We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just had a very pleasant stay here. Booked on an "Itison" deal and very good value for money. We had a classic room, although on the ground floor there was still views across the loch. The room itself was comfortable and spacious with a flat screen tv. Sauna and swimming pool were great. At night we had dinner in rafters bar/bistro ( garden restaurant being refurbished which we knew before we went) . Dinner was good but drinks are a tad expensive.
Just a couple of small niggles, the corridor leading to our room was a little tatty possibly It's next on the list for decorating, and also our shower was a little temperamental going hot/cold at times.
We had room service for breakfast which arrived exactly at the time we ordered it for. The breakfast itself was freshly cooked, hot and tasty.
All the staff were very nice and made us feel so welcome.
Would not hesitate to return and perhaps try the garden restaurant when it re-opens.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarlettGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review following your recnet stay with us, Forest Hills is an ideal place for a getaway to recharge the batteries during the busy festive season.
Our redecoration work is now almost complete and you are quite correct the link corridor to the bedroom wing will be redecorated early in January 2014.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    723
    666
    375
    178
    92
See reviews for
571
1,082
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Location is outstanding and Go Country is across the road which means you can go canoeing or do water sports if you want to. Hotel room was nice, a bit lacking in the expected toiletries you normally expect in large hotels. Breakfast was a bit lacking in areas too, with half a sausage and hard rasher of bacon. A mushroom we thought was black pudding. The spa experience was thoroughly disappointing. We go to spas often. Would not recommend for spa. Jacuzzi is on 4 mins at a time. Hardly enough time to relax! Sauna does not go hotter than 70 degrees, even when reported to staff who said it cannot exceed this limit. Didn't break a sweat. Pool was fairly chilly and the area was not very inviting to sit around and relax and was cold. There are no cups for water, only a shared drinking well. I'd only go back if the deal was really cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the loch upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazelmct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments regarding the leisure facilities I appreciate your feedback. It is always our intention to make our spa a relaxing and pleasant experience for our guests. We work hard to ensure that these experiences are both positive and therapeutic.
With regards to the jacuzzi we have now been able to rectify the issue to ensure that it remains on for a longer period.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We just returned from a lovely two night break here and we had a great time. The view is breath taking and the hotel was really nice.
I think the best point of the hotel was the staff - they were so accommodating and couldn't do enough to help. There was a wide-scale power cut in the area on the last morning of our stay but that didn't seem to phase the friendly staff, who still managed to put on a lovely breakfast spread without electricity! Very impressed with the staff and how much they cared about the customers.
I'm sure we will be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DHappy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive comments We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Forest Hills I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
We appreciated all the guests understanding during the power cut and hope it did not detract from your final morning with us.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

My wife booked a 2 night breaks through secret escapes for our wedding anniversary. We had been years before and were pleasantly surprised by the recent refurbishment. Staff at reception were lovely, very friendly. Dinner was really good, drinks a bit pricey. Breakfast was good too on both days. It's a shame that pool/spa are in a separate building next to the hotel. We'll definitely go back whenever there are special offers for dinner, b&b.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 013757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
I am delighted that your wife chose Forest Hills for your anniversary stay and that you enjoyed your time with us.
The refurbishment has certainly made a huge difference to the hotel which now offers the highest standards of decor and comfort.
Thank you also for your kind comments regarding the staff which I have now shared with them.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just home from a fantastic weekend away with a group of friends who regularly meet up at different hotels in Scotland - we all agreed we'd return here in a heartbeat.

I don't believe we were in a renovated section of the hotel [?]. Our rooms were classic style, comfortable and generously spacious, well equipped with all the standard amenities, nothing remarkable, though fresh milk available for in room teas and coffees was much appreciated. We slept late both mornings, which we blamed on the absence of noise from other rooms / housekeeping - which generally provides your morning alarm in hotels.

Nice spa across the carpark. Lovely and warm, with a spacious pool, sauna, and turkish, and a temperamental cosy wee jacuzzi. Hotel apparently full yet so much to do here we pretty much had this to ourselves.

We ate in both the Rafters bar and the main restaurant. Yes the bar is ready for its refurb, its verging on wellworn holiday park clubhouse - but fingers crossed it retains its lovely convivial atmosphere. Food here was fine [several dishes wee bit heavy on the oil] - service was excellent. On the second night we ate in the main restaurant. Between us we ate our way through the menu and everything got a thumbs up. The deserts were exceptional and our apologies, chef, for sending so many back half eaten - they were delicious but it just didn't seem the thang to request doggy bags here!

Wine was good and reasonably priced - other bar prices OUCH!

The two standout aspects of this place are the setting, which is just jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Lingering over coffees in the breakfast room we oggled over the picture perfect Christmas card - a frosted panorama glistening in the winter sun with a wispy mist winding ooer the loch, and upwards beyond to a majestic snow capped Ben Lomond. So good I came over all poetic. I'm guessing its equally gorgeous in each season's distinctive dressing]

... and the staff - attentive, warm, extremely accommodating and with great banter - all made for great hospitality here.

Room Tip: Make a point of requesting a loch view. Triple rooms are generous but at the back & no gown o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitCadbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review following your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills. I have apssed on your lovely comments about the staff to them and David our chef was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food in both our restaurants.
The redecoration of both the bistro and the hotel restaurant is now complete and has been enjoyed over this festive period by many of our guests.
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Really nice Hotel. Staff really friendly. Our room is enormous, never had a hotel room so big. Lovely and clean, double aspect, super king bed
, very quiet and usual Macdonalds bathroom but there's nothing wrong with that. The meal we had last night was one of the best I've had, perfect. Best of all the water temp at the pool was not Baltic as some pools are. One complaint! The road from Aberfoyle to Hotel badly needs some attention, pot holes were atrocious and road surface very bad.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Miacis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your positive comments . We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Forest Hills. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
We are hopeful after speaking to the local council that some of the road will be repaired in Spring 2014!
Kind regards
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fifield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a lovely night here,staff very friendly and service very good.Very nice clean room and food was fantastic.Unfortunatley left my kindle behind but it was returned to me asap so thank you very much,would definatley stay again...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel after your recent visit. Providing high levels of service along with delicious meals is our primary aim. I am also pleased that we managed to locate your Kindle and that it was safely returned to you!
Kind rgerads
Morag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
414 reviews
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing