We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zenzele River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed for 5 nights at the Zenzele River Lodge in February 2014. During most of our time we were the only guests. Only one other night there was another couple with their two grandchildren.

We absolutely loved the chalet. It is spacious and clean. The bed is very comfortable. Outdoor shower was awesome, sunbeds on our beautiful deck. We had breakfast and dinner at the lodge every day. The breakfast was good, however the dinner was great! We had a choice of 4-5 entree's and mains every day, the desert always was a surprise. We especially loved the Kudu carpaccio. The portions were huge, way too much for us and at the end the bill was a lot less then we expected.

What we did not realize is how isolated the place is. The nearest 'tourist' town with some decent restaurants and shops is about an hour and 15 minutes drive. Luckily the food was great, however during the day we sometimes felt a bit limited in our options. During our stay we took out the quads one day, we visited the De Wildt Cheetah center and eventually we went to Bela Bela and found a lot of other things to do. We wish we would have gone to that place earlier in our stay.

Lastly - the staff. We were greeted by (what we think was) the receptionist because the lodge manager was away for a few days. This was not a problem however we had some mixed feelings about her. She complained to us about being so busy and tired a couple of times (while we were the only guests there..) and she could not inform us about any attractions and things to do in the area. We had to get all of our information from the internet while the wifi was very unstable, actually mainly not working at all. The rest of the staff was awesome! Very friendly and attentive, never complaining, a lot more service minded. So we did not quite understand why the (white) receptionist would great us while the rest of the (black) staff was so much more friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    24
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
62
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This place is a hidden gem. Do yourself a favour and go! The manager and her team are awesome. Kashin took great care of us,and Thabangs cooking was out of this world!! They think of everything. A place to go when you dont want to be found. Peaceful bliss -Kudzai

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_travel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groblersdal, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had the most wonderful experience with our wedding at Zenzele. The staff were always friendly and extremely helpful. They made my wedding a day to remember. Everyone had a lot of complements for the wonderful food.....they have an excellent chef! You will never have regrets when you choose Zenzele for your wedding of even just for a weekend.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the chalets on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LieslSnyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

A fabulous setting, beautiful and unique lodges and charming, warm, welcoming and informative staff and Owner/ host.
We attended a weekend birthday celebration here and enjoyed every minute- a magical and stunning place.
As a vegetarian I ate extremely well and nothing was too much trouble for the Chef and is team; his surprises proved to be excellent!
Our lodge was quiet with a good quality quirky interior and well equipped. A minor suggestion would be to have a little more storage space- larger wardrobe or drawers. A high standard of service and attention to detail throughout - we highly recommend this oasis and will hopefully return.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Definitely a place to go back to. Décor in the rooms are beautiful and more than expected. It is good to know that a lovely, relaxing place like this is so close to a very busy lifestyle. We enjoyed the hospitality and the good food.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This is a quality bush retreat only an hour from the city. The standard of the facilities is first class, the luxury chalets are just that and beautifully appointed. The staff are courteous and attentive and ably led by the GM Petro. the food is excellent. The valley itself is a delight with both early morning and afternoon light lighting up the kloof. There is actually lots to do in the area with the Dinokeng big five reserve just back over the border in Gauteng and Mystic Monkey sanctuary next door. There are also game drives to be enjoyed in their own grounds. If you want a bush retreat with some game viewing thrown in and you don't want to drive for hours getting there, then Zenzele is a highly recommended alternative.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Icarusnova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I will recommend this lodge if you need to get away from the demands of city life and cel phones. It is so relaxing to lie on your deck overlooking the river and listening to the bird life. Make sure that you pack your camera with a zoom lens and a bird book. The service is great and our chalet (no 3) had a great deck and a boma. Some of the chalets have better views of the river than others but we were lucky enough to get no 3. The newly opened spa was a great experience and Petro, the manager of the lodge, is very friendly and so accommodating. It was a fantastic weekend.

Room Tip: Some of the chalets have great views of the river. Check before you book. Chalet 5,4 and 3 have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Must-see-the-world1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rust de Winter
13.3 mi away
Mongena Game Lodge
Mongena Game Lodge
#1 of 15 in Hammanskraal
139 reviews
19.0 mi away
Zebra Country Lodge
Zebra Country Lodge
#1 of 12 in Cullinan
121 reviews
12.4 mi away
Foreva Wild
Foreva Wild
#2 of 15 in Hammanskraal
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Dzata Game Lodge
Dzata Game Lodge
#52 of 101 in Pretoria
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thaba Pitsi Private Nature Reserve
0.0 mi away
Ngata Safari Lodge
Ngata Safari Lodge
#11 of 15 in Hammanskraal
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenzele River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenzele River Lodge

Property: Zenzele River Lodge
Address: Pienaars River Road, Rust de Winter 0142, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Rust de Winter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Rust de Winter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenzele River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zenzele River Lodge offers you an experience in the wild African bushveldt, the Luxurious way. You can go to sleep with the cries of the wilderness on your door step and wake up with the harmonious sounds of the fish eagles hunting in the open skies. Be blown away by the astonishing sun rises and sun sets that colour the sky, using the pallet of mother earth whilst sharing stories around the boma fires. You become one with the elements of nature and in the same breath Zenzele River Lodge will give you an experience that will stir your soul. Zenzele River Lodge (320ha) near Pretoria is the most aesthetically pleasing game ranch and lodge, situated in the breathtaking and malaria-free bushveld region - Rust de Winter near Pretoria, South Africa. It is less than an hour's drive form Pretoria, situated in the Limpopo province. Zenzele River Lodge game drives offer the most spectacular view of different kinds of wildlife, both fauna and flora. We invite you to luxuriate in the peace and come and soak up the tranquility, warmth and excellent service, that the exquisite Zenzele River Lodge has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Zenzele River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing