We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Taverna in Crete!”
Review of Spyros Taverna

Spyros Taverna
Ranked #1 of 53 Restaurants in Kato Gouves
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Best Taverna in Crete!”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

A family run Taverna which serves fantastic Greek food at prices which are extremely fair. The Hosts (Husband and Wife) are very welcoming, sociable and provide a great service. You will enjoy this dining experience with lively entertainment provided by Spiros, who makes a point of getting to know his customers. Try it once and you will for sure return again and again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
174 Thank Nigel-J_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    870
    81
    21
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Best Traditional Tavern in Crete”
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Perfect and very delicous food and raki, spyros is One of a Kind Host as well as an ideal Entertainer. The fish is very fresh, caught on the very Same day. The prices are very fair. You will have a great time there. Inside and outside places awailable. One of the.cleanest toilets in greece. Enjoy your stay!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
178 Thank NikoKalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Greece!!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Eating here is a MUST! Fantastic food, lovely man, great service and very welcoming to families. Nothing was too much trouble and spiros bent over backwards to make sure we had a great experience. An oppurtunity to mix with the locals. A truly amazing place :)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
180 Thank jessica p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tawton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Broad Bean puree”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We called into this Taverna following a vist to the nearby magnificent Skotini Cave. We selected it from the other adjacent Tavernas because of the pleasing decor and the ambience was oozing out onto the pavement. Spiros is energised and engaging and interested in his clientele. Wonderful complimentary olives and bread which we had to rein back on so as not to spoil our appetites. I had an astonishingly good Broad bean puree - an authentic Cretan dish followed by chicken Souvlaki. Spiros also provides rooms to rent so for a different holiday in a pretty village not far from Iraklion it is well worth considering. Efkharisto poli!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
189 Thank harebrained
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“amazing”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

we have just been on holiday to gouves i found spiros taverna on u tube and was determined we where going to visit i booked a table and spiros wife maria came to our hotel to pick us up what a lovely lady and then after spiros introducing us to everyone in the taverna the evening began we have never ever tasted food as good and the hospitality and generosity is unbelevable what a nite i wish i could tell the whole world what a beautiful taverna it is it was our first time in gouves and it wont be our last and we will defo be eating in spiros taverna again thankyou for a lovely nite and for making me and my family feel so welcome you are amazing spiros see you next year not so much raki next time though we had hangovers from hell the next morning ha ha

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
199 Thank gill009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spyros Taverna also viewed

Kato Gouves, Gouves
 

Been to Spyros Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing