We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpino Hotel Ristorante
Ranked #8 of 10 Barga B&B and Inns
1 review
“ACE!”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Alpinos is ledgendry. The food is mence and the service was great. Me and my cousin really enjoyed it, we love Alpinos! Its in a brilliant spot and its nice to walk to. I love Barga, its soooooo cool!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeydude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    19
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
18
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

As a frequent traveller to Tuscany , Barga is a favourite place to explore the area. The Alpino is a central hotel with a very busy bar /cafe underneath which is a popular meeting place for locals.
The hotel itself is traditional and comfortable. Our room on the second floor overlooked the pedestrian area and gardens. The room is spacious , en-suite is modern and excellent .
There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms which is a shame , hair dryer available on request , tv and remote controlled skylights ! Plenty of hanging space etc and beds comfortable.
We spent 2 nights here , breakfast is continental , not sure which continent it is actually from as it consisted of a bread basket ( not fresh, more like square dry wafer) jam, a plate between 2 of us with 1x strawberry sliced into 3 , 3 cubes of pineapple, 3 slices of apple and 2 slices of kiwi & a pot of coffee. There was a choice of muesli or cornflakes and a glass of blood orange juice each.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but it did seem popular , there are a variety of good restaurants in the area .

Room Tip: Our room 22, is on the side of the hotel overlooking the piazza , there is a road running along side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsMillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The Alpine is a nice hotel. The room we had was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and everything was spotlessly clean. Our room overlooked the main street. I was a little disappointed when there never seemed to be anyone at the front desk to offer some directions... so it's not a fancy place. It's located a short walk from the best place for breakfast (Lucchesi's) and a 15 minute walk to fascinating, historic, "old Barga".

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Food is fantastic and service is great definitely well worth a visit if you are in the region.
Roberts and his staff couldn't be more helpful.
Great menu, great location.
While in Barga you must visit the walled area at the top of the town the views are spectacular.
Being Scottish I was not surprised that many fellow Scots visit this town and many have ancestors who originated from here including Paolo Nuttini the singer from Greenock.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthshireLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This was the only hotel we could find open when visiting Barga in early May. Initially we thought the hotel was closed as the cafe/bar at street level was shut up. However, when we entered the building we received a friendly welcome and were shown available rooms. The one we chose was on the top floor, decorated in rustic style, with new shower room -very clean and comfortable.

We don't usually eat in hotel restaurants as food can be over-priced and poor quality. This was a clear exception. We were extremely pleased with the excellent quality freshly cooked food - especially the pasta. The owner was attentive without being overbearing and made helpful suggestions.
So glad we stumbled across this hotel. The only drawback is it has no parking.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lazydaysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is wonderfully clean and comfortable. The room that I stayed in was for a single and generous on the top floor. The bathroom was very clean with top notch fixtures and very clean also. I ate several times at the onsite restaurant and was very impressed with the menu and prices.
I found this hotel on tripadvisor and it was an excellent choice as my budget was small. The proprietor gave personal service as I were one of his own and at the included giant breakfast even cooked eggs especially for me! I don't know about the other hotels in Barga but this one is at the roundabout in the very center of town and an easy walk to anywhere and back.

Room Tip: I can't advise as I only had a single, the children did play in the court in the evening but wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Best restaurant in Barga,no two ways about it. Traditional dining with a twist. Top quality ingredients, including yhe olivr oil many restaurants often skimp on, home made pasta with succulent sauces-try the tagliolini al pesto di pidtacchi- well prepared main courses and an awe-inspiring wine list. If in doubt Roberto will be happy to recommend little known wines from smaller vineyards at more than reasonable prices
Don't miss their crostini Toscani, really to dir for. I've been going for years and never bern didappointed. If you enjoy the differencr between a San Daniele and a Parma prosciutto or a Chianti Rufina and a Chianti putto this is the place for you. Excellent value for money

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barga
0.6 mi away
La Vignola
La Vignola
#1 of 1 in Barga
3 reviews
1.3 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,087 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Moorings Hotel
Villa Moorings Hotel
#2 of 10 in Barga
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergola
Hotel La Pergola
#5 of 10 in Barga
95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Gherardi
Villa Gherardi
#2 of 14 in Barga
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acchiappasogni Art Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpino Hotel Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpino Hotel Ristorante

Property: Alpino Hotel Ristorante
Address: Via Giovanni Pascoli 41, 55051, Barga, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Barga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Barga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpino Hotel Ristorante 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alpino Hotel is situated in the centre of Barga. The hotel was opened by the Castelvecchi family at the end of 18th century, who still own and manage it today. The owners pride themselves on their friendliness and hospitality - you are treated as a guest rather than a client, and the atmosphere is intended to be more that of a home rather than a hotel.Now completely refurbished throughout, it offers comfortable and modern accommodation. Seven double bedrooms with A.C. - TV all en-suite.Two Studios, en-suite with cooking facilities, A.C. - TVContinental Breakfast service.Lift to all floors. Restourant/Wine Bar: a welcoming veranda and diningroom with air conditioning. Wireless internet access is available in all our bedrooms.o further the intimate feel, each bedroom is distinctively and charmingly furnished. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Alpino Hotel Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpino Hotel Ristorante Barga, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing