We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent relaxing Stay”
Review of Le Fleuray

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Fleuray
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cangey
Certificate of Excellence
Amboise
1 review
“Excellent relaxing Stay”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Short stay en-route to holiday end. Excellent facility, rooms, food and beautiful location, except for distance from nearest large town (Amboise). Also expected to have some facility in room for making tea/coffee (kettle?). Well worth trip and would return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    152
    37
    16
    3
See reviews for
145
284
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed here in July 2012 for 5 nights. It was our first time to the Loire and we were. Not disappointed. The setting looks onto high corn fields with poppies growing in abundance and the hotel grounds are well kept, but also offer a meadow feel to some of the grounds which is really pretty.

The hotel is very well sign posted and we found it well. We arrived at 1pm but were told that we couldn't check in until 3 pm as it " was clearly posted on the Internet" ... That was us told! The one lunch that we did have was lovely and fresh and the wine choice is magnificent. The evening meals however were very " samey" in that they did not change the menu at all although occasionally offered specials. The staff were quite accommodating in the fact I ate fish but not meat and allowed me to pick and choose for different menu's. The food was well presented, but after 5 days of the same menu I felt bored of it all. The menus never really changed and I felt that I was forced to choose the same thing over and over again.

The first night we arrived we had no hot water. No one had bothered to tell us that here was a problem but instead let us find out for ourselves.. The Owner said that he was aware and it was due to a fault where someone was fixing it.

The hotel advertise picnic meals for around 14 Euro's each and I thought it would be nice to treat my Husband to a romantic surprise for his Birthday and sit down by the river and ordered a bottle of champagne. I collected the picnic after breakfast , but it was only as I got to the car to check, they had forgotten to include it inside.. And had completely forgotten about it.

We found the service slow and in ordering an aperatif before dinner would sometimes take up to 20 minutes from placing you order to receiving your drink.

The Breakfasts at the hotel were absolutely magnificent and I couldn't fault them at all. We found the hotel quite expensive but it was a lovely romantic get away. The only thing I would say is hat he rooms get incredibly hot at night and with no air con, it maybe worth taking a fan..To conclude, . A lovely hotel with friendly staff .. An incredible setting.. I just wished the Menu had been more varied and the service a bit quicker.. Would we go back? Possibly...

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StClementsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jordanln, Gérant at Le Fleuray, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Many thanks for your kind and positive comments , we are aware that service can be a little slow in high season and apologise for any inconvenience . The restaurant always has a menu of the day through high season (although this would have either fish or meat) . We understand that after a few evenings any restaurant would be a little repetitive, hence we have exciting new dining possibilities planed for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
omagh
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We spent two nights here and had a very relaxing experience. Our room was a good size and the bed comfy. We were out in the annex beside the pool. There were a few families using the pool but they weren't intrusive. The grounds are a delight and the hotel itself has a lot of charm. The restaurant is overlooking the countryside and has a terrace where you can eat breakfast if you wish. Breakfasts were good with the usual choice of fruit croissants yoghurt etc.
The meals were delicious although my chicken on the first night was a little dry.
The only niggle I would have is that the hotel is on the expensive side for what it is. But that seems to be the norm in France.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelloveromagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Despite the official titles, and web site announcing great hotel and "gastronomique" restaurant, we were completely disappointed by our experience recently. Room is well situated, no noise, but micro tv ! Can't see anything from our bed !
Swiming pool was a charm thing, heated as weather was only 20 °c, and lovely tennis, where you are provided with playing balls etc
Restaurant: compulsory half-pension during summer season, but we were really unhappy as we had very long waiting hours between each course ! And even some of the dish on the menu was horrifyingly bad .... And when the waitor asked why we did not finish, we were simply told " have you really read the menu ?" !!!
We can tell you that this is not worth half of what you should get in a true Gastronomique restaurant ! Well , we understand may be it is meant for british customers, willing to pay hi money for the owners (also british) ?
Honestly, please reduce this minimum of 3 hours dinner time, and be more "listening" to your customers and you'll definitely be a great adress.... Until then, i Would Not Recommend this adresss ! :-(

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Roystand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Le Fleuray, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your bedroom and some of our facilities, televisions are flat screen 56 cm ,free wifi is also available.Usually our restaurant is popular( see Trip Advisor winner travelers choice for families) but if there is a problem which can happen anywhere, if brought to the attention of the supervisor ( rather than new service staff brought in at short notice to replace staff off sick so being trained and thus slower service for which we are really sorry) the person in charge will do whatever is needed to solve the problem.
Our only aim is to provide a popular restaurant for all guests and value for money, menu prices have recently been reduced and start at only 25 Euros for an adult ( 25, 27, 31, 41) with a la carte items from 10 Euros , 15 Euros and so on, not gastronomique and costly.We appreciate your remarks and always listen to our very valued clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth,Dorset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed here for a one night stop over as a bit of a treat but was disappointed. Stayed in the ground floor rooms away from the main building. Initial impressions were good. Nice location and lovely hotel. However, it's about 10 miles from the nearest town so we decided to look at the menu. It was about €30 each and I think breakfast was €18 each. I don't mind paying a little extra whilst on holiday but that was far too much. This meant travelling into town for a far cheaper option but wasn't really the idea after a long drive, although Amboise is beautiful.
We paid €148 for the one night, hoping for something a little different. Unfortunately we were woken by children running outside out room at 2300 and noise from the adjacent room. The walls weren't thick enough to block out minor noise.
To summarise. A lovely location but too dear and in my opinion not worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoojayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan-L-N, Manager at Le Fleuray, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Many thanks for your generous opening comments.
Our new Colonial restaurant with its new chef and team since December 2012 is generally proving very popular and in fact many prices were reduced for 2013. An excellent full menu at 29 Euros is completely in line with other good restaurants in the area.
A full adult buffet breakfast with a wide choice is 15 Euros ( less for children) ,it is of course possible to take a smaller breakfast.
Your room rate was peak season for a superior room ( bedroom prices start at 88 Euros).Usually the hotel is known as a haven of peace nestling in the quiet countryside,we are truly sorry if at the start of the summer school vacation period other guests affected this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great hotel and excellent size rooms. Outdoor facilities very good. The restaurant food is very good and worth the expense. We had two little kids and found ordering one kids meal between two sufficient and obviously better value for money. one annoying thing is that for a hotel with good facilities it did not provide tea and coffee facilities in the room. We had to order a cup of tea at 4.50 euros per cup....very expensive. I mentioned this to the owner and they said things are a bit tight to provide kettles. Surely they could have a few on hand to share if requested. The 15 euros we spent on three cups of tea could surely buy a kettle????

Room Tip: The family room that fit 6 upstairs was very good. Had two bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoemKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Le Fleuray, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thanks for your generous comments, really appreciated. Prices for tea are per teapot not cup so as there are at least 2 cups per teapot the price per cup would be half that quoted.
Kettles are available on free loan to any room on request at reception.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I can not imagine a more beautiful place to stay in the Amboise area. The property has a relaxing atmosphere that is lovely. The landscape is pretty. There are rose gardens and a little pond with chirping frogs. The fields across the way insure a quiet place and soft breeze. The hotel itself is romantic. The cuisine is first class. We had an amazing breakfast, with many different types of breads, cheeses, preserves, honey, meats, and juices. I had the best time here, and would move in if I could. You will need to rent a car, if you are touring the castles. They are all very close to one another, but not close enough to bike. The cost to rent a car was about 45 euro a day. Taxi fares at night are really quite high, so it is best to arrange for a car. The trains from Paris will take to you straight to Amboise, where you can either get a taxi or pick up your already arranged car. The towns are tiny, so keep in mind that things are quite slow there. You have a wonderful time staying in the hotel and meeting the owners.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emily s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cangey
22.1 mi away
Domaine de la Tortiniere
23.7 mi away
Chateau d'Artigny
Chateau d'Artigny
#2 of 4 in Montbazon
488 reviews
7.1 mi away
Chateau de Pray
Chateau de Pray
#1 of 1 in Charge
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Relais du Silence Domaine des Thomeaux
13.5 mi away
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
Auberge du Bon Laboureur
#1 of 5 in Chenonceaux
852 reviews
4.8 mi away
Domaine des Hauts de Loire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Fleuray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Fleuray

Property: Le Fleuray
Address: 74 le Plessis Fleuray, 37530 Cangey, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Loire Valley > Cangey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cangey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Fleuray 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a lovingly restored country house hotel originally built in the 1800's, situated close to the river Loire, the finest castles, historic towns such as Amboise, Blois, Tours, famous vineyards, and a wealth of cultural, leisure and sporting attractions. Every charming bedroom is named after a flower, with views over large gardens and peaceful countryside. All have private bathrooms, queen size or twin beds, flat screen televisions, many have terraces. Large rooms and connecting suites are ideal for families and we welcome children. Internet access, PC and games also available. Heated swimming pool (in season), tennis court, jacuzzi/hot tub, body massages and treatments, children's play area, free bikes, golf. Our chef proposes inventive seasonally changing menus that have made the delightful restaurant and garden terrace, one of the most popular in the area. Also well selected local wines, vegetarian menus and a wide variety for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Le Fleuray reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Le Fleuray Hotel Cangey
Le Fleuray Hotel
Hotel Le Fleuray
Le Fleuray France/Cangey, Loire Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing