We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and grounds but not for us”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beach Club Aphrodite
Ranked #11 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
durham
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“nice hotel and grounds but not for us”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

booked through a travel agent in october last year, was told it was a 4 star hotel right on the beach, was shown the pictures and was impressed by the rooms and hotel grounds. on arrival we were immediately impressed by the hotel reception which is huge open plan with lots of seating and of very high quality and the gardens are very well maintained. the owner is an elderly greek man who, within minutes of us checking in linked my arm and escorted me all around the hotel, gardens and pools to show us our way round which was really nice. then we went up to our room which is definitely not 4 star standard but we were expecting this because of the reviews we read but i have to say extremely clean all over. the room was very basic but functional and tv had one English news channel on. the beds were solid as a rock but actually did my bad back some good!! bathroom good standard and fresh towels and bedding changed daily. the restaurant is again lovely and clean and presented nicely overlooking the main pool area, you help yourself to drinks from machines which are average local taste. the food on the other hand was not as nice. i am the least fussy eater in my family and i found the food to be limited (our savior - pella restaurant round the corner reviewed separately) i would say the food was 3 star and repetitive and no children's menu which is a must for a family hotel. (maybe they put this on later on in the year?)
the beach over the road is tiny although there is a bigger beach further on up the road. this is a very quiet area made even quieter due to it being the beginning of the season so not a lot to do unless you go on the day trips which we couldnt do due to having to spend our spending money on eating out. there is a street of clothing, jewellery and ornament shops behind the hotel and a couple of supermarkets dotted around but we walked a mile or two in each direction of the coast and all there is are cafe/restaurants and a few pubs. that's it! basically if you like lazing around the pool all day this hotel is ok but wasnt for our family as it is quite a boring area. my fault for not researching more before i booked. lovely friendly people though, especially the reception lady, and the restaurant manager who go out of their way to help you if you need anything. there were lots of british people there so don't let other reviews of nasty russian's put you off! there was a mix of nationalities all of which were friendly. i would liked to have had all the facilities free as it is all inclusive hotel but they were not, 7 euros to play pool for an hour even when the hotel isn't busy is ridiculous and the spa or gym were not open also. take lots and lots of spending money if you dont want to get bored.

Room Tip: i had no problem with the room but if you did i'm sure the staff would be happy to help as they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    318
    211
    100
    69
See reviews for
236
472
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My wife and I are just back from this lovely hotel on 9/5/14. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Mr Giannis restaurant and bar manager was exceptional (nothing was too much trouble for him). There was a large variety of good food available daily. Plenty to drink (all inclusive). Anthony & Nicholas at the bar were also good fun and made the holiday enjoyable. Room was lovely with a sea view. Maid service daily. Mr Stavros at reception was very efficient and helpful. We will definitely be returning to this lovely hotel for a nice relaxing break. Mr Henderson, Glasgow.

Room Tip: Sea View rooms had sunshine all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

With a family of four (two girls - 14 and 11 years) we spend two great weeks at Aphrodite at the end of April this year. Our originally booked hotel hadn't opened for the season and we had to be relocated upon arrival. The staff at Aphrodite were very helpful and very understanding. We got allocated a fabulous family room with a fantastic view to the sea. The rooms are newly refurbished, clean, light and spacious. The bathrooms are clean and very well appointed - we were very pleased with the cleaning staff who changed the towels every day and cleaned very discreetly. The location is lovely for a stroll along the beach or for a short trive to Hersonissos and other local places of interest. Most amazing of all was the food - fresh, local produce every day (including fresh fish like snails and calimary), lamb, pork and chicken varieties cooked to traditional recepes, really nice chips and spagbol every night for more traditional tastes like my younger daughter's, and fresh pastries for desert. The service was excellent - the restaurant manager Mr Giannis was very efficient and lovely through and through! Special thanks to him, Eleni and the cook (I'm so sorry I didn't get her name!) - we felt well looked after and taken care of! For Easter the restaurant had special traditional bread (tsureki) and red painted eggs - wonderful! The bar has a great variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, including ouzo (my favourite with some fresh tzatziki for every meal!), local raki, beer and a lots of coctails. Antoni the barman is the heart of the party and makes a great sparkly coctail for winners of bingo and entertainment nights. There is a kids' club and entertainment in the pool area and the newly refurbished bar of the hotel, keeping all happy. The pools and the gardens are large and well maintained. Reception staff go out of their way to help - thank you, kiria Elena and her colleague for the travel and sightseeing tips! Special thanks to the owner himself, Kir Vasilis, who works alongside staff in the restaurant and the hotel and adds to the feel of a family-owned hotel. We already miss you all and hope to see you again very soon - have a good season! (Elena, Dimitri, Marina kai Alexandra xx)

Room Tip: The sea view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I visited this hotel with my boyfriend for my birthday in September 2013. On arrival the hotel looked beautiful and huge the biggest I've been to. I normally read reviews and after booking I read some nasty ones so was apprehensive but once arriving it looked lovely. Our room was clean and cleaned everyday with fresh towels so that was lovely. We went all inclusive and I found the food nice but my boyfriend was not too keen as he is a fussy eater. The all inclusive drinks were great we were getting drunk everyday and there was a wider selection than I thought there would be (lots of ouzo). The pools were lovely it was so nice to have such a variety and the beach was nice too although sun beds €5 per person so even if u stay only a few hours it's not really worth it. I know it's not the hotels fault but I found the thee guests very rude. Lots of Russians who stare and give dirty looks this was probably what made our holiday less enjoyable so just beware. The British people seem to stick together (there was only about 5 groups). Lots of extra charges I thought the gym would be free but it isn't which isn't specified. We didn't do any excursions as they are so expensive!! Like €100 for a day trip, the hotel is nice enough to stay and relax all day. At night we went to the club across the road which was brilliant we had great fun and the pub down the road is lovely such a nice atmosphere with lovely owners who made us feel right at home. The restaurants in the area are also lovely we found ourselves eating out a lot which added to the cost of or holiday but the food was worth it! Overall the hotel is beautiful just a few things I didn't like.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The family-run Aphrodite Beach Hotel in Crete in early 2013 was not ready for guests.

The advertised details on the website unavailable - no show cooking, unusable outdoor swimming pools until 23 April, just one bar (which ran out of some of the drinks listed) and the entertainment team didn't start until 23 April.

There was filthy water from the hot tap throughout the stay, and other guests also had filthy hot water from their shower!

Although the website claimed that it was fully refurbished, only one floor had undergone an upgrade with maintenance men around the hotel painting and decorating ready for their first influx of families on 10 May.

The facilities were not ready for the current guests and certainly were not as advertised. This was very disappointing.

Although the hotel told other guests who complained that "it is out of season", this was clearly nonsense and simply an excuse as the other hotels that we visited during the stay - including the Mitsis Rinela Beach Hotel - were extremely busy. Even the outdoor swimming pools were filled up during our stay, signs put up and very few staff. We asked to speak to the manager, but were told on a daily basis that "she's not in today".

AVOID and try a chain hotel! So recommend a Mitsis or Aquis resort instead!

Room Tip: As far away from the restaurant as possible and request a sea view but avoid a roadside or pool side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kato Gouves hotels

Nottingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Travelled in october 2013...this was the perfect place for a quiet end of season break,I travelled with my mum and younger brother! Well where to start...the location is spot on...right on the beach(if you walk left up the beachfront theres a lovely strech of sand and the water is gorgeous..10 euros 2beds full use of toilets and showers at hotel opposite) and right in the centre of the shops/bars and only a short walk to get the bus and venture out! The staff are absolutely fantastic,especially tony at the poolbar he makes everyone feel welcome and will look after you, and also Giannis who I think may of been the manager or part of management..usually overlooking the restaurant at meal times, he always made a effort to come over and see us and had a laugh and a joke, he was lovely! Our room was lovely and we had a fantastic sea and pool view! There is honestly not one bad thing I could say about the place, we are visiting again this october and can not wait! Thanks aphrodite for a fab holiday!!!!

Rated room service and spa below as I couldnt select n/a but cannot comment as we didnt use either.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Food lovely, all inclusive alcohol during the day-time was a bit limited however it was still strong and enjoyable. The all inclusive bar on the beach was amazing, was lovely to watch life go by with a great view of the ocean and sunset, at the same time as still being on the premises and not spending a penny.
Beach was small, but a cute and looked after cove. Short walk to bigger beach however it is covered in sunbeds which you have to buy.
The rocky walkway out into the ocean outside the hotel is the perfect romantic spot to watch the sun setting on the ocean.
The pools were lovely and well maintained, though we spent the majority of the holiday in the pool by the pool-bar, which unfortunately they did not actually serve from (just on the dry side).
Area was beautiful, loads of small bars and entertainment just on the hotel's doorstep if you fancy a change of scenery or a fancy cocktail. Hotel itself was lovely, rooms were nicely decorated and clean, just a shame about the mattresses which felt like you were sleeping on a slab of rock.
Staff all friendly, especially those at the reception who were always happy to help.
Would definitely recommend the water park, tonnes of slides and rides, was a great day out, the marina/aquarium also.
Good value for money, could have been a five star. Entertainment on a night wasn't amazing but OK, however plenty of activities through the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.8 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,875 reviews
94.2 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Kissamos
357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
Gouves Park Holiday Resort
#8 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Beach Club Aphrodite

Property: Beach Club Aphrodite
Address: Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 70014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#12 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Club Aphrodite 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beach Club Aphrodite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Club Aphrodite Hotel Gouves
Beach Hotel Gouves
Aphrodite Beach Club
Beach Hotel Aphrodite
Aphrodite Hotel Crete
Beach Club Aphrodite Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing