We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break, and food was fine dining quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Perfect short break, and food was fine dining quality”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Wife son and I booked a family room with bed and breakfast and dinner. Arrived at 3pm - played pool which my son enjoyed and had a drink in bar. Got keys to room which was well sized though the view was of the car park, from the ground floor so people walking by really see right in this room. Curtains had to be drawn for some privacy.

We then used the pool which is larger than most hotels, and has steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. Great.

Our dinner was exceptional, followed with drinks infront of a roaring fire.

Breakfast the next morning was great also.

We never really explored the grounds but they look lovely.

The staff were excellent at all times and very good with my son.

Would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for not a ground floor room looking into car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pclimie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks pclimie for your positive comments that you have given our hotel and the food you received. I know our chef, David and his team are incredibly dedicated to producing the finest dishes sourced from the best ingredients. They shall be so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience.
Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    653
    363
    171
    89
See reviews for
552
1,061
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

October 2013 - we stayed for one week in a Rowan Lodge and were very satisfied with the accommodations. This was our first trip to Scotland. The MacDonald property was lovely and the staff was very friendly & helpful. The decor of the lodge was a little dated but that didn't impact our visit. We took day trips to Stirling, St. Andrews, Glasgow and Edinburgh, so we normally made breakfast at the lodge and cooked dinner or ate at Rafters. The lodge kitchen had the items we needed for preparing our meals.

We enjoyed the food at Rafters but the set up/atmosphere could be improved to make the experience more enjoyable. Some decor and room layout updates could give the space a much more pleasing feel. The maitre d' was a bit stressed when we showed up without reservations, even though there was plenty of room for us. He ended up being pleasant.

The spa, pool and exercise facilities are very nice.

The lounge and bar area in the hotel are very nice - big comfy seating and roaring fire. The bartender and waiters were very friendly and made us feel welcome at the resort.

The wee laundry facility has only 2 washers and 2 dryers. That was not a problem for us being there in October, but it could cause a delay in doing laundry if you were there during a busy season.

We did not have cell phone service on the property. We had no trouble with the internet signal at the hotel; however, we did not have internet service in our lodge. I believe we could have paid for that service, but we were on vacation and did not care about being online very often.

The resort is in a lovely area. It was great to wake up to a view of the loch every morning. We enjoyed our visits in Aberfoyle. The staff at the visitors center, the Wallace Pub and the Co-operative grocery were always very friendly and helpful. The venison dish at the Wallace Pub was one of the best things I have ever eaten. Everyone at my table was jealous of my meal!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xodawg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments xodawg14 following your stay in one of the Rowan Lodges here at Forest Hills. The lodges provide an ideal base for exploring the area and we do endeavour to provide a wide range of equipment for our guests whci i am pleased you found met your requirements.
I am delighted to advise that Rafters Bistro is to undergo a renovation later this month which perhaps you will enjoy on a return trip to Scotland in the future?

Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Lovely location, about 10min from Aberfoyle on the Loch side, very nice view, we got upgraded. Breakfast was lovely, well cooked and a good selection of continental foods, pool and facilities were great, pool is a decent size, much bigger than your average hotel pools. Lots to do in the area if you like being outdoors, not so much if you don't, or weather is poor!

Half the hotel has been updated, our room hadn't been, but room was nice.

Room Tip: Try and get a loch view, although nice views all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks Campbell B B for your positive comments that you have given our hotel and Vital Leisure and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. I know the team always strive to create a haven for our guests to relax in. so I have passed on your kind remarks to team who are as always happy to have been of service to you.

Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenzie
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We have been coming here for the last 5 years. This year we returned with our 10 month old wee girl. Met with lovely friendly staff, Matthew and a very helpful young lady (sorry never got your name) Organised early dinner for us on the Tuesday night . Bliss. All staff waiting staff went above and beyond. We would like to thank them for that.
The hotel has undergone a refab. and is looking great. On wednesday the pool wasn't open but we some how managed to fill our time in the rain. Finishing off a lovely day with Eton mess.
We will certainly be returning for another 5 years at least. And a massive well done to the Forest Hill staff for making a new family welcome. (As some like to put baby in the corner!!) Just wish this had been the MacDonald Hotel we had got married in .

Room Tip: Just ask and they will help if they can room 02 is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairilenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks for your positive comments Mairilenzie. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you again enjoyed your stay with us at Forest Hills and noticed our refurbishment work. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff , particulalry Matthew and we are happy to have been of service to you.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Just returned from two night break on b&b basis. Found family room very good and srrvice from staff also very good, facilities such as pool and gym also very good and although did not use spa it looks excellent, grounds of hotel stunning, kids facilities were not running due to lack of interest! But what we did see they look like they could do with a refurb. Also the area at rafters could do with a bit of investment very tired and old fashioned. Drinks extremely expensive £12 for two drinks, which encouraged us to drink in our room, overall we had a lovely stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thomsonfamily186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you thomsonfamily18 for your positive review following your stay with us here at Forest Hills.
We are constantly looking at ways to improve the faciltiies we provide and are currently reviewing what we offer with a view to upgrading some of our childrens facilties. You will also be pelased to know that Rafters Bar will be refurbished later this month.

Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestonpans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed for one night and we thought it was great. Our room was a good size an clean. Only negative was that there wasn't much hot water for the shower. Dinner an breakfast it was lovely an staff were great as well. Only negative was that it £3.15 for a diet coke at dinner which I thought was really expensive. Booked a hot stone massage an it was fab an very relaxing. The girl who gave me the massage was lovely. I can't remember her name. I could have stayed longer for it. Just what I really needed. Thank you. We would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Many thanks AHA2008 for your positive comments that you have given our hotel and spa and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.
Many other people have enjoyed the Hot Stones treatment and it is actually one of my favourites too!
I was sorry to hear abotu the lack of hot water in your shower but canadvise that we have just had our boliers serviced which hoepfully will have resolved this issue.
Kind regards
Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We booked this through a timeshare points system, so our out-of-pocket for the unit itself was next to nothing. However, knowing what others paid made us glad we had the points!

The unit we had (in the apartments) was spacious and very comfortable, with a separate suite upstairs. Unfortunately, after a power outage the first full day we were there, we couldn't get the wifi to work at all, and the TV was spotty. Not a big deal, we didn't travel to be connected 24/7, but it was a frustration.

No complaints about the service (maitre'd at the restaurant was astounding), and the views were beautiful. Glad we had rented a car, though, as there was no way to get there otherwise, as we had spent some time in Edinburgh prior and were heading on to Glasgow afterwards. Definitely need your own vehicle to get out and see the sights!

If you have the opportunity, I'd recommend spending a few £ to spend some time at the farm next door, just soaking up the history. Did a round of skeet shooting and then had a very good historical tour with Gregor at Ledard Farms - was well worth every penny, and then some!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for your comments Mel Z. Delivering the highest standards of service and comfort for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
Unfortunately due to our rural location we do on occasion experience power failures which can result in our servers and TVs being knocked off, my apologies for any inconvenience this caused you.
Kind regards

Morag Stark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
394 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing