We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous Hideaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Constance Halaveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Constance Halaveli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Certificate of Excellence
Sarnen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Marvellous Hideaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

Context:
My spouse and I returned a few days ago from a 9 day stay at the Constance Halaveli Resort and will remember it forever. It's been our first visit to the Maldives, but certainly
not our last one.

Flight:
With Edelweiss Air from ZRH to MLE (direct), return with Swiss from MLE to ZRH (direct)

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were received by someone from the hotel. We were checked in for the flight with the seaplane, including transfer to the seaplane airport in an air conditioned bus belonging to the hotel. We were taken care of in the hotel's own lounge at the seaplane terminal, where we had to wait about 30 minutes. Time enough to fill out the necessary paperwork for the hotel checkin. We were served cold drinks and equipped with some bottles of water for the upcoming short flight to Halaveli. I didn't see any of our luggage until we were shown our villa. We're not used to this kind of service, as we try to pack only so much gear we can carry on our own.

Upon arrival with the seaplane at the main jetty, we were received by the general manager himself. A representative of guest relations showed us around the facilities by one of those fancy golf carts before we where taken to our villa. Our luggage was already there. Not unpacked, which I would't have liked very much.

Accomodation:
We had booked one of the beach villas and were given one facing the lagoon. Premium, we think, is the privacy you get when booking such a beach villa. At least when compared to the more numerous and less expensive water villas.

The beach villa features:
- 350qm private area including building, garden and open air "bathroom"
- Open air bath garden (as the word "room" doesn't seem appropriate here)
- Garderobe with space for your bags and a free of charge safe
- Indoor toilette
- Semi-outdoor shower and additional outdoor shower
- Hairdryer
- Master bedroom with grand lit
- Wine cooler
- Nespresso coffee machine
- Electric kettle
- Minibar fridge
- Network and power ports for your laptop
- Wireless internet access for your laptop
- Really sophisticated and easy to use entertainment system with the possibility to dock
your iPod and play your own music using an application called "Senuti"
- Private plunge pool either in front of the villa or as in our case in the bath garden
- two sundecks, one equipped with sunloungers and parasol (can be used on both
decks)

What we liked the most concerning the villa
- The plunge pool
- Vast space to relax
- For our circumstances extreme privacy
- Directly at the beach
- Conveniant shadow through plant life around the villa

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping department is very well lead with the supervisor looking after you from time to time and asking for complaints. But of course we had none. The villa and surroundings are usually cleaned twice a day, even the sand at the garden is painfully raked, the pool is cleaned etc.

Service:
Service at this resort is really extraordinary, it's what makes the difference, I think. One is adressed by name from day one. The staff is always kind and friendly, but it's also never intrusive, at least that's what I can tell in our case. The staff made the impression of being very well trained and highly motivated.

The staff is always eager to involve the guest in a conversation. But it's never been intrusive! I like that very much.

Food:
We enjoyed the buffet at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Depending on your activities you might enjoy the buffet for lunch. But for us it was simply too much.
The buffet was diversified by daily changing themes, which we liked very much. But the chefs there are always eager to prepare you something special, just ask for it.

The dessert part of the buffet is really great! Gotta try it! The pastry chef is always around and will explain the different dishes to you in many different lanquages. But he's French, I think. Desserts containing alcohol are marked separately.

Guest structure:
We were, at least I think so, the only german-speaking Swiss people at the resort during our stay. Some guests I positively identified as German, Dutch, English, Japanese and Italian. Rather surprised we were about the number of families with children. There were pretty many for that kind of a resort at the Maldives. Do not get me wrong. We like children very much and we think that this resort is Paradise for children. But there never was disturbing noise or whatsoever. There is even a well equipped kids club just nearby the main reception.

Flora and Fauna:
The Island is not that much overgrown as other resorts. You can see that pretty good when having a look at aerial views of the resort. Very nice mixture, we think.

There are not many (at least flying) insects. We were never bothered by mosquitos as the island is fogged daily and the number of lizards around is high.

The local heron is watching you at the beach, but he's rather shy. No danger for kids. There are some raven-like birds on the island, you should not let your shiny valuables unprotected on the sun lounger.

In the lagoon you may see a lot of baby black tip reef sharks, about 50 cm in length. They come really right to the shoreline but escape when you approach too close. At night or in the early morning you may observe many stingrays in very shallow waters, usually close to artificial light. Several hundred meters out in the lagoon you may see Mantas. The head of the dive centre told me that they were there almost all the time. As we are not divers, we took a pedalo and tried to spot some, but we were not lucky.

Dislikes:
- Pumps are used to bank up the shore line near the unfinished presidental beach villa. Therefore sometimes the sea near the costline inside the lagoon is a little unclear.
- The presidental beach villa is still under construction. the general manager told me it should be finished in March, as it is already rented at this time
- Sandbags are used to control sand erosion and bank up some parts of the beach semi-naturally. Doesn't look that good but it still is better than fortify the shore as in other resorts
- Some guests did not treat the staff with proper respect. That annoys me a lot!

Tips and Tricks:
- Fill out the online check-in form, speeds up check-in
- You may state some information such as dietary requirements, what kind of drinks you'd like in your minibar, what sort of wine you would like in your wine cooler, what newspapaper you'd like to read at breakfast etc.
- You may consider not booking half board as it costs exactly the same as eating at the buffet on a daily decision, but you're less flexible
- The restaurants beside the main one often require reservation
- If you're not that good on foot or you're with preteen children you should book a beach villa (or the double-storey things) because the water villa jetty is 850m in length and not secured by a handrail. Nevertheless you can order a ride in those cool golf carts.

To sum things up: A trip absolutely worth the money. We would book it anytime again.


best regards
Andy

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaMb1N0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,170
    117
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
231
905
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday at Constance Halaveli with our 2 children who are 9 and 6. We stayed in a 2 storey beach villa (No 8.) Our arrival could not have been easier. We were met at the airport by resort staff and transferred to the sea plane transfer quay where we waited in the lovely hotel lounge for a very short time for our plane. The plane took us directly to the resort, although we now know from our return trip that they sometimes make a number of stops.

Both the island and the hotel are truly fantastic. It is an absolute haven and completely idyllic. The accommodation is superb, spotless and beautifully furnished with excellent beds and linen, elegant lighting and Apple entertainment systems with a wide choice of free movies. Internet and wi-fi is available from your room. Our mobile phones and blackberries had reception. The mini bar is well stocked and not too overpriced. Bottled water is available free of charge and fruit and cakes delivered daily. A bottle of Veuve Cliquot was waiting for us on arrival.

The grounds of the villa were beautiful and the large green slate lined plunge pool a real treat. The outdoor bathroom (there is indoor as well) is magical with a candlelit bath a must. The views out to the beach and the sea from the upper balcony were magnificent and the beach sublime. There are few destinations I have travelled to where the reality is better than the photographs. This is definitely one of them.

The staff were all very gracious and keen to please. The service is generally very good, but to be truly world class it is fair to say they have a little way to go. I suspect they will make it with a little more time and more visible senior management controlling the experience that guests receive. Somebody needs to direct the waiting staff in the evening as they do seem to be left to their own devices a little, the result being that glasses do not get filled and plates either do not get taken away or get taken away as you are eating your last mouthful. With the guests they attract these things do get noticed and need to be corrected to ensure consistency.

On to some important details: There are 3 restaurants, Meeru, Jahaz and Jing. Jing is advertised as the a la carte restaurant and is beautifully located looking out to sea on a platform near the water bungalows. The bar and restaurant are beautifully furnished and the views are fabulous. We started dinner with a USD 65 cocktail for 2 served in a large shell creation. It was unimpressive and generally they need to do something about the cocktail list. The food menu was a little too much style and not enough of what you would actually want to eat. I had scallops with miso to start which were beautiful and a Wagyu beef main, which was fabulous meat, but small and served with mixed beans. There were generally some odd combinations and accompaniments which put off even the most adventurous palette. That said everything we had was very well done except a slightly overcooked but big and juicy prawn tempura and a rather dry chicken teriyaki. The children’s menu was very good with not a chicken nugget in sight. Only after the meal did they tell us that we could order anything at all we wanted - even off menu. The food in Jahaz, the restaurant that is included in the half board option, was of a very high standard and the buffet choice was outstanding. An Italian buffet included choices like Osso Bucco and rosemary roast lamb, freshly cooked asparagus and mushroom risotto and endless choice of pastas, salads and dessert. The Japanese buffet had the freshest sashimi and sushi, fabulous curries and noodle soups. They need to do something about keeping the salad, seafood and cold meat selections cold. We had no problems, but it is only a matter of time. It also makes you less confident to try them. The breakfast buffet is also served here and is excellent, with everything you could hope for. We did have a rather unfortunate incident where some chicken dim sum that was put out for breakfast in a steamer had an illustrative uncooked platter of what was inside next to it, with a dim sum label on it. One of our children along with a number of other people from the restaurant partially ate one from the uncooked platter. The restaurant manager dealt with it very professionally and provided complimentary drinks with our dinner that evening and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us by the time we got back to our room after breakfast. The fact that our son wasn't ill is perhaps testament to the care over ingredients and cleanliness. It is however not something I would expect to happen. The third restaurant, Meeru is beautifully located on the beach and is incredibly romantic. The food was of a very high standard. The appetisier is a make your own salad option. This is far too gimicky for a resort of this nature and at USD25 for a small bowl of salad leaves is not good value. It was however a good salad. The main course choices of fish and meat from the barbeque with a choice of sauces was excellent.

The snorkelling is good and at nearby sites exceptional. The dive school is very professional and helpful. Snorkelling gear was complimentary and they could provide prescription masks for a nominal hire charge. Non-motorised water sports are complimentary and the beach staff very helpful.

The over water spa is divine and the treatments excellent. The steam room and hydrospa are complimentary and the view is fantastic.

Overall we had a fabulous stay and I think that Constance will be up there with the main premium contenders in a short space of time with a little effort. We would happily recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suresnes, France
Level Contributor
141 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 665 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

We are just back from Constance Halaveli. This has been our sixth vacation to the Maldives. Previous stays included Club Med Kani and Taj Exotica before they were refurbished, One&Only Reethi Rah, Anantara, Fours Seasons Landaa Giraavaru, Zitahli Kudafunafaru.
We researched extensively before booking. We considered the future Regent (still a work in process), the new Shangri-La, and finally booked Constance Halaveli based on glowing reviews on TA, Constance know-how in high end resorts, and warm recommendations from our travel agency in Paris. We were extremely happy with our whole experience, which never fell short of any of them. Honesty must have it, we also took advantage of a great promotion (apparently every one did), buy1 get1 free. This avoided us to spend obscene amounts of money, just vast ones …
We flew Emirates business class from Paris, experiencing the new A380 – a true experience of its own. Our luggage were among the first to show up, and we were wisked away in a private people mover to the Halaveli lounge, a decent place where they checked us in. This was the first time we had to pay a luggage overcharge. I think previous times, the hotels picked the (small : $2/kg) tab. After a 45 minutes wait, more people from the Emirates flight joined us and we were airborn, on our way to Halaveli.
A small team was waiting for us by the welcome mast. We were given a short overview of the resort in french, and confirmed the dinner reservations wa had made from Paris, filling in the vacation planner they had emailed. Perhaps they could do a better job at explaining the bars and restaurants. The tour on a buggy was short : the island is compact, think small. A round tour on the beach might take 10 minutes. However it never feels cramped, and it conveys a real feeling of privacy, escpecially in your villa. Actually you hardly see anyone, except for breakfast.
We were showed to our DOUBLE STOREY BEACH VILLA WITH POOL, #3. It is absolutely breathtaking. At those price tags (rack rate $2150+ ; about twice the rack rate for a Premium room with a Central Park view at the Four Seasons in Manhattan, just to put things in perpective), it jolly good should be breathtaking. The architect did a great job, the designers did a superb job, the buyers did a fantastic job, and the builders did a superb job.
The overall effect is somehow understated. This is no Las Vegas ! The construction is sturdy, the atmosphere is luxurious yet soothing, all furniture is qualitative, never flimsy. It is extremely different from both O&O Reethi Rah and FS Landaa, both ranking at the very top, but Constance is right up there.
On the ground floor, the bedroom part is large, not huge. Excellent bed flanking a wide marble-top desk, including an array of low storage areas. Smart built-in swivel plugging system includes adaptors. The lighting is very well thought, designed, engineered, and labelled for us poor people touse ! Huge LCD screen fitted with an Apple CD/DVD system, wireless keyboard. The whole system is well designed, much simpler to use than the usual Böse things. Free unlimited internet access and in-room videos, probably one of the only free things around.
At the back the open-air bathroom is outstanding. The décor is beautiful. Separate toilet behind a screen (no door), separate shower stall behind a similar screen. Splendid double sinks, with smart hanging mirrors. A large sunken bath tub (plenty of space for two), carved in solid stone, lies under a separate pavilion in the back garden. Ample supply of toiletries, in stupid glass bottles refilled twice a day. We prefer the branded stuff in disposable containers …
Between the bedroom and the bathroom, the bar area with mini fridge, wine cooler, Nespresso coffeemaker (ample supply of capsules), Tefal stainless steel kettle. Large selection of upscale teas, sugars and sweeteners. A dressing room sits behind a door on the other side. Stairs go up the first floor. Smaller bathroom (airconditioned) on the landing, which leads to a lounge, with a huge sofa, dining room table, and another TV + sound system. It looks out on a very large balcony with more seating options, facing the lagoon. An outdoors spiral staircase goes down into the front garden.
The aircon system is extremely accurate (settings wise), and works terribly well. Alternatively, fans are located everywhere : bedroom, upper room, bath room, bath pavilion, ground floor patio. One is missing on the upper balcony, where it is awfully hot.
Outside the garden is pretty big. Our plunge pool was at the front, which we had specifically requested in advance (although it was first not guaranteed, it was eventually guaranteed when we threatened to take our business somewhere else), since half of the units have a back garden pool, pointless to us. Dark tiled, 1.3 meter deep, it could have been a tad bigger (2x5 meter, I guess).
Plenty of outdoors seating options : one sofa on the balcony, 2 armchairs and stools on the patio, together with a table and four chairs, two chaise lounges by the pool, and two more on the beach.
Housekeeping was the best ever in the Maldives. Villa was kept spotless at all times, which should be a given at that price, but still. Ali the housekeeper has probably thoroughlly trained, but his practice is outstanding. He never forgot a single thing, ever. He constantly enquired about special needs (none, believe it or not), beside an extra ashtray on the first day. We happily tipped him on our last day.
From a FOOD perspective, there is a wide choice, spread over 3 restaurants, outside of room service. The main restaurant serves a buffet fare ; we always stay away from buffets (my odea of a vacation id being helped, not helping myself). Nearby on the beach is a … beach restaurant. This one worked best for us. Starters are only salads which you design yourself (I found this a nice concept, but on second thoughts would have liked also a selection of composed salads, kind of Caesar, which they do when you ask), for $25 which I find overpriced; entrees are BBQed, fish or meat, and this is great. Grilled lobster will set you back $45+, which I find rather unexpensive. The maitred’ there is a fantastic guy by the name of Dhombe ; he does a superb job. Jing is on stilt and serves asian fusion food ; great selection, and they will prepare whatever you feel like eating. Very good service, especially from Sameerah, going th extra mile to please you.
Breakfast is probably the only meal where there is room for improvement. The selection is rather limited, and never changes. No Parma ham, only one salami, only occasional asian fares. No live cooking station for waffles (only chunks of waffles sitting on a counter top), no pancakes ever, got ta ask for maple syrup. Limited egg options : no eggs benedict, no huevos rancheros, … No decent warm sausage : pork is all over the place, and they only serve the nasty schiken or veal sausages ! Nice fruit counter, but not a berry was ever to be seen.
We were on a B&B basis, which suits us very well, and is better value for us : the HB option is charged 80€ in Paris. Would you like to go in an other restaurant than the main buffet thing, you only get a credit of $55or $40. This is common practice in Maldives ; the whole industry has tuned on this practice, which is highway robbery to me. Bear in mind that a dinner will set you back $60-75+ : a fair value to us, compared to the HB option.
BARS : one beach bar with great seating options on the beach serves well prepared international cocktails. The interesting bar is at Jing (shyly advertised), with a great concept of mixology, brought up by Anne : tell her what you like sweet, sour, short, long, hot, fruity, dry, whatever flavor, and she will come back with amazing creations, the smell complementing the taste. This is an outstanding concept, unheard of in the Maldives.
We did quite a bit of scuba diving. This was our first time in Ari Atoll, and a real feast. We had our most exciting dives, ever. Santana is a fantastic dive master, a native from this atoll, who literrally knows every coral chunk ! The only negative point here is the management. Standard practice in the Maldives a a 2-tank dive in the morning, and single in the afternoon. They rarely do this here, and we had to beg for 2-tank, which was seldom granted as a favor. Favor for which we had to get up 30 minutes earlier, that is whenever they told us to ... Can’t understand why, as they would be charging twice the $$$, which is all they are after. The lady owner of the dive center looks like she can’t be bothered : hey get real, this is the hospitality industry, you are supposed to be nice to guests, and not dining around with the Maldivian investors, taking away the guests buggies. This was the only real negative note of our stay.
Personnal touches included a bottle of champagne in the room on our first evening (I hear they are for honeymooners only –not us- or demanding guests –is that us ?-). On my partner’s birthday, they offered in-room chapagne breakfast : this is a give-away of the in-room supplement and 2 glasses of champagne, not overly generous. Especially since we posponed the champagne to the evening, when it was brought without a single peanut. On our request, they arranged our transfer to Taj Exotica on the last evening, as we could not face a day-use at the airport’s hotel, before boarding the 2.35 am Emirates flight. This went perfectly smoothly.
When it comes to money : the daily rack rate is significantly more expensive than the best villa at the Four Seasons Landaa, and I can’t see a reason why it should be. We felt we had every cent worth, but then we had a 50% discount. The full rate would probably over the top. But then, can you really state a value for money here ? Dining costs are what they should be here, and we have seen more expensive before. Drinks are fairly priced, for a hotel of this caliber in this place : $8 for a bottle of Evian, or a $6 Coke is fair. Same for $20 cocktails.
Service is amazing throughout. We barely saw anyone of the top management. But then they rightly have confidence in the staff.
Would we come back ? Any time … !

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PASCAL H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Our second trip to the Maldives, after staying at wonderful One & Only Kanuhura, now just Kanuhura. Resort recently finished refurb and was discounting holidays on its way to building what will be a 5-start reputation over time. Great views, villas, staff, weird to have wi-fi, but why not? Great restaurants and variety, though we avoid the buffets - worth being B&B and choosing different place every evening... though we're the minority it seems despite being cheaper than half board. Gorgeous for lounging and diving activities. We went night snorkelling on last evening - absolutely amazing, you see 5x normal sealife. Spa was great, waterskiing OK with great boat/driver. Would be great to have easier sea access for windsurfing/sailing (center is sheltered from wind by island, great for beginners, less for experienced sailors). On head-to-head, Kanuhura (9/10) would edge our Halaveli (8/10) but at -50% until April 2010, it's a no brainer!
Thoma Xavier

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xilofono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Exceeded all my best expectations. Great lounge in Male, beautiful island, great staff, very good food, excellent spa, wonderful beach villa (I loved the outdoor bathroom)...
Only negative aspect: the rudeness of some guests who never bother to greet you and who behave in a rude way with the staff...
A well deserved 5 star! (whoever says otherwise is not grateful...)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fatimaLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2010

I travelled with my two sons,age 11 and 15 to The Maldives for the first time for New Year. The hotel was absolutely amazing.We stayed in the Beach Villa as I wanted a bit more space. It had its own plunge pool and was right on the beach which was very private. You felt as if it was your private island at times.I absolutely loved the outdoor bathroom and shower. The room was spacious and equipped with everything you needed. The kids loved the fact that there was videos on demand, internet connection and of course big plasma screen.
Service was truly 5*.Staff very welcoming and helpful with any request.We hardly left the villa as there was no need! The food at the three restaurants were really good. The sea was wonderfully warm and kids could snorkel right infront of villa. The hotel has lots of watersports and a gym which my eldest enjoyed. I have stayed in many beautiful hotels in the past but this experience was sooooo relaxed. A week was not enough and I would definitely stay a minimum of 10 days next time.I could go on and on but there is not enough space here to truly capture what a wonderful time we all had. My advice would be just to go.You will not be disappointed!!

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank londonsunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2010

My husband and I went to Halaveli for our 1st Wedding Anniversary and loved every minute of it! We went for 11 nights and felt like we have been away for a month as we were so relaxed. As an Interior Designer I was extremely impressed with the design of the water villas and the bars / restaurants, they really are 5 star and totally private.

I have never swam so much on a holiday but the crystal waters lure you in and you won't be disappointed with the sea life....mini sharks (not dangerous) stingwrays, tropical fish!! Fabulous!

We used the gym a couple of times which had technogym and life fitness equipment (all brand new)

The staff were so friendly and welcoming - couldn't fault the service it was superb.

Would go back in a heart beat and would love to stay in the presidential water villa once complete - it looked as though it would be amazing.

Weather was boiling!! Just a couple of showers through the night ....perfect.

Wouldn't reccommend this place for kids as you need eyes in the back of your head although there were people with toddlers / young children I felt for them as they couldn't relax....leave the kids at home!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5starlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halaveli Island
16.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
21.8 mi away
Diamonds Thudufushi
Diamonds Thudufushi
#1 of 1 in Thudufushi Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
19.0 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
15.8 mi away
Kuramathi Island Resort
Kuramathi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuramathi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Halaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Halaveli

Property: Constance Halaveli
Address: North Ari Atoll, 09130
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Halaveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Halaveli 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hideaway, intimate and magical setting; choose from one of the 57 Water Villas, 10 Beach Villas, 10 Family Beach Villas, 8 Double Storey Beach Villas or the lavish Presidential Beach Villa at Constance Halaveli Maldives. Experience luxury living at Constance Halaveli and enjoy the hotel’s private island setting in the Maldives’ North Ari Atoll. Stroll down white sandy beaches and swim in turquoise water teeming with colourful marine life while children can unleash their spirit of adventure at the Constance Kids Club. Lie back and relax on your own private sun terrace, dip in your own plunge pool, or take time to nurture body and mind at U Spa by Constance.Floating in the North Ari atoll and shaped like a curved Dhoni; (Maldivian boat) Constance Halaveli is a magical place where water and sand lie in contrast to the exuberant green foliage. Indulge in fine food and sumptuous flavours at Jahaz, Jing and Meeru restaurants For palate pleasing cocktails; divine vinous experiences, step in Jahaz, Jing Bar & Wine Cellars Be prepared for a memorable escape at Constance Halaveli Maldives! For ultimate comfort, all villas come with high raftered ceiling, their own private plunge pool and furnished terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Holiday Gems, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Destinology, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK) and Travelbag so you can book your Constance Halaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Halaveli Hotel Alifu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing