The night we sat out on the beach under the stars was breath taking and the food was out of this world (there was a $55 discount pp as we stayed half board). I wish I could learn to make the chocolate dessert we had here…oh my goodness! We didn’t dine at Jing unfortunately although we did enjoy a few cocktails on the deck one evening that was amazing! Our only tiny tiny disappointment (which we could clearly see was uncontrollable) was the absence of Prosecco during our stay, which we would of loved with our meal each evening. We have recently become very fond of it, so it was a shame. We did switch it for another bottle of sparkling and although gorgeous it was a lot more expensive haha! Very nice though!

We received complimentary snorkeling equipment for the duration of our stay, which had to be returned the day before departure. We used it whilst in the villa as we didn’t venture out much but there were a great variety of water sports, diving etc to do! We did spend one afternoon in the spa and had a ‘skin to within’ experience that was amazing…very relaxing!

We were staying on a half board basis, and included were breakfast (with drinks) and dinner (without drinks). We didn’t do any excursions or buy any souvenirs and we spent about $1100, which covered our lunches, snacks from the minibar and drinks. I think on 1 day we didn’t have a ‘proper’ lunch instead snacking on fruit we had brought from breakfast and snacks we had within the room. We had done our research so knew we would be spending about this much so weren’t shocked or surpised. What we did realise was how difficult it must actually be to import all of the food/drink first to the main island and then get it to all the resorts hence the price. They also have daily ‘fogging’ of the island during early evening and I didn’t get bitten once!

On our departure day, our flight back to Manchester was an evening one. We had our villa all day up until 3pm at which point we were picked up by golf cart who took our luggage and us to reception. We received another refreshing drink & cool towel and were shown to a fabulous air-conditioned lounge with complimentary drinks & snacks whilst we awaited our departure back to Male by seaplane. As mentioned earlier in the review, when leaving the island we were waved off by several members of staff, including the general manager which was a lovely touch to end our stay.

Overall everything about Halaveli was perfect and we couldn’t have topped it with anywhere else. It was a perfect honeymoon location and we loved it. We could not recommend it highly enough to anyone thinking of coming here and have raved about it continuously to all of our friends and family! If you are looking to come to an amazing place, full of wonderful friendly staff who are looking to make your experience totally unforgettable then come to Halaveli! I have my fingers crossed that one day we will be able to return!

Room Tip: We stayed in July in Water Villa 90 which was right at the end of the jetty, sunset side. The even n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, General Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

On behalf of all the team, I would like to thank you for your comments based on your experience and for choosing to spend your honeymoon at Constance Halaveli.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed the variety in meal options and the facilities on the island. I am glad that you were busy on trying them all…!!!

I would also like to thank you for sharing the kindness of our team and its friendliness. We constantly train and strive to achieve total guest’s satisfaction by creating memorable experience and I am glad to know that we met your expectation.

We are happy to welcoming you back at Halaveli, hopefully very soon for your first anniversary. The Prosecco is already on ice….!!!

Thank you and best regards.

Bertrand Blanchet
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,463)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,463 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Cliché indeed, but we went here on our honeymoon and stayed in an ocean villa, from the very first moment walking along the deck out to our villa we were greated by baby sharks swimming leisurely on the reef.

Everything of this resort radiates luxury and comfort. And it truly is hard to make this review not sound like propaganda for the hotel. Everything from the greeting, introduction, food, personnel, activities, diving (you have to dive here) accomodation. Everything was perfect.

I remember one day after breakfast we were walking around the island, trying to grasp the fact we were in paradise, when we were stricken by the thought that it seemed that no one else was here. We asked reception if it was low season and this is their reply which really says it all:

"We are 95% fully booked, but if you feel alone then it means we are doing a great job"

This was our first visit to Maldives but oh boy did Constance set the bar high, when we return I feel it will be to this place again, since it cannot get any better in any regard.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tommy742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, General Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you very much for sharing your comments.

Constance Halaveli aims at providing the very best for our guests and I am glad to see that your stay here exceeded your expectations.

Our team is definitely focused on ensuring our guests’ comfort and it is good to see that you felt alone as it is our duty to make dream become reality……

I would like to thank you for helping us keep our team motivated with your kind comments, which I have shared with all of them

We will all be very happy to welcome you back at Constance Halaveli anytime.

Best regards

Bertrand Blanchet
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Maldives and the best so far by far. It's also the first 5* rating we've given on tripadvisor so we're pretty picky..

We travelled with our 3 young kids (4-6) and stayed in a family (2 story) beach Villa. The whole family loved the island and the kids had a great time. The villa has a great pool just in front that the kids loved to play in which opened onto a gorgeous beach. For kids this was perfect and the sea is very calm and shallow on this side of the island (but deep enough to swim in). As has been mentioned the snorkelling isn't the best in the Maldives but this also means that there is less dead coral etc on the beach which makes it perfect for kids...(we stayed at Lily beach before which has an amazing reef but the kids didn't really go in the sea much as they kept hurting their feet so it depends what works best for you). We both dive so we don't tend to snorkel much anyway but there is a few small areas just off the beach to take the kids out to.

The children loved the kids club and Katie was brilliant (although she's leaving the island soon) - the other girls seemed very good too though. Kids club about 2 minutes walk for the kids from the villa so they nipped in and out as they pleased (unless we were diving). They also got a few gifts here and there on treasure hunts etc which made them want to go back more... perfect for parents to grab an hour or too of relaxation time...

Service and restaurants were all very good and staff were all excellent, very friendly and knew all the kids names and made them feel very welcome everywhere they went.

Wait for the sea plane was too long though (2 hours - after the 11 hour flight) but there was apparently some delays due to a storm earlier that morning.

Dive center was good although the price to go to some dive sites a bit further away was prohibitive with very high charges for the boat in addition to a the dive... over $1200 for two people to go on one dive about 30-40 minutes away by speed boat! This is the only issue that would make us split our stay next time to be closer to other dive sites as it would be way too costly to visit them from here..

Fantastic place though with the double story family villas with own pool being the best accommodation for our family we've found... kids love pool, wife loves beach.. 3 meters away from each other. We've never returned to the same place anywhere before but I will definitely be under lots of pressure from wife and kids to return when we book for next Easter...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank diversandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on your dream family vacation at Halaveli. It is such a delight to read that your entire family enjoyed your time with us and you have obtained many precious memories to take home.

The Halaveli lagoon gives the best of both worlds with a house reef located not too far from the shore and safe place to swim in the stunning Indian Ocean. It is here where our guests can enjoy the comfort of swimming in the open ocean without any trepidation of injuries from broken coral, which is one of the many highlights of visiting the Maldives. However, we are currently cultivating a coral farm to repair some of the damage done by the tsunami in 2004, as part of our ongoing environmental project. Although in its early days we are starting see some very good results, which is very exciting for us.

At Halaveli, we take great pride in the care of our younger travelers and it is a pleasure to read that your children felt very much at home with our Halaveli team. I will ensure that they will all receive your kind words of appreciation, which they all will be most grateful for.

In addition, our Kuda Club team fully recognizes and understands that this is also a holiday for the children and there is plenty of exciting activities that are scheduled everyday to keep them happy and entertained. Additionally, the Kuda Club team feels that each child holds a special place in their heart and by offering the little tokens of mementos that they will in turn hold a special place in the children’s heart of not only them but also Halaveli.

With regards to the Dive Center prices, Halaveli is in close proximity to several world ranking dive sites which does not require a speedboat to reach. However, we have taken note of your feedback and have since brought these comments to the attention of our Dive Center team. We thank you for highlighting your concerns to us.

On behalf of the entire Halaveil team and I, look forward to hopefully to having the pleasure to welcome you and your family back to our piece of paradise in Easter 2013.

With warmest regards,

Bertrand Blanchet
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were back from Halaveli one week ago so we took our time to think through the review. As usual we will go for the good and the opportunities. We are French but living in Asia for now more than 6 years, so we are to compare the quality to both other Maldives hotels and other resorts in Asia.

Let's start with the good:
- The sommelier team and the wine list are excellent. If this is an important part of your vacation, do consider it. Price are on the high side but this is always the case in Maldives.
- The rooms (water villa) are fine for 5 star. Not specifically original but with a good entertainment system allowing to get films, internet, games, wifi in room on a big screen. Also good free coffee (nescafe machine!) and tea. Bathroom with bath tube looking at the sea could be ok if you are not shy and not afraid of being seen naked by the swimmers in front of the villa. Then the outside pool is nice (but useless as you have the sea in front of course but it is always nice to get a drink in an infinity pool. Also is that there is a shower outside to rinse your swimming and snorkeling gears...
- There are good variety of water sports but for non motorized (cat, pedalo and kayak are free) you cannot go outside a very limited area with nothing to see.

Now for less good:
- Service in Maldives is supposed to be one of the best in the world for a simple reason: maldivians are very kind and smily people. Not at Halaveli... why?
- Non Maldivian staff are trying to be nice but you feel too much of the fake. The impersonal questions asked to all guests: 'how was the flight not too long?' the staff should just look at our file first, we are French but are coming from 4 hours flight only. But a few are nice and interesting.
- But overall the service is not good: when you have to ask 4 times for the fruit basket that was supposed to wait for you at arrival as part of the wedding anniversary package; and even after 4 times they ask you for the proof it is part of the package and they go back and see the hotel voucher to finally admit it is. It took a total of one and a half day to get it... a fruit basket that ALL hotels in Asia will replenish for free every day.
- And there should be something with the fruits because when you order the continental breakfast in the room, it does not come again with fruits, why? After 2 mornings we asked for it and it should have been there from day 1, they just do not bring it before (??)
- Whatever you ask, you will have to ask again a second time or more before you get it. And if you ask to the wrong person, they forget you. One example, we asked if one salad could be made vegetarian. We asked to the first waiter before getting to the table, he never came back to us. We then asked to the one who gave us the menu, same thing. It took us the third one who came for the order to go and ask to the chef and confirm.
- No snorkeling around the villa as there is nothing to see. And to go to the reef it is very far from shore and you have to cross their ugly rock barrier which is all around the island. Only snorkeling by boat is good but you have to pay!
- Prices: while you expect hotels in Maldives to exaggerate on prices, it is here more than that for the water excursions. Whale or dolphin watching are double the price it should be and they guaranty you 50% success, without reimbursement if fails of course. Food is on the high side (30$ for sandwich at lunch), 6$ for a 25cl coke in the room. Special diner like on isolated sandbank is up to 1000$/person. We did that at Banyan Tree Maldives Resort for 1 fourth of the price with private buttler and amazing food.
- The departure: For a flight at 4pm in Male, they asked us to leave the room at 10:30 with the luggages, get to the departure area for check out, the flight to Male being 'around' 11:30... check out needing 1 hour (!!??!). So if you make the math, they asked us to leave the room 5:30 before our flight in Male, when the flight to Male is only 20 minutes. When we challenge them, they accept that we could be waiting in the room until when the flight time was confirmed but they needed the luggages at 10:30 (for what??). So we put the luggages outside the vila at 10:30 and waited for the call. At 11:00, without any news as usual, we called the reception and being told that the plane was confirmed and should be here at around 11:40 so they will send a buggy. 2 minutes after the housekeeping called us to know if we are leaving as they need to clean the room (they were actually waiting outside the room!). But the luggages were still in front of villa by the way! So we went to reception around 11:10. We were the only to leave with that plane (joke!) and it finally arrived at 12:10... what a mess and so much time lost.

But all the time even when insisting and asking several times, we decided to stay calm and give them a chance. It was a mistake as it never came. So piece of advise, as soon as you see issues, report it to the hotel director so that perhaps the rest of the stay will be handled in a better way( if they can).

Only at the end for payment, when they asked how was the week, we told then 'average'. We asked for a feedback form but there is none. We have been told it will be sent to us by email. But after 1 week, it is still not received. This is more or less the last time we have seen a manager. After that we departure was done with total ignorance, nobody approaching us and one staff we have never seen, saying goodbye at the plane.

Just to note that the plane back to Male did stop at W hotel to pick their guests back to Male. The goodbye there was done by 10 staff waving goodbye even after the plane took off... what a difference! All other resorts in Asia have at least 2 to 3 staffs you met during your stay who are at the quay to say goodbye.

We will not recommend that resort. So many in Maldives with better value for the same price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Smartalize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay at Halaveli Resort. It gives me pleasure to read that you were happy about the design of our Water Villas and were able to enjoy the complimentary state-of-the art facilities provided.

One of the highlights of the water villas is the sense of being cast away on your own tropical hideaway, as everything that you require is available at a touch of a button. The added feature of the plunge pools allows guests who do not feel comfortable swimming in the open ocean and surprisingly quite a few of our guests feel this way. Additionally, many of our guests value this feature and use the facility to indulge in sundown cocktail in the privacy of the villa. However, I see from your review that you did not fully enjoy the benefits of this.

Further to your comments, please rest assured that I have now conducted an investigation into all the areas highlighted and are happy to share with you my findings.

For the in- villa breakfast, we are happy to inform you that we are the only 5 stars hotel in the Maldives that offers this service complimentary. We will now consider adding a seasonal fruit platter in addition to our bakery basket along with a selection of fresh juice and warm beverages to further enhance the selection.

With regards to the service, please allow me to assure you that this is not typical of the service standards at Halaveli. All of our team members are dedicated and passionate professionals who continuously strive to exceed all of our guest’s expectations. I am disappointed to read that you did not experience the personalized and friendly service which Halaveli is renowned for. I have since raised your comments with the relevant department head to prevent this from re-occurring again in the future. I thank you for bringing this our attention as your valued feedback assists us to continuously improve all facets of our resort.

Concerning our “ugly rock barrier” otherwise known as wave breakers, are a vital to preserve our lagoon and beautiful island from erosion. Additionally, Constance Halaveli takes pride in preserving and developing the natural environment and these barriers assist us in providing protection to not only the island but also our fragile coral farm, which we are cultivating to rebuild the house reef in the lagoon. This is also our duty in conjunction with the Ministry of Environment of the Maldives, to preserve the Maldivian echo system for future generations, which is an honour to be a part of.

With regards to the procedure for check out, we request all of our guests to settle the bill 1 day before their departure. If not, then we ask the guests to come to reception 1 hour before in order to provide enough time to settle the payment and extras. Furthermore as per the rules and regulations of the seaplane company, all passengers have to be present at the departure jetty 5 - 10 minutes before the scheduled time to allow for a smooth transfer for the seaplane. In addition, luggage must also be checked in and weighted 45 minutes before departure, which is an international safety procedure for all seaplane flights.

Please also kindly note that as per our record; your international flight was scheduled at 2.50pm and not 5.30pm, and the seaplane transfer time was scheduled for 11:07. This timing allowed for plenty of time to check-in for your international flight. Furthermore, the seaplane schedule is dependent on weather conditions and transfers from other resorts, which can result in a few delays which unfortunately occurred on your day of departure. As the seaplane operator is a partner to our resort, we cannot take responsibility for the delays in the transfers. However, as we are driven to provide the high service standards, we have raised your concerns to the seaplane operator in order to minimize any in convenience to our guests.


We thank you once again for sharing your feedback with us, and we would be honoured to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our piece of paradise on your next visit to the Maldives.

Yours sincerely,

Bertrand Blanchet
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Firstly we have been taking our holidays in the Maldives for the last eight years and this was our third consecutive visit to Constance Halaveli. So clearly we already love Halaveli !
The biggest changes this year, over previous 2 years, is the appointment of a new senior management team of General Manager Renato Chizzola and his Executive Assistant Manager Bertrand Blanchet. This 'dynamic duo' lead, motivate and inspire 'Team Halaveli' to create the best holiday experience you could hope for. The changes are not dramatic, but subtle to enhance the resorts overall elegant chic no shoes Maldivian feel.

From the time we arrived at Male, courtesy of the direct BA flight from Gatwick, the Constance team swung in action to ensure our holiday got off to a great start. We were greeted at Male and taken to the Constance lounge at the seaplane terminal where we could freshen up and check in whilst waiting for the seaplane transfer. As ever the seaplane transfer was amazing, even after 8 years of travelling to the Maldives we still cannot get over the beauty of the atolls, the views are simply stunning.

When we reached Halaveli, we were greeted like old friends by 'Team Halaveli' (as we affectionately refer to this amazing team of people), and given the warmest of welcomes that set the tone for what has become the best holiday we have ever had. It was also lovely to see some familiar faces from the previous years.

The service has always been good and now seems to have moved to another level, especially in the Jahaz restaurant. Throughout the resort be it room boy, engineer, waiter or member of the management team every thing is done with a smile and nothing is a problem or to much trouble.

As pointed out by other reviewers the water villas are very spacious, well appointed and fitted out to a very high standard and in our opinion still offer the best value for money in the Maldives.

There is plenty of choice when it comes to wining and dining on Halaveli. The breakfast is outstanding with a great variety of choice and the same is shown with the selection of foods on the themed evenings buffets that are served in Jahaz. A special mention should be made of head sommelier Cedric and his staff, who are always keen to share their knowledge and provide an interesting incite into the world of wines. Also, we cannot forget Dass who manages the Jahaz restaurant. He and his team ensured that we were so very well taken care of every morning and evening.

We also had the pleasure of dining in the Jing wine cellar, with imaginative menus and matching wine choices this was simply an amazing experience that will never be forgotten.

It is impossible to individually name all the wonderful people that made our holiday so special.
It starts from the top, where Renato went out of his way to make sure our stay was special, along with all the other team members who in our opinion are all stars.

We were so sad to leave this lovely little island and we would not hesitate to go back again.....it just can't be soon enough.

Room Tip: If you like seclusion and an over water villa, then villas in the high 80's & 90 is perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BRANDYBABE96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, General Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you kindly for your wonderful review on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and very much feel a part of our Halaveli family.
It is always such an honour to welcome back guests who we have had the pleasure of hosting before on our magical island. For us it is like welcoming back good friends and family, which is an enormous privilege.

Similarly to all of our guests the beautiful sparkling turquoise waters and the stunning atolls is a view that we all very much appreciate and no how long we have been here for it still manages to take our breath away. It is certainly one of the most special and memorable things about the Maldives and one that will never be forgotten.

As you know, at Halaveli, we always strive for perfection coupled with providing our guests an out-of-this-world experience. This starts with our dedicated and passionate team, which Bertrand and I are both delighted to be a part of. The Halaveli Team as you have affectionately named is one that is driven to delivering dreams and exceeding expectations and I am extremely proud that they have achieved this for your stay.

On behalf of the entire Halaveli Team, thank you once again for sharing your experience with fellow Trip Advisor readers and we look forward to welcoming you back to your Halaveli Heaven in not too distant future.

With warmest regards,

Renato W. Chizzola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at Halaveli for one week in August 2012, slightly off season, well knowing that sun might be interrupted by the occasional thunderstorm. The trip from Male to the island in a water plane took us about 20 min. A warm welcome at the Hotel was offered. We had booked a family villa as we were traveling with our 2 children , 12 and 16 years of age. the villa allocated was beautiful, great amenities with WIFI, Nespresso machine and a great selection of drinks in the minibar. The TV system allows for free viewing of a significant selection of movies for free. Great for the hours after the sun. The down side was the tiny room with bunk beds for the children, which only had a neon light and seemed more like a closet. To be fair, it had a TV but certainly not worthy a 5 start " family apartment". Otherwise, the beach house was fantastic. We requested to change the house, which was possible and the staff very helpful. The second villa had a normal sized room for the children with 2 regular beds.....much better.

Activities and diving center are well equipped with great instructors. As expected all on the expensive side. we took the chidden on a 4 hour fishing trip on a traditional boat which off season sets you back 600 US. The disappointment came when we were told that in order to eat our own catch we would need to pay 25 US per person for the preparation. In light of the steep rental of boat and crew, this came across as slightly greedy. The knowledge that our fish would be sold to other guests as reef fish for a high price did not help.

The second setback for us was the bedbug incident in the kingsize bed of the house. I woke up with a large area and multiple bites on my leg. The hotel offered fruit and chocolate to the room, clearly with good intention. There is nothing lease they could have done, given that the hotel was full. Still, bedbugs in a 5 star resort, even though this can happen.....should not happen.

All in all a great place, the villas are nice. If with family try the double story villas on the calmer side of the island. Would I go there again? Not sure. With the long list of great resorts on the Maledives I think I would give this one a pass next time round. I would probably give it a 5 star rating, but definitely on the lower end of the spectrum.

Room Tip: The double story villas are all on the calmer side of the island. Our villa with the very small room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2risttrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, General Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest,
Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip Advisor. We highly appreciate your wonderful comments and constructive feedback.

Constance Halaveli Resort has implemented some of the family villas as an immediate follow up on guest comments to have an additional room for the children complimenting the wonderful beach villas. Unfortunately we had size restrictions due to the neighboring villas. We will make every effort to further enhance these rooms by providing better lighting and make it even more exciting for our younger travelers. The TV’s and the i-mac system is certainly a great feature in order to watch the latest and exciting children’s movies.

We will evaluate the current policy of charging $25 per person for the fish preparation in the restaurants. Please allow us to assure you that any remaining fish is always shared with the boat crew, the staff canteen and if the catch has been very successful one, the remaining fish is sent to the restaurants.

With regards to the insect bites, please allow us to share with you that we have had no history of any incident relating to bed bugs at Halaveli. We do however occasionally have guests with bites from insects, which is not uncommon in areas such as the Maldives. As you might be aware, we are fogging the island daily in order to minimize any mosquito bites etc. This is a common practice for resorts in the Maldives.

We thank you for considering our magical island as a great place with wonderful villas and appreciate the fact that you would like to visit other resorts. However, we’d be honoured to welcome you back at anytime, maybe in a double story beach villa.

With warm regards,

Renato W. Chizzola
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

There may well be other hotels in the Maldives of equal quality in terms of accommodation beautiful beaches, fabulous food etc etc, what Halaveli has which the others do not is an exceptional manager in Renato Chizzola. He has managed to create the perfect blend of attentive 5* service yet still ensuring a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. His enthusiasm and attention to detail clearly runs through all of his staff. We are generally not easy to please but in this instance we have only positive and very happy memories of this outstanding resort and perfect holiday. Please if you have the opportunity make sure you treat yourself to what we felt was the holiday of a lifetime (which by the way we intend to repeat as soon as we possibly can).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
halaveli-res0rt, General Manager at Constance Halaveli, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2012

Dear Guests,

Firstly allow me to thank you for your review. I am flattered by your comments, however kindly note that it is the efforts of our team who are passionate about delivering personalized 5 star service. I am fortunate to be part of a wonderful team who will always strive to deliver dreams and create unforgettable memories.

Thank you once again, and the team and I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to our beautiful island.

With warm regards,

Renato W. Chizzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halaveli Island
16.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,240 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
624 reviews
7.8 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
14.4 mi away
Nika Island Resort & Spa
Nika Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Kudafolhudhoo Island
562 reviews
12.7 mi away
Diamonds Athuruga
Diamonds Athuruga
#1 of 1 in Athuruga Island
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Halaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Halaveli

Address: North Ari Atoll, 09130
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Halaveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Price Range: £610 - £2,110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Halaveli 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hideaway, intimate and magical setting; choose from one of the 57 Water Villas, 10 Beach Villas, 10 Family Beach Villas, 8 Double Storey Beach Villas or the lavish Presidential Beach Villa at Constance Halaveli Maldives. Experience luxury living at Constance Halaveli and enjoy the hotel’s private island setting in the Maldives’ North Ari Atoll. Stroll down white sandy beaches and swim in turquoise water teeming with colourful marine life while children can unleash their spirit of adventure at the Constance Kids Club. Lie back and relax on your own private sun terrace, dip in your own plunge pool, or take time to nurture body and mind at U Spa by Constance.Floating in the North Ari atoll and shaped like a curved Dhoni; (Maldivian boat) Constance Halaveli is a magical place where water and sand lie in contrast to the exuberant green foliage. Indulge in fine food and sumptuous flavours at Jahaz, Jing and Meeru restaurants For palate pleasing cocktails; divine vinous experiences, step in Jahaz, Jing Bar & Wine Cellars Be prepared for a memorable escape at Constance Halaveli Maldives! For ultimate comfort, all villas come with high raftered ceiling, their own private plunge pool and furnished terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Halaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Halaveli Hotel Alifu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing