We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel, beautiful location, 5 out of 5 overall”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel, beautiful location, 5 out of 5 overall”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Was here for a hen weekend and had a fantastic time. Hotel was stunning with gorgeous views, the location is ideal for anyone wanting to get away from everything and relax.

We had included in our price room, lunch, dinner, drinks, a session at go ape in aberfoyle nearby and breakfast the next morning.

Lunch was perfect and staff were very attentive. Dinner was exactly the same and we had our own section private. The staff did everything they could to make us feel special. We were also treated to an additional brunch of rolls and bacon after our go ape session which was a nice touch by the staff.

Rooms were lovely extra commodities were included which were a complimentary bottle of water, dressing gowns and slippers. We had a room with a loch view as well which I would advise you ask for otherwise you will have a view of the car park (we were in room 204).

I didn't go to the spa but it was lovely had a clean pool and the bride and bridesmaids on our trip had a complimentary treatment and told us it was lovely.

Cannot fault this place at all want to come back with my partner for a romantic getaway.

Absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Hannah

Thank you for the wonderful review following your visit as part of a Crazy/Lazy Hen Party. I do hope you enjoyed your visit to Go Ape on the treetop activity course, I am sure you were ready for the brunch when you returned to the hotel.
When you are planning the romantic getaway with your partner please do not hesitate to contact me and I would happy to assist you.
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    659
    369
    174
    91
See reviews for
560
1,072
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowdenbeath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A super hotel that provided lots of little extras which made the stay even more memorable. The room was huge and had a super king sized bed with lovely views. The food was lovely. We had a bit of a mix up at breakfast but given a complementary room service the next morning to make up for this. The entertainment added to our stay? Staff were really helpful and friendly. I have been raving about my stay ever since and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in room 4 it was perfect?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Linda

Thank you for posting such a positive review following your recent visit to Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. The Executive king bedrooms such as Room 004 are a great size and offer fantastic views of the loch and gardens.
Please accept my apologies for the confusion with your first breakfast but Iam delighted to hear that the team were proactive and resolved the matter for you.
I look forward to welcoming you and hopefuly your friends back in the near future.
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Well, the hotel itself is beautiful. It looked like the main areas had been recently refurbished - more so because the corridor to the bedrooms had not!! The location is stunning. The views over to the loch from the terrace and the garden restaurant and front-facing rooms is fantastic.

The breakfast was really nice and the service overall in the restaurants and bars was very good. We had a couple of spa treatments as part of the package and they were excellent.

So, things to do better... The garden restaurant is very good but the menu is a straight 3-course take it or leave it affair. At £39 per person it is not cheap and the food, although decent, is not of the standard I'd be looking for at this price. Not only that, about half the options for eating carried a supplement. I think the hotel are playing on their remoteness here and lack of competition. The bistro is the other option and was OK.

Also, a pet hate of mine - I ordered a half lager shandy and was charged an additional 80p for the lemonade that was used to replace the lager that was not poured. Extremely stingy and unnecessary.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a front-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review following your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa. The hotel has recently undergone a £1.3 million refurbishment which included some of our bedrooms as well as the public areas you mentioned.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the spa treatments you had and I have passed on your kind comments to all the team regarding the service.
We are currently looking at the menu structure and content for the Garden Restaurant with a view to enhancing the menu to offer more choice.
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

The room is beautiful and is in a lovely location, hard to fault. We looked out onto the loch and it was stunning.

The spa is great, however expect a lot of (crying/screaming/overall annoying) children at the pool. Don't expect to relax much at the pool however the treatments we received inside the spa were top class and very relaxing. Maybe slightly overpriced.

Now onto the negative points, there are two restaurants. We chose to eat in The Rafters Bistro. The supervisor was very accommodating and helpful. But the food and drinks is over priced and the portions are very small. Do not order a pizza - it would not fill a four year old! It is very salty and not edible after eating 2 of the 4 slices! The scampi was not up to much either. There is also not very much choice on the menu. The drinks are expensive, works out at about £7 for a vodka mixer!!! Also there is a 75 pence mark up in the cocktail bar on these already expensive prices.

Although the location is beautiful and hard to fault, it is very isolated and four miles from other civilisation (and less expensive restaurants!)

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for your comments following your recent stay with us here at Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, I am delighed that you enjoyed the surroundings and in particular the spa. I am sorry to hear that you did not have enjoyable experience whilst dining in Rafters Bistro and I have passed your feedback onto David Robertson our Head Chef. With regard to pricing, Rafters is designed to offer a more flexible dining faiclity and we feel that the prices offer good value for money and are comparable to other similar local restaurants with the added convenience of not having to drive to dine
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arrived at this hotel with both of our grandchildren . The check in was really smooth. Went to room the room was amazing both the children were really impressed with it . The room was tastefully decorated really clean . The room service was first class. Went to dinner in restaurant short menu . Was disappointed with the service . Felt it was over priced Food was average though .used the swimming poon which was great really and clean . Room Really quiet at night time. Went to breakfast, really disappointed service could be greatly improved. Felt the restaurant for both evening meal and breakfast could be really improved . Breakfast was average .the view from the front of the hotel was amazing

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review particulalry in relation to the checkin, bedroom quality and surroundings here at Forest Hills.
I was sorry to learn that there wer aspects of your dining experiecne which left you disappointed. Delivering the highest standards of service for all our guests is at the heart of our core values and I would always welcome your feedback where you feel that this has not been the case. We have recently appointed a new restaurant manager Zsolt Boker and I am confident he will address any issues as required.
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We are regular guests of Forest Hills. Now our 6th year of visiting that includes on average 4 short stays per year I am happy to share my recent experience.

The hotel has gone through significant renovation and looks great, the interior public areas and classic rooms have been upgraded. My only constant gripe was the lack of variety on the Garden Restaurant menu therefore we were excited to see that steps had been taken to improve the variety of dishes on offer to diners.

There has never been an issue with the quality of the food at Forest Hills and now with a little more variety its easier to stay for four nights and not have any repetition of evening meal.

The staff are excellent and while there has been some turnover and we met some new faces during our most recent stay, the experienced team of Zsolt, Roman and Raffa remain and ensured service was top notch and the new members of the team also offered good service.

Thanks to Zsolt, Sam, Roman, Sophie and Morven for taking good care of us!

I hope that the leisure facilities can now receive a little TLC, the games hall has been out of action for many months due to a flooding issue. We were told that new drains have been installed in order to rectify the issue and the games hall with repairs to the floor and four working lights may be in service for our return in September.

The tennis court surface could also use a makeover but was playable. We were at least able to make up for no badminton with a poor attempt at playing tennis outside.

There is also lawn croquet which is a great addition to the outdoor chess and draughts boards so we had good fun playing croquet for the first time!

You will not be disappointed with your stay at Forest Hills - it has a special place in our hearts and we can't wait top return again in September.

Room Tip: Most rooms are good following upgrades
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Guest
Many thanks for the wonderful comments that you have given Forest Hills Hotel & Spa following your most recent stay with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed it. I have passed on your kind remarks to all of the staff and we are happy to have been of service to you.
I am also pleased to advise that although we have not resolved the external flooding issue to the games hall, we have managed to implement some temporary measures and last night the facility was back in action for Fit Club!
We look forward to seeing you in September
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at this hotel and were mesmorised by the setting, the scenery was second to none. We were excited at the prospect of staying at this resort but found the initial reception not very forthcoming and I had to ask for things that should have been given. The guy who advised us was excellent but unfortunately I don't know what his name was, only that he wore glasses and was very knowledgable and courteous. We ate at the Bistro and we both felt the meals left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragStark, General Manager at Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Dear Joyce
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us at ForestHills Hotel & Spa. We have always had a passionate approach to hospitality, striving to deliver luxury and personal care and I would always welcome comments and suggestions moving forward from guests who do not feel we have succeeded in this.
If you would like to contact me at the hotel directly , I would be more than happy to discuss your comments further and to resolve the outstanding issue for you.
Kind regards
Morag
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinlochard
13.1 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
8.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
19.1 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
406 reviews
24.4 mi away
Ardeonaig Hotel
Ardeonaig Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardeonaig
406 reviews
8.8 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Address: Aberfoyle, Kinlochard, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3TL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Kinlochard
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kinlochard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the breath-taking scenery of The Trossachs, Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa provides a luxurious getaway right on your doorstep. Our hotel in Aberfoyle is located just 20 minutes from Stirling, 40 minutes from Glasgow and less than an hour from Edinburgh, offering the perfect retreat from city life. Indulge in award-winning dining in the Garden Restaurant, or enjoy a delicious afternoon tea on the terrace while watching over Lake Ard. Our sumptuous spa is just the thing if you need to relax, with a fabulous selection of Elemis treatments on offer or, for the more adventurous, why not take to the surrounding hills or venture out on to the lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel Aberfoyle
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel And Resort
Macdonald Forest Hills Aberfoyle
Forest Hills Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing