We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Treat of a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Treat of a holiday”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

What a brilliant holiday. The appartments and grounds are beautifully maintained. The views of Loch Ard from every lodge (balconies offer an opportunity to sit and realise how lucky we were) are just magnificent, rain or shine!
The food and service in the Bistro was excellent. The Maitre'd was very attentive and made sure everyone had what they needed - very professional.
The sunday lunch in the Hotel was disappointing. We had imagined better! Small amount of roast chicken, mashed potatoes and vegetables - no trimmings! Sad.
The Farm next door - Ledard Farm - was brilliant. We shot clay pigeons with the help of Gregor - a wonderful, patient host. We also spent an afternoon with Gregor for a history of the area and history of the farm (intertwined). Gregor is an enthusiastic, knowledgeable host and made us feel very welcome.
No visit to this area could miss The Wee Blether tea rooms. What a treat! We had lunch and coffee and a wonderful breakfast on different days. Lovely!

All in all a real treat of a holiday - even the weather was kind to us.

Room Tip: An appartment on the first floor gives better views. We stayed in Oak 2 and we were satified.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ESSINGTONBEAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    704
    650
    362
    169
    87
See reviews for
549
1,050
20
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2014

we met the dm at forest hills and found everything to b excelent from reception to kitchen staff very well managed and wonderfull staff had a great week found all parts of hotel superior by far well done to the manager and her team will be back as soon as possable

Room Tip: we had two rooms at different parts of hotel but were both very good maybe rooms could be updated a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here with my son who's 10 to do some cycling. Managed to get a very good B &B rate so very happy with that and we were given a room on the 2nd floor as I requested. Unfortunately had to ask to be moved - see below.
Not sure how to rate the place constructively other than pointing out the good and not so good points.
Good:
Beautiful location, stunning scenery
Really helpful friendly staff
Good leisure centre with a nice pool (but go after 6 to avoid kids playtime)
Great breakfast - really good selection of cold and hot. We ate enough to enable us to get by on a snack until dinner
Room service menu - not bad prices, good tasty food and cooked in the main hotel kitchen NOT the bistro kitchen (see below)
Great area for walking, cycling, water sports or sightseeing

Not So Good
At first our room seemed fine. It was a nice size and had a nice view but the walls were paper thin and we could hear the people next doors conversation almost word for word and the man had a cough that would wake the dead!! We were then moved with no fuss the following day and were actually upgraded to a room in a corner so it worked out ok but be aware if in the middle of a floor you might be disturbed if a light sleeper.
The Bistro - just not very good! The menu is what you'd expect and so are the prices but really not worth it. I had pizza one night and asked if they had a pizza oven. Was told yes but the pizza I got was rock hard and I'm sure was a frozen pizza that would shame Tescos! Also, the bistro is overlooking the swimming pool, which might sound nice but means it has a strong smell of chlorine in the air! I also saw a fair amount of food uneaten and left by other diners on the 2nd night. On the 3rd night we were reluctantly planning to eat in the bistro as we'd cycled 18 miles that day and I didn't fancy driving anywhere else but was told the bistro was very busy with large parties as it was Scottish night. I said we'd eat in the bar area but the man said it wasn't that, it was the fact the bistro had a very small kitchen. On that basis we then had room service which worked out cheaper! The curry I had was excellent and my son ate all his burger and fries and the food is cooked in the main kitchen. The hotel does offer fine dining in the main restaurant and the menu looked lovely but I'm not forking out £40 each for the 2 of us 3 nights in a row!
Overall:
A really nice stay. The hotel has been upgraded in many places but doesn't look shabby anywhere I could see. Staff were very helpful, especially Sophie who gave me the good rate and arranged the room move.
Would I stay again? Definitely but I'd ask for the same corner room and I'd probably eat out or have room service if taking the kids.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricky P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Superb!! What an enjoyable stay we had at the Hotel last week 26/6 in room 5. The room was immaculate and the public areas fresh with a modern Scottish feel. Special thanks to Robert and Angela in the Restaurant and Cheryl in the Spa, nothing was too much for them, focussed on the guest experience! Even the GM Morag took the time to speak with us during breakfast, taking a keen interest in our stay and our plans during the day, recommending local attractions. Thank you to the whole team for a very memorable experience!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamiltonYOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We just returned from the Forest Hills Resort. We stayed in the timeshare on the property. Beautiful setting on the loch but units in desperate need of updating. No washer/dryer in individual units. Instead we had a huge sauna that went unused. Didn't appreciate having to lug laundry 1/2 mile uphill and then pay 1.2 pounds to wash and same to dry. Units need screens on windows to keep out the thousands of mosquitoes that breed on the lake. Ceiling fans or air conditioning would have been appreciated since there was little airflow with windows closed. Beds were hard and worn out. Living room furniture also broken down and uncomfortable. There were over 8 fire doors in unit that constantly auto closed. All we did was open doors, sweat and scratch our bug bites. Further insulted at check out that we were charged an additional electricity fee! Very disappointed in property and with RCI. Units could be great with some updating and TLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDaniel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here through a great deal online for 2 nights mid week.
Double room was massive, and although could do with a little facelift it's evident most of the hotel has been refurbed recently.
Facilities are excellent with a lovely steam room, jacuzzi, pool and sauna which was mostly quiet when we were there. Really lovely.

Staff were very helpful and friendly, and the food in both the main restaurant and bar menu was excellent.


Hotel is right on the loch with beautiful scenery, just a few mins walk is a lovely little tea shop and plenty cycling and waking routes around too.

Would definitely return as we had such a lovely break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A-Travels-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

If you fancy waiting a half hour ploughing your way through pressing various telephone keys in order to reach a person then have a go at booking something. I tried. Got shoved from pillar to post and finally lost the will to give them my money. Apparently the rooms in this 'resort' have no air-conditioning and this time of year there's a problem with flying, biting bugs coming through the open windows. That alone should drop this 'resort' down to 2 stars. The inability to take a reservation? One star.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank m b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
7.5 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing