We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We spent two nights here for a family wedding and were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived. We had a lovely room with a fantastic view of the loch. The food was excellent - the best black pudding I have ever eaten! The happy couple had a fabulous time too!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Angel8930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for the lovely review following your visit to Forest Hills to join a wedding celebration, we do have a beautiful location with the stunning grounds and loch views.
I was pleased to read that you also enjoyed the food and in particular our black pudding which comes from McLeod & Mcleod in Stornoway.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,103 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago for an overnight spa break. The girls in the spa are great, very friendly and knowledgeable and the relaxation room is just that, I could've fallen asleep in there! Our bedroom (107) was nice, lovely views and had everything you needed. My only complaint was that the bed was extremely soft, this can't really be a complaint though as everyone has different preferences when it comes to mattresses. We were told on checking in that there was a wedding on and if we preferred we could have dinner in the bistro rather than the Garden Restaurant but we opted for the Garden Restaurant. Dinner was lovely, no complaints here. Cocktails were good too although the bar apparently doesn't stock Chambord so no French Martinis for us. At almost £20 for 2 cocktails though it's almost on par with City Centre prices. Breakfast again was good no complaints, plenty of continental choices and the full Scottish was very tasty but a full Scottish definitely needs a tattie scone! Would definitely love to come back again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ladyshazzles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given our hotel and spa and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us. I know the team always strive to create a haven for our guests to indulge and relax in. so I have passed on your kind remarks to team who are as always happy to have been of service to you.
I have also spoken with our Bar Manager and he is making arrangements to order some Chambord so hopefully when you visit again we will be able to offer a delcious French Martini!
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This was our second stay here and we had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a beautiful setting and the DBB deal with champagne and chocolates was fantastic. We went out on both days to walk Ben Ledi and Ben Lomond and returned to find champagne on ice waiting for us . The evening meal and breakfast was excellent the leisure facilities were good and the staff very helpful will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisam445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for posting such a positive review following your most recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa.
The walks in the local area are superb and well done on your two big climbs, you certainly deserved to enjoy the champagne after that!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night. Gorgeous setting. Beautiful bedroom with big comfy bed. Excellent facilities on site. Food was amazing, both breakfast and dinner. Staff very attentive. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay with us here at Macdonald Forest Hills & Hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed the food and I have passed your kind comments onto the team.
Hopefully the next time you come to visit you will be able to stay with us for longer, we have a great 3 nights for the price of 2 at the moment!
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. the setting is outstanding and the grounds are well maintained with breath taking views over Loch Ard. On the first evening we ate in the hotel and the food was excellent, the staff were helpful and friendly which made for a most relaxed atmosphere. On the second evening we opted for the Bistro and again the food was first class. Our room was excellent and immaculately clean. This is an excellent hotel where the staff strive to put everyone at their ease. all in all an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view of Loch Ard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RonboKirriemuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a lovely review follwing your recent stay with us here at Forest hills Hotel & Spa.
I am delighted that you found all aspects of your stay to be excelent and in particular your kind remarks about the team, this is somethign we have worked very hard to achieve. I have passedyour review onto them and they are delighted to have been of service to you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely setting , big comfy bed, spa ,dinner , bed and breakfast, good food, champagne and chocolates. All for £99 for the two of us . What's not to like? £25 to take the dog!!!!!! Nothing provided for dog what so ever . No bowl, food or even a blanket for her to lie on. I pointed this out to the Hotel receptionist and was told that they only recently started taking dogs. (Last year) She agreed that in proportion to the cost of two people the dog charge was a bit high!!!!!! A BIT!!! We would not go back asI feel that they are giving the impression that they do not want the dog there. It is in a beautiful part of the country and we walked for miles why would anyone go and not take their dog with them. We went on to Oban and stayed in the Regent Hotel where they also provided nothing for her but they charged us nothing for her stay.

Room Tip: Loch View is stunning at any level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for psoting such a postive review following your visit to Forest Hills to celbrate your Ruby Wedding, congratulations from us all.
I am sorry if you felt the charge to bring your dog was disproportionate to the price you apid to stay, this was a very special offer for a limited time.
The charge is in place purely to cover any additional cleaning that the bedrooms may require following occupancy by a dog as sadly not all owners are considerate to our furnishings! Please be assured that dogs are very welcome at the hotel and we will consider the practicalities of providing bowls and bedding as these would require laundering and washing after each use.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I had a lovely stay at this hotel. We arrived at 3pm and our room was ready and clean and comfortable. TheWe loved the feature room with balcony and beautiful Loch Ard and Ben Lomond views. Dressing gown and slippers for wearing over to the leisure centre was a nice touch. We booked DB&B so didn't notice garden restaurant prices. As we were given a £10 voucher to spend on drinks we paid only a pound extra for 2 glasses of wine with dinner. The food was delicious, everything cooked perfectly. The serving staff were very polite and attentive too. We checked out the Bistro bar & restaurant but weren't so taken with that. The leisure centre was lovely and clean and very quiet and my husband enjoyed his spa treatment very much. We especially loved the location, it's a very comfortable hotel and we will most definitely be back.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Elliec98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your wonderful comments.We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality and so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
If you are planning on visiting us again , please do not hesitate to contact me and I would be more than happy to assist you.
Kind regards
Morag

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
11 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
444 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range: £56 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing