We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Rob Roy Hotel(Aberfoyle)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inversnaid Hotel(Inversnaid)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,157)
Filter reviews
2,157 results
Traveller rating
769
697
402
186
103
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
769
697
402
186
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsforest hillsgarden restaurantleisure facilitiessteam roombeautiful locationrafters bistromain restaurantafternoon teaevening mealexecutive roomboth nightsself cateringwaiting staffbottle of wineloch viewrelaxing stayamazing views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,019 - 2,024 of 2,157 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2009

I have used this hotel as a business location for (20+) more than once in the last year and have to say that we have been provided with nothing but excellent service from start to finish. We always received great hospitality at the hotel and on our last visit 22-23 oct, this has got even better. A new Manager (Michael) has taken up appointment and he will be a welcome addition. The Area Manager (James) is so approachable and nothing is too much bother, he has a wealth of experience and this is very noticeable when you deal with him. The hotel has also recently appointed an Operations Manager (Shaun), a more friendly nature you will not find. The reception staff are second to none and always ensure that we are well catered for. We have built up a good relationships with the staff and Tracey and Nicky always provide a first rate service. Kerry Mclean is our first port of call and she takes care of our bookings from start to finish. I have to say from the first initial contact with Kerry over 2 yrs ago to present day, her service has been second to none, efficient, friendly and again nothing too much bother and I would not say that by nature I am the easiest of guests!

Rooms that we have been allocated have always been of a high standard. Food also has also been good although recently it has got even better with the introduction of small taster dishes at lunch time - an excellent idea to give everyone a taste of different dishes.

Log fire to sit around for a few drinks after dinner - who could want anything else, real home from home with great service from bar staff (must mention Sean) who took the time to pass the day with you and make you feel special.

Location is awsome - breathtaking!

A lot of money has been spent on brand new leisure centre that is a real bonus to the hotel and a maintenance programme is ongoing with the hotel.

With the continued excellent service from existing staff and the addition of the new staff and new ideas, this hotel is one to look out for.

I certainly would not hesitate to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelastirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

We have just returned from an 8 night tour of Scotland and our first stop was here for 2 nights for my 40th Birthday, Wedding Anniversary and bringing our best friends to see beautiful Scotland from London for the first time.
I would like to say that having stayed in hotels all over Scotland for the last 15 years, twice yearly both with children and without, THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST HOTEL WE HAVE EVER STAYED IN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I am extremely fussy and although like to be pampered and spoilt, HATE to feel like you aren't welcome because of your accent or appearance, class etc!!!!
ALL the staff at the Forest Hills, from the cleaners,waiters,reception and management made ALL OF US feel like we were special. The food in Rafters was wonderful, the service fantastic and the breakfast was hot, presented well and the cold buffet had lots of choice and was all fresh and the bread was delicious. All I can say is try it for yourself and you won't be disappointed. The setting is breathtaking.
Whilst travelling home, I asked my friends what they had enjoyed most about Scotland and without any hesitation they both said the FOREST HILLS and then Rob Roy's grave and the Falls at Killin.
I would like to point out that this was not the most expensive hotel we stayed in for our trip, but by far the best, so much so we booked again before returning home!!!!!!! Thank you Nicky,Elna,Shaun and James for making our holiday so perfect, we can't wait until next time.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abirag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Just returned from a weekend at the Forest Hills Hotel. We booked with Tesco vouchers. We had to upgrade to an Executive room as there were no standard rooms left. Our room was extremely spacious with lovely views over the gardens towards the loch, so no issues there. When we checked in however, we were met with a very unenthusiastic individual who just seemed to 'reel off' all the 'blurb' without giving us a chance to ask any questions. She was totally uninterested in what she was saying and made us feel like we were causing her some sort of inconvenience.
The staff generally were ok, although if you asked for anything out of the ordinary, could be a problem. Also some came across as slightly robotic in the way they spoke to you and some of them clearly had not had proper training.
As far as dining goes, it would be nice to be able to eat in the dining room but have the option of having one course rather than having to spend £24 on 2 courses, or more for three. Drinks also very expensive. The Rafters Bistro is fine but more geared towards families. Food average.
If we hadn't used vouchers for this stay, we would certainly have felt it was over-priced for what it was.
Quad biking in the nearby outdoor centre was great fun and the staff excellent and extremely helpful and enthusiastic.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KazandEz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2009

Thanks Forest Hills for making our families stay really really special. Our anniversary celebration was absolutely fantastic thanks to a great bunch of really professional staff who worked so hard to make it a memorable occasion for all of us. Dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and the flambe was something I haven't seen for years. The location is stunning and the leisure and spa an excellent facility. Enjoyed a great Scottish breakfast with incredible helpings, the black pudding out of this world and the best hotel porridge ever.

I have to say that if you're looking for somewhere to get away to then you should really consider taking a trip out to Forest Hills. The hotel is a few miles or so from Aberfoyle in the Trossachs and with the location being second to none you really will find yourself spoiled not only by the staff and leisure facilities but by the tranquility of the surroundings. We noticed that the hotel also boasts a marina on the loch which our children were very enthusiastic about exploring.

Thanks again to everyone at Forest Hills.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norry51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

This is a first for me....i've never had to do a negative review before, but then i've never stayed at a MacDonalds hotel before! I always thought that they were just the big faceless hotels where people get married, or companies hold their Christmas parties.
The location is beautiful, but that owes nothing whats so ever to the hotel chain and everything to mother nature.You could plonk a Travel lodge on this site and you'd at least get much better value for money. The original old building looks ok, but sadly it has been flanked on either side by what looks like concrete blocks of flats that wouldn't look out of place on an inner city housing estate.
The back of the building looks really tired and shabby, it gets a little better when you go inside.....but then we were shown to our room. Had i paid £50 B&B i could have accepted the size, decor, furniture, ancient TV etc, but not the horrible stains all over the carpet. But having paid £150 we were somewhat horrified. Thankfully, unlike other reviewers i didn't lift up the sheets and look at the mattress, i fear i would have slept in the car had i done so.
We were there with family, who had an equally nasty room, so went down to reception to ask if this was seriously the standard that you got for your money. Not sure if she could understand us, or just didn't really care, but she just said that we would have got a better room, but there was a wedding on and they were fully booked. No disrespect to the wedding party, but that wasn't my concern. Had they said there was a wedding on we would have gone else where any way. To add to the insult our room was right above the function suit, so we got the added bonus of the noise from that all night.
We had booked to eat in the hotel, which had we not already had a drink we would have cancelled and drove out somewhere. Service in the restaurant i have to say was very plesent, and they were more than helpful when i asked it they did any other veggie options. Still ,£26 for a couple of slices of melon and a bowl of pasta seems a bit steep to me. I know they say you pay for the location and ambiance etc, but the 'ambiance' was somewhat spoilt by the annoying music blaring out every few minutes as people were coming and going from the function room.
We stayed in the restaurant quite late (no point in going to bed with that noise..), and when we came to ask for the bill we were told that the restaurant staff had gone and it had been transfered to reception, where the total bill had been spilt in half and charged to our rooms. A brave move really as the stay have been booked with vouchers, and they didn't have a credit card print, or signature from any of us.
Breakfast was ok for me as i only had toast. The rest of the pary had the cooked breakfast, but all commented that they would have been more impressed had the food been from the other well know McDonalds chain.
Then came check out. After pretty much ignoring our comments about them charging the meal bill to our rooms without our permission, she than asked if everying had been alright with our stay!!! She just listened to our list of complaints with a completely blank face. I can only assume that she was well used to this sort of thing. No apology or anything. Asked to speak to the Manager, who amazingly enough wasn't avaliable. .
I can't beleive that in this day and age, where when someone has a bad experience it can be on the internet for all to see within minutes, that hotels of this supposed standard don't take notice and act upon it.
I feel so strongly about this that i will be writing to the hotel manager, their customer services people, and the Scottish Tourist Board who saw fit to award them 4 stars, I bet they didn't get to see these rooms! I totally agree with other reviewers, their website is very, very misleading.
If you're looking at this website because you're thinking of going here, i don't think i need to state the obvious, If you're thinking of having your wedding here, imagine how embarassed you would be at one, if not more of your guests having this experience.
Given the location of this hotel it could be stunning, i just don't understand how they can get it so wrong, and not even seem to care.
Shame on you MacDonald Hotels for continuing to knowingly rip people off...
I can safely say i'll never set foot in a MacDonalds hotel again, and will advise any family and friends to do the same.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Morag4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews