We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through a great deal online for 2 nights mid week.
Double room was massive, and although could do with a little facelift it's evident most of the hotel has been refurbed recently.
Facilities are excellent with a lovely steam room, jacuzzi, pool and sauna which was mostly quiet when we were there. Really lovely.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food in both the main restaurant and bar menu was excellent.


Hotel is right on the loch with beautiful scenery, just a few mins walk is a lovely little tea shop and plenty cycling and waking routes around too.

Would definitely return as we had such a lovely break.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A-Travels-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,088)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,380 - 1,386 of 2,088 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you fancy waiting a half hour ploughing your way through pressing various telephone keys in order to reach a person then have a go at booking something. I tried. Got shoved from pillar to post and finally lost the will to give them my money. Apparently the rooms in this 'resort' have no air-conditioning and this time of year there's a problem with flying, biting bugs coming through the open windows. That alone should drop this 'resort' down to 2 stars. The inability to take a reservation? One star.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Love this hotel, we've returned again, just for the night, and once again we were not disappointed. The staff are all so helpful and welcoming. The rooms are charming and the views excellent. The restaurant was as good as ever,and all the meals delicious. Hopefully we'll be back soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJandNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This an hotel plus timeshare resort,the self catering accommodation is luxurious with everything you would expect in first class resort .There are two restaurants ,one is formal the other is a bistro,food was very good in both.
The Resort is set in floral gardens overlooking Loch Ard,it is situated 4 miles from Aberfoyle which has a supermarket and a multitude of small shops.
Opposite the resort entrance is a water sport center sited on the shores of the Loch

Room Tip: ask fot a room with Loch views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Having just returned from a brilliant one night stay, I cannot praise this hotel highly enough, not only for the excellent service they deliver but also the high calibre members of their team. Thank you, and I will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank theadmiral46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed for 5 days in one of the lodges early May. Our party consisted of 5 adults and the lodge slept 6 albeit one of the beds was a pull down type in the lounge/diner which was a bit of a hassle. Have stayed here several times before and this is the first time we found dirty dishes in the cupboards and a spider's web in the main bedroom that Spiderman would have been proud of. The location is fantastic with great views and plenty of walking and cycling tracks close bye. The wet leisure facilities are good albeit the jacuzzi was not working whilst there. If you like the outdoors this is a great place to stay. "Rafters" which is the bar/lounge/dining area is lacking in atmosphere. We did not dine on site so are unable to comment on the food. Two of our party tried spa treatments which, were not cheap, but very good. All in all a very good short break.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed on a three night dinner, bed and breakfast deal and was not disappointed. Was in room 210 which is a family classic. Spacious, comfortable with views over car park and hills. Breakfast is served to order so can be slow at busy times, but much rather wait that little extra for a freshly cooked hot breakfast than from a hotplate. Dinners were very good and the service excellent. Very attentive without being over bearing. Leisure facilities very good, the steamiest stream room i've ever been in and lovely pool. Although it was just my wife and I, its a great place for young families with plenty to do. If you've checked out photos on this site your see wonderful gardens and they are even better in real life. I'm a great believer in you get what you pay for and although this is not the cheapest hotel, it is a very good hotel and a marvelous base to explore the stunning area. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simochas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
7.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range: £81 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing