We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,157)
Filter reviews
2,157 results
Traveller rating
769
697
402
186
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
697
402
186
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest hillsgarden restaurantleisure facilitiessteam roombeautiful locationrafters bistromain restaurantafternoon teaevening mealexecutive roomboth nightsself cateringwaiting staffbottle of wineloch viewrelaxing stayamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,872 - 1,877 of 2,157 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2011

The setting of this hotel is beautiful, overlooking Loch Ard. We stayed in a feature room and for the view it was worth it. The rooms are very comfortable and warm and the bathroom was very clean. The hotel needs a little TLC here and there, however we still had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The food was certainly a highlight, they clearly have a very good chef who produced some outstanding dishes. The leisure facilities are also excellent with a really nice pool and thermal area. The staff are very friendly and helpful, with nothing being too much trouble. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docajenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

We have stayed at Forest Hills several times over the last few years and it is one of our favourite places to visit. We have just returned from a superb festiuve weekend with four friends and yet again were not disappointed. The party evening on the friday night lived up to our expectations of excellent food and service as well as a fantastic ceilidh band. The staff at Forest hills are fantastic and go out of their way to make your stay special, they are friendly, attentive and professional, As usual our room was first class having a picturesque view of the loch. On the second eveing we dined in Rafters bar which was also excellent, good food and superb service and good value for money.
We have recommend Forest Hills to several of our friends and all have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to our next break there.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, this time we stayed in executive rooms, slighlty more expoensive but larger and worth the money. Loch facing is good.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l_cook400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

The hotel is set in a lovely tranquil location perfect for a relaxing break. Rooms are large with all the amenities you could need. Dining is a bit more expensive than your usual hotels but was first class. Leisure complex was superb and modern. A special mention must go to all the staff from the cleaners to the management, they are the most friendly staff we have come across in any hotel we have stayed in previously. Would highly recommend this hotel and will definatly be returning in the near future

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hutchmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Have stayed here several time over the past 10 years. Located 3 miles up a narrow road from Aberfoyle alongside Loch Ard, the hotel is set in lovely gardens with a beatiful views across the Loch. I have always stayed here during the winter (November, February or March) to co-incide with birthdays or wedding anniversary, and have always been lucky with the weather. The hotel is situated on the edge of the Trossachs, a truly beautiful part of Scotand. It is also close to Loch Katrine (boat trips in summer), or if you continue past the hotel to the road end, Inversnaid on the banks of Loch Lomond.
The hotel itself is slightly old fashioned, but the rooms are nice (king size beds) and the food in the restaurant (with views across the loch) has always been excellent and the service good.
It is popular for weddings at weekends, so expect it to be busy on Saturday nights.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a view of the gardens and Loch Ard. Balcony rooms available at extra cost.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We came here on a LateRooms deal at the last minute and arrived pretty tired after a walk up Ben Lomond. We were staying in the lodges and the first appartment we were given smelled of cigarette smoke although we had requested non-smoking room (although I appreciate that with LateRooms booking your requests are not guaranteed). We returned to reception and were dealt with very helpfully and given a new appartment which was beautifully furnished with stunning views over the loch. Given that it was a balmy weekend, albeit November we had our breakfast on the balcony and it was stunning! Throughout our one night stay the Resort reception staff were very helpful regarding DVD hire and flexibility on check out times.

The spa here is fantastic!! I used it twice during the one night stay. The 18m pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and experience shower were all fairly quiet, as was the well equipped gym. The whole place was absolutely spotless and the staff incredibly helpful to the point that when I called from home to tell them I had left my favourite bikini in the changing room, they kindly sought it out, dried it off and posted it back to me!!!!!! Well above and beyond the call of duty.

I would definitely come back.

Ali, Edinburgh

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali100_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews