We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Constance Halaveli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Constance Halaveli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This is our first ever holiday at Maldives. And we have choosen Constance Halaveli based on forum's discussion and some other web-sites' recommendations.

On our first day arrival at Male Internation Airport, we were quickly escorted to the resort's waiting lounge while waiting to board the sea-plane. In the lounge, we were greeted with friendly staff and provided with all basic amenities including internet connected PC/Wi-Fi, breakfast, drinks and etc, very comfortably waiting for boarding.

Once we reached the resort, again, we were greeted with extremely friendly staff and briefed on the resort's facilities. We were truly impressed with the services and hospitality of the staff of this resort.

We went on for the dolphin adventure, which was great. We manage to see quite a number of dolphins. Snorkeling was great too, but need to ensure you have sufficient sun-block lotion applied. As we are beginners in snorkeling, the guide has actually assigned an assistant to us to guide and help us during the snorkeling trip. That was really great especially to beginners like us.

Next we went on for night-fishing, which was not so value-for-money. We didnt manage to catch any fish although we did enjoy the fun of fishing and catching a clear sky of stars.

Spa and the candle-light dinner were the highlights of this trip. The spa massage treatment was nothing but great. As for the dinner, we were treated with lobster meal and fresh prawn.

The scenery of this island is very nice, coupled with nice weather, and great services, which makes this trip memorable. We really enjoyed ourselves and everything was perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday_phreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2010

I could write pages and pages but to ensure I convey how amazing this place is I'll try and summarise instead, PLEASE believe me and book it as it is utter heaven!

- Stunning and unbeatable location
- Total peace, beauty, serenity, luxury and indulgence
- Incredible staff with the highest level of service always with a smile
- Absolutely wonderful with young children accommodating every request
- Fabulous beach villas with literally the feeling of being on your own deserted island
- The Jing restaurant location on the jetty made me cry it was so beautiful!
- Divinely delicious choice of menus and restaurants for adults and children
- All the mod cons in the most remote feeling paradise
- A luxury hotel that caters for children perfectly too
- The best holiday we have ever had and we are horribly fussy!!!

Wishing you a trip every bit as incredible as ours.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footprintsinsand2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Halaveli is a wonderful island - from the time you walk out of the departure terminal at Male, to the time you are dropped back agin, you are wonderfully looked after. I went with my husband and 19 year old daughter. We stayed for 11 nights.

We stayed in 2 water villas, right at the end, so it took about 12 minutes to walk to the island. You could phone for a buggy if you liked, but we preferred to walk mostly. There were lots of little sharks under the piers, we also saw little eagle rays. The rooms are just luxurious and you get given fresh fruit every day and can make tea and coffee any time

Breakfast is wonderful, loads of fresh fruit, different breads and cakes, and cold meats as well as hot breakfast. I and my daughter particularly liked the banana smoothie. Lunch in the bar was great. There is a good choice of snacks and salads, things like Caesar, tomato and mozzarella, nicoise. This costs about 12 dollars. They also do a pizza, and have the most wonderful bread - you have to ask for it, it doesn't always appear.

The evening meals are lovely also - buffet style - a different theme every night - some better than others - italian night and asian night were the best. The puddings are to die for - which is why the walk back to the villa was good!

The swimming pool is lovely and it is surrounded by beds and sofas so it is so nice to sit and read and then have a dip.

We went for the diving which is awesome. We had some fantastic shark dives where we must have seen over 30 sharks. On our first orientation dive we saw two huge manta rays. The dive team are fantastic. They find lots of great things for you to see

The only downside of this place is the cost of the alcohol. The cheapest alcoholic cocktail is 20 dollars and a gin and tonic, although quite strong is 15 dollars!

It is hard to describe what is so wonderful about the Maldives, but what I most miss now I'm at home is the incredible colour of the sea, sand and sky - it is so beautiful, also the wonderful warmth in the evenings when you are sitting in the bar looking at the sunset, it is such a great feeling!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Had the most amazing and romantic honeymoon in Halaveli. I would return in a heart beat if I could afford to - maybe 5 year wedding anniversary. We stayed in a watervillia and I was extremely impressed with how large and luxurious it was, as well as the privacy from the neighbouring villas. It was really nice to have our own small pool overlooking the beautiful turquoise waters and then to be able to pop into the sea for a swim or snorkel whenever we wanted. The water was very calm around our watervilla and there was plenty of marine life to admire.

The food was also great on the island. And with two restaurants on the beach and one in the watervillia village, the setting couldn't have been more romantic and beautiful. We went half board, but ate in the main buffet restaurant only two or three nights out of eight. If you want to eat in either Jing or Meeru restaurants instead of the main buffet, they hotel gives you $55 credit per person at the other restaurants. I thought this was very reasonable. The main expense is alcohol really. We usually got a bottle of wine at dinner each evening and the cheapest wine on the menu was $40. Over 8 days, we spend around 800euro on extras (including a snorkling trip which was superb, and my husband had one private windsurfing lesson).

I would highly recommend the Constance Halaveli to anyone looking to escape..... the description "luxury hideaway" sums up the experience. We were both extremely relaxed from the moment we arrived. The staff were all absolutely lovely and very accommodating.

It really was paradise!

Just some notes... for what (or what not) to bring with you... if it is any help to anyone:

Bring:
- waterproof factor 50
- water/surf booties
- ipod
- good book
- sun hat for her and him
- sandals (day and night)

No Need to Bring:
- no need for any more than $30 in cash as everything is charged to bill, including service charge.
- no need for high heels or even high wedges
- no need for cocktail dresses
- no need for insect repellent (as the fog the island nightly)
- no need for plug adaptors
- no need to bring your own snorkel equipment as you can borrow them for free for the length of your stay
- cardigans / jumper as it's very warm even in the evenings

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CockleStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2010

We had a wonderful honeymoon at Constance Halaveli! The hotel is beautiful, the service was great and we were able to totally relax! As we only had 5 days (4 nights) we were very pleased that we were able to get our room early on arrival date, and were able to stay until our afternoon flight on departure date. This gave us maximum time to enjoy the facilities.
We stayed in a water Villa, which was amazing! With our own pool on the deck and the sea right below our terrace, we enjoyed many hours just relaxing with privacy. We went snorkeling by the villa and were able to see many amazing fish.
Room service was good, and we had several lunches on the deck.
As I also celebrated my birthday while at Constance Halaveli, they surprised me with decorating my bed with greetings and rose leaves; very nice!
The food was very good and as there are many options you will always find something that suits you.

We booked our trip through "Atoll Paradise" who were very professional and extremely helpful! They assisted us in every step of our vacation. Great service!

All in all we loved the Maldives and our experience at Constance Halaveli!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tkfa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Context:
My spouse and I returned a few days ago from a 9 day stay at the Constance Halaveli Resort and will remember it forever. It's been our first visit to the Maldives, but certainly
not our last one.

Flight:
With Edelweiss Air from ZRH to MLE (direct), return with Swiss from MLE to ZRH (direct)

Arrival:
Upon arrival we were received by someone from the hotel. We were checked in for the flight with the seaplane, including transfer to the seaplane airport in an air conditioned bus belonging to the hotel. We were taken care of in the hotel's own lounge at the seaplane terminal, where we had to wait about 30 minutes. Time enough to fill out the necessary paperwork for the hotel checkin. We were served cold drinks and equipped with some bottles of water for the upcoming short flight to Halaveli. I didn't see any of our luggage until we were shown our villa. We're not used to this kind of service, as we try to pack only so much gear we can carry on our own.

Upon arrival with the seaplane at the main jetty, we were received by the general manager himself. A representative of guest relations showed us around the facilities by one of those fancy golf carts before we where taken to our villa. Our luggage was already there. Not unpacked, which I would't have liked very much.

Accomodation:
We had booked one of the beach villas and were given one facing the lagoon. Premium, we think, is the privacy you get when booking such a beach villa. At least when compared to the more numerous and less expensive water villas.

The beach villa features:
- 350qm private area including building, garden and open air "bathroom"
- Open air bath garden (as the word "room" doesn't seem appropriate here)
- Garderobe with space for your bags and a free of charge safe
- Indoor toilette
- Semi-outdoor shower and additional outdoor shower
- Hairdryer
- Master bedroom with grand lit
- Wine cooler
- Nespresso coffee machine
- Electric kettle
- Minibar fridge
- Network and power ports for your laptop
- Wireless internet access for your laptop
- Really sophisticated and easy to use entertainment system with the possibility to dock
your iPod and play your own music using an application called "Senuti"
- Private plunge pool either in front of the villa or as in our case in the bath garden
- two sundecks, one equipped with sunloungers and parasol (can be used on both
decks)

What we liked the most concerning the villa
- The plunge pool
- Vast space to relax
- For our circumstances extreme privacy
- Directly at the beach
- Conveniant shadow through plant life around the villa

Housekeeping:
The housekeeping department is very well lead with the supervisor looking after you from time to time and asking for complaints. But of course we had none. The villa and surroundings are usually cleaned twice a day, even the sand at the garden is painfully raked, the pool is cleaned etc.

Service:
Service at this resort is really extraordinary, it's what makes the difference, I think. One is adressed by name from day one. The staff is always kind and friendly, but it's also never intrusive, at least that's what I can tell in our case. The staff made the impression of being very well trained and highly motivated.

The staff is always eager to involve the guest in a conversation. But it's never been intrusive! I like that very much.

Food:
We enjoyed the buffet at the main restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Depending on your activities you might enjoy the buffet for lunch. But for us it was simply too much.
The buffet was diversified by daily changing themes, which we liked very much. But the chefs there are always eager to prepare you something special, just ask for it.

The dessert part of the buffet is really great! Gotta try it! The pastry chef is always around and will explain the different dishes to you in many different lanquages. But he's French, I think. Desserts containing alcohol are marked separately.

Guest structure:
We were, at least I think so, the only german-speaking Swiss people at the resort during our stay. Some guests I positively identified as German, Dutch, English, Japanese and Italian. Rather surprised we were about the number of families with children. There were pretty many for that kind of a resort at the Maldives. Do not get me wrong. We like children very much and we think that this resort is Paradise for children. But there never was disturbing noise or whatsoever. There is even a well equipped kids club just nearby the main reception.

Flora and Fauna:
The Island is not that much overgrown as other resorts. You can see that pretty good when having a look at aerial views of the resort. Very nice mixture, we think.

There are not many (at least flying) insects. We were never bothered by mosquitos as the island is fogged daily and the number of lizards around is high.

The local heron is watching you at the beach, but he's rather shy. No danger for kids. There are some raven-like birds on the island, you should not let your shiny valuables unprotected on the sun lounger.

In the lagoon you may see a lot of baby black tip reef sharks, about 50 cm in length. They come really right to the shoreline but escape when you approach too close. At night or in the early morning you may observe many stingrays in very shallow waters, usually close to artificial light. Several hundred meters out in the lagoon you may see Mantas. The head of the dive centre told me that they were there almost all the time. As we are not divers, we took a pedalo and tried to spot some, but we were not lucky.

Dislikes:
- Pumps are used to bank up the shore line near the unfinished presidental beach villa. Therefore sometimes the sea near the costline inside the lagoon is a little unclear.
- The presidental beach villa is still under construction. the general manager told me it should be finished in March, as it is already rented at this time
- Sandbags are used to control sand erosion and bank up some parts of the beach semi-naturally. Doesn't look that good but it still is better than fortify the shore as in other resorts
- Some guests did not treat the staff with proper respect. That annoys me a lot!

Tips and Tricks:
- Fill out the online check-in form, speeds up check-in
- You may state some information such as dietary requirements, what kind of drinks you'd like in your minibar, what sort of wine you would like in your wine cooler, what newspapaper you'd like to read at breakfast etc.
- You may consider not booking half board as it costs exactly the same as eating at the buffet on a daily decision, but you're less flexible
- The restaurants beside the main one often require reservation
- If you're not that good on foot or you're with preteen children you should book a beach villa (or the double-storey things) because the water villa jetty is 850m in length and not secured by a handrail. Nevertheless you can order a ride in those cool golf carts.

To sum things up: A trip absolutely worth the money. We would book it anytime again.


best regards
Andy

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BaMb1N0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We have just returned from a brilliant holiday at Constance Halaveli with our 2 children who are 9 and 6. We stayed in a 2 storey beach villa (No 8.) Our arrival could not have been easier. We were met at the airport by resort staff and transferred to the sea plane transfer quay where we waited in the lovely hotel lounge for a very short time for our plane. The plane took us directly to the resort, although we now know from our return trip that they sometimes make a number of stops.

Both the island and the hotel are truly fantastic. It is an absolute haven and completely idyllic. The accommodation is superb, spotless and beautifully furnished with excellent beds and linen, elegant lighting and Apple entertainment systems with a wide choice of free movies. Internet and wi-fi is available from your room. Our mobile phones and blackberries had reception. The mini bar is well stocked and not too overpriced. Bottled water is available free of charge and fruit and cakes delivered daily. A bottle of Veuve Cliquot was waiting for us on arrival.

The grounds of the villa were beautiful and the large green slate lined plunge pool a real treat. The outdoor bathroom (there is indoor as well) is magical with a candlelit bath a must. The views out to the beach and the sea from the upper balcony were magnificent and the beach sublime. There are few destinations I have travelled to where the reality is better than the photographs. This is definitely one of them.

The staff were all very gracious and keen to please. The service is generally very good, but to be truly world class it is fair to say they have a little way to go. I suspect they will make it with a little more time and more visible senior management controlling the experience that guests receive. Somebody needs to direct the waiting staff in the evening as they do seem to be left to their own devices a little, the result being that glasses do not get filled and plates either do not get taken away or get taken away as you are eating your last mouthful. With the guests they attract these things do get noticed and need to be corrected to ensure consistency.

On to some important details: There are 3 restaurants, Meeru, Jahaz and Jing. Jing is advertised as the a la carte restaurant and is beautifully located looking out to sea on a platform near the water bungalows. The bar and restaurant are beautifully furnished and the views are fabulous. We started dinner with a USD 65 cocktail for 2 served in a large shell creation. It was unimpressive and generally they need to do something about the cocktail list. The food menu was a little too much style and not enough of what you would actually want to eat. I had scallops with miso to start which were beautiful and a Wagyu beef main, which was fabulous meat, but small and served with mixed beans. There were generally some odd combinations and accompaniments which put off even the most adventurous palette. That said everything we had was very well done except a slightly overcooked but big and juicy prawn tempura and a rather dry chicken teriyaki. The children’s menu was very good with not a chicken nugget in sight. Only after the meal did they tell us that we could order anything at all we wanted - even off menu. The food in Jahaz, the restaurant that is included in the half board option, was of a very high standard and the buffet choice was outstanding. An Italian buffet included choices like Osso Bucco and rosemary roast lamb, freshly cooked asparagus and mushroom risotto and endless choice of pastas, salads and dessert. The Japanese buffet had the freshest sashimi and sushi, fabulous curries and noodle soups. They need to do something about keeping the salad, seafood and cold meat selections cold. We had no problems, but it is only a matter of time. It also makes you less confident to try them. The breakfast buffet is also served here and is excellent, with everything you could hope for. We did have a rather unfortunate incident where some chicken dim sum that was put out for breakfast in a steamer had an illustrative uncooked platter of what was inside next to it, with a dim sum label on it. One of our children along with a number of other people from the restaurant partially ate one from the uncooked platter. The restaurant manager dealt with it very professionally and provided complimentary drinks with our dinner that evening and a bottle of champagne was waiting for us by the time we got back to our room after breakfast. The fact that our son wasn't ill is perhaps testament to the care over ingredients and cleanliness. It is however not something I would expect to happen. The third restaurant, Meeru is beautifully located on the beach and is incredibly romantic. The food was of a very high standard. The appetisier is a make your own salad option. This is far too gimicky for a resort of this nature and at USD25 for a small bowl of salad leaves is not good value. It was however a good salad. The main course choices of fish and meat from the barbeque with a choice of sauces was excellent.

The snorkelling is good and at nearby sites exceptional. The dive school is very professional and helpful. Snorkelling gear was complimentary and they could provide prescription masks for a nominal hire charge. Non-motorised water sports are complimentary and the beach staff very helpful.

The over water spa is divine and the treatments excellent. The steam room and hydrospa are complimentary and the view is fantastic.

Overall we had a fabulous stay and I think that Constance will be up there with the main premium contenders in a short space of time with a little effort. We would happily recommend it and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mustbefivestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halaveli Island
16.9 mi away
Constance Moofushi
Constance Moofushi
#1 of 1 in Moofushi Island
2,131 reviews
3.6 mi away
Kandolhu Maldives
Kandolhu Maldives
#1 of 17 in North Ari Atoll
563 reviews
3.3 mi away
VOI Maayafushi Resort
VOI Maayafushi Resort
#1 of 1 in Maayafushi Island
1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Veligandu Island Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
W Maldives
W Maldives
#1 of 1 in Fesdhoo Island
862 reviews
15.8 mi away
Kuramathi Island Resort
Kuramathi Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Kuramathi
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constance Halaveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constance Halaveli

Address: North Ari Atoll, 09130
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > North Ari Atoll > Halaveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halaveli Island
Price Range: £669 - £2,377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Constance Halaveli 5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious hideaway, intimate and magical setting; choose from one of the 57 Water Villas, 10 Beach Villas, 10 Family Beach Villas, 8 Double Storey Beach Villas or the lavish Presidential Beach Villa at Constance Halaveli Maldives. Experience luxury living at Constance Halaveli and enjoy the hotel’s private island setting in the Maldives’ North Ari Atoll. Stroll down white sandy beaches and swim in turquoise water teeming with colourful marine life while children can unleash their spirit of adventure at the Constance Kids Club. Lie back and relax on your own private sun terrace, dip in your own plunge pool, or take time to nurture body and mind at U Spa by Constance.Floating in the North Ari atoll and shaped like a curved Dhoni; (Maldivian boat) Constance Halaveli is a magical place where water and sand lie in contrast to the exuberant green foliage. Indulge in fine food and sumptuous flavours at Jahaz, Jing and Meeru restaurants For palate pleasing cocktails; divine vinous experiences, step in Jahaz, Jing Bar & Wine Cellars Be prepared for a memorable escape at Constance Halaveli Maldives! For ultimate comfort, all villas come with high raftered ceiling, their own private plunge pool and furnished terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Constance Halaveli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constance Halaveli Hotel Alifu Atoll

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing