We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived at 3pm and our room was ready and clean and comfortable. TheWe loved the feature room with balcony and beautiful Loch Ard and Ben Lomond views. Dressing gown and slippers for wearing over to the leisure centre was a nice touch. We booked DB&B so didn't notice garden restaurant prices. As we were given a £10 voucher to spend on drinks we paid only a pound extra for 2 glasses of wine with dinner. The food was delicious, everything cooked perfectly. The serving staff were very polite and attentive too. We checked out the Bistro bar & restaurant but weren't so taken with that. The leisure centre was lovely and clean and very quiet and my husband enjoyed his spa treatment very much. We especially loved the location, it's a very comfortable hotel and we will most definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elliec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful comments.We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
If you are planning on visiting us again , please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent one night on a groupon deal and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our room was large and comfortable and clean. The Bistro was closed so we ate in the lounge area having decided that the dinner cost was a bit prohibitive and £29 for two courses BUT £3.50 for sides which we thought excessive.Food was perfectly OK in lounge.
Staff were extremely personable and welcoming and we rate the break highly

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rals2nM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a positive review follwing your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted that you found the faciltiies to be clean and welcoming and you enjoyed the food in the lounge.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from this hotel after a couple of days cycling in the Trossachs. We booked a deal for two nights with breakfast included but decided to upgrade to a executive king size with loch side view (well worth it). We checked out reviews before coming and the room we were allocated had some bad reviews "Too Noisy" was the main complaint. Thankfully it was peaceful & clean with a beautiful view of the Grounds and Loch ard and to the right of our window a view of Ben Lomond still with a little snow on top.

We also booked the meal packages for both nights and ate in the garden restaurant both nights. The staff were pleasant and attentive and the food was delicious although after a second day of cycling up the dukes pass i could have eaten six courses. My only complaint would be the drink prices, quite steep.

The spa facilities nice and the staff helpful and friendly, we left our bikes in their care for the couple of days we stayed.

Overall, nothing much to complain about i'll reserve the moaning until i go back to work ;) Would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caz943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive comments . We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest hills Hotel and Spa. Also well done on the Dukes Pass cycle, its a steep climb!
I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
I hope the return to work did not cuase too much stress but you know where to come when you need another break.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed with another two couples. We arrived after 4pm and were given our room keys, when we went up to the room we found dirty, wet towels on the bathroom floor and the bed unmade...I contacted reception straight away and we were asked to "give them half an hour to sort it". We went back downstairs and made ourselves known to reception but were not even offered so much as a cup of tea while we waited for our room to be ready.

Went to the Bistro for a pre-booked meal with our friends, there were 6 of us in total and a table was booked for 6 people. We were shown to a table with five seats and place settings - I pointed out there were six of us and the waitress was really cheeky and unhelpful. Food was okay, nothing spectacular. Service was slow, and we were then rushed by the staff who said they needed our table for another party (despite the restaurant being half empty).

Hotel staff were not much better, drinks service was slow, we had to chase the waiting staff several times to get our drinks.

Breakfast was okay but to be honest we were just wanting to leave, we wouldn't go back at all and it spoiled a much-looked-forward to weekend with friends.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annabanana2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your comments following your recnet stay with us and I am very sorry to learn of your poor experiences. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case.
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly by emailing me at gm.foresthills@macdonald-hotels.co.uk , I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve the outstanding issue for you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself and my fiancé went to the hotel on a 2 night stay deal, with breakfast, bottle of wine, late check out, £15 towards a spa treatment and 20% off in the Garden Restaurant. Smashing deal!
First impressions were great. Hotel and grounds were lovely and well maintained. The general area was beautiful, with the hotel on Loch Ard. As we arrived 2 hours early we popped down to the Go Country activities centre on the hotels doorstep and ended up kayaking for an hour (£18 for 2 people for an hour) over to a wee island and back again (we were the only people on the island the time we were on it and we seen a mother duck sitting on her wee eggs) On checking in, we were delighted with the reception/bar/restaurant area. It’s been refurbished to a high standard and looks lovely, very modern/classy. Service at check in was faultless as well. We were slightly disappointed when the refurbished part ended and the older/dated style became very apparent, including our room… that being said, our room was spacious and clean, on the 2nd floor overlooking the car park. This might not have pleased most, however look past the car park and there are beautiful views of the hills/trees etc. Our room had a great big bed, lounge area with couch and chair at the window. The bathroom had a speaker that hooked up to the living room tv, so could listen to music whilst in the shower etc. My only very slight complaint would be the pillows….. they were really feathery and found it difficult to sleep with them.

We booked dinner in Rafters and although it was cheaper than the Garden Restaurant it was still relatively pricey, drinks too in the hotel and Rafters were pricey (I paid £10.35 for a large white wine and lemonade) but I suppose these prices are typical hotel prices. The food within Rafters was lovely, we both enjoyed our meals – (beer battered haddock was the best I’ve ever had and the chips are amazing!) For a cheaper night, there is always the option to pop into Aberfoyle and get a chippy!
We done mountain biking through Go Country (£10 each person for 3 hrs) and thoroughly enjoyed this, even though we did get lost in the hills and what felt like the clouds at one point! But this was all part of the adventure for us. Swimming/sauna/Jacuzzi etc were spot on. Rafters bar and the swimming/gym area are still within the grounds but are not adjoining to the hotel. This is not an issue.
We were lucky enough to attend the hotel the week after the Easter holidays, so in general everywhere was quiet and calm, including the pool area.
The breakfast was plentiful with the usual continental choice and of course the cooked breakfast option, with tea and coffee included. The patio area, where we had a couple of drinks on a beautiful day, was lovely too. We loved the giant chess/draughts and the wee waterfall on the grounds.
We honestly couldn’t fault our stay, everything was great. Thank you very much, we hope to be back!!

Room Tip: Based on trip advisor reviews I specifically asked not to be allocated a ground floor room. a Loch v...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshVin09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for posting such a wonderful review follwing your stay with us here at Forest Hills.
It is great to learn that you enjoyed so many of the activities, the kayaking is great fun and you certainly earned those delicious fish and chips!
If you are visitng again, we can provide a different pillow, please let us know when you check in and reception will arrange it for you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had a great night away at the forest hills. Very friendly helpfull staff. Managed to get a loch side view room with a balcony which was lovley. All the leisure facilities are very good, pool, sauna,steam room, gym. Food was also very nice although i felt the deserts weren't upto scratch.
Only downside was we felt the alcohol was a bit pricey but it didnt detract from us having a great time

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your lovely review follwing your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills, the balocny rooms are lovely and particulalry so when the sun is shining!
I have apssed on your comments to chef regarding the desserts and you will be pleases to know that a new menu is coming soon and includes delicious puddings such as treacle & ginger tart, banana & rum tarte tatin and many more!
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

First up I should say this review is heavily influenced by the fact that from Good Friday through to Easter Monday the weather at Kinlochard was spectacular. We were sunbathing every day. The hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking Loch Ard with the snow covered Ben Lomond to the west. The hotel facilities were most satisfactory. Our room - I had pushed out the boat and opted for a suite - was well appointed, had a spectacular view and was very comfortable. Breakfast was in the main restaurant and was most enjoyable. On night one we dined in Rafters the on site leisure area and diner/bar and the service was good, the food most acceptable and not too pricey. Night two we dined in nearby Aberfoyle at a local pub. Again well priced. The final night we dined in the hotel restaurant. The food was fine, the ambience pleasant but I couldn't help feeling at £35 per head without any drinks it was a bit steep. Overall we had such an enjoyable time that I can say in all confidence we will go back. We never got to take a kayak out on Loch Ard and there was other exploring we never got to do.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank IanMac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive comments that you have given Forest Hills Hotel & Spa and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The weather over the easter weekend was glorious which certainly enhances the wonderful location we have here.
I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range: £77 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing