We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice little hotel”
Review of Despo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Despo
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A really nice little hotel”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Spent 11 days all inclusive at the Despo. Upon arriving we were shown to our rooms by the receptionist, which was on the lower ground (basement). Before opening the door we were informed that we could change the room the next day if we wanted, which set the alarm bells ringing.
On opening the door we were a bit shocked at first, at how compact, dark and basic the room was. Two single beds, table, wardrobe, and small bath room with a tiny shower. It does have a small refrigerator and a safe(€2 a day), but no air con. Obviously as we were in the basement there is no balcony but a patio area, which people passing can look down into your room so not much privacy. They are only two electric sockets one of which is used for the fridge, hot water is hit and miss no matter what time of day you get a shower, and the water always spills out onto the bathroom floor. With all this in mind we decided to keep the room, after all it was only for somewhere to sleep and dump the case, and listening to other who had moved the other rooms weren't much better, plus the basement rooms were a lot cooler so we didn't need or have to pay for the air con like the other had to.
The hotel is small but well kept and clean. The pool area is small, spaces and sunbeds are limited, so you'll be really lucky to get a space or bed after 9.30am. The staff are fantastic really friendly and helpful especially George the bar man, and Maria the receptionist. Yes there may be one grumpy one, but considering they all have to work 7 days a week, sometimes 16hrs a day they do a great job. If you want any information about the resort, local buses or hotel services they are more than happy to help.
The Hotel is located on the main road about 15mins walk to the beaches, which are all small, there is a larger beach but its quite a walk to get there, two sunbeds and a parasol cost €6 a day. The resort is small but spread over a large area, with the odd bar and restaurant dotted here and there, likewise for the shops, so be prepared to do some walking. Be aware as stated the hotel is by the side of the main road, with no proper crossing, wait for a decent gap in the traffic and "leg it".
The food was good no complaints, breakfast is a continental style (no full English), cold meats, cereals, bread for toast, cakes, and scramble eggs. Lunch and evening meals consists of, help yourself to as much salad as you want, a hot meals buffet which the chef serves you. Usually 3 meats, pork, chicken or fish, chips (fritters), paster and veg, dessert which is always sliced melon and a cake.
The all inclusive bar opens 11am till 10.30pm serving tea, coffee, soft drinks, local beer, ouzo, raki, brandy and wine. From 3pm ice cream cornets and snacks are served. Brand name and other drinks you pay for, shorts €3.50-€5.50, bottle beer €3, and cocktails €5.
Overall if your looking for a friendly, quiet, basic little hotel this is for you, if you want luxury and loads of entertainment and night life you'll be disappointed. Look forward to returning sometime soon.

Room Tip: No lifts, no air con in basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    197
    122
    69
    45
See reviews for
134
298
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A budget holiday so you get what you pay for!

The staff we found (apart from George the evening bar man) were absolutely lovely to us and very helpful. Also be aware that there are no diet drinks as part of the AI package which as diabetics we found very annoying. Therefore be prepared to buy you own and bottled water although this at least is sold at the hotel.

Rooms were basic and tired but clean with the minimum of housekeeping undertaken. Food we enjoyed and Michael the chef really tried his best to supply different dishes every day for lunch and dinner although breakfast was very basic.

Location and some of the 'plebs' who stayed really put us off returning but overall for a cheap break we can not grumble.

Room Tip: Superior room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Millytain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Just back and we had a great time. For the money we paid for the holiday we could not have asked for anything more. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were very clean, they had a fridge, air conditioning and safe (in a little need of a refurbishment, but comfortable and not inhabitable, I did not see one cockroach or unusual creepy craw lies), the food was lovely (and I can be a little picky), as part of the all inclusive you can get beer, wine, brandy, raki and ouzo at the bar, and they have pretty much anything else if you pay. Some reviews mentioned weddings, there was a wedding there the day We were leaving and there was a notice up asking guests if they wished to join in on the celebrations, I am little sad I missed it.

From the road (which can be a little nerve racking crossing) you can get the local bus if you wish to explore a little more of the island. From the beach, you can catch buses for boat trips. We went to Spinalonga, Knossos, Saint Nicholas, the aquarium and Heraklion - recommend them all. If you come out the hotel and walk straight, you will find the Rainbow bar at the top (which I recommend), and if you walk down you will find a street of bars, restaurants, shops and the beach and promenade and at the bottom. If you come out the hotel and turn right walk along for 10minutes and then walk down you will find a busier (and better street) for shopping. We went out for diner a few nights and we can recommend Mylos, Rainbow and the Island. And also the Bakery for a little treat.

Lastly if you were looking to save yourself the hassle of transfers, a taxi from the airport to the hotel will cost about 30 euro.

I would definitely go back, we had great holiday and were sad to leave, and again for the price we paid it had everything we could possibly want.

Room Tip: I did not see the "basement rooms", we were in 321 and it was fine. There are newer rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We visited Despo hotel for a 4 day break.
Myself and my 2 children age 11&13, a friend and her 2 children 14&15.

The hotel is only a short 15-20 mins drive from the airport,I was a little worried when driving through the town as it looked a bit rundown.
We had a late arrival, getting to the hotel approx 11.15pm.
We were given our room key and told the bar was open should we require a drink.
As the all inclusive finished at 10.30pm we had to pay for our drinks.
We dumped the cases in the room and went to the bar.

A lovely man called George was our bar tender, got chatting to us, asking where we were from etc.
I had took a picture of the greek sayings , hello, goodbye, thank you please etc and he was helping up pronounce them correctly.
We paid approx 12 euros for 4 soft drinks and 2 large beers.
Pool table near the bar area kept the kids entertained for a while.
We saw one cat during our stay. no cockroaches, but we were all bitten by mosquitoes and i saw quite a few bad bites on some people, so make sure you take sprays, bands and plug ins.

ROOM
Our room wasn't the biggest, a double bed with bunk beds, dresser,tv, fridge,chair,,quite a lot of wardrobe space and drawers compared to where i have stayed before. 2 doors to open the balcony,one with slats and saloon doors .It was VERY warm in the room , so every night we closed the outside doors and left the inside doors open to try and let in a bit of air but it didn't really work. I wasn't going to pay for aircon as we were only there as short time. I wouldn't like to go in the summer with no aircon, it will be a must.
Room cleaned every day, towels changed a couple of times a week. The shower is probably the worse thing in there as the water goes everywhere and the floor gets soaked, not the best shower n the world but we managed. If you had a shower quite late there wouldn't be much hot water left either.
I asked for another 2 pillows and the next day they were in our room :-)

POOL
Considering it was half term there wasn't many kids there, always found a sunbed , even tho it was for 6 of us together. never went down before 9am either. There are 2 pools, a kids shallower pool and a deeper pool. with sunbeds all around. There also was a grassed area where there were beds so you could get away from the pool or shade under the trees.
Was a bit chilly when you got in it, but you soon acclimatised. not like some I've been in and you can't stand it and have to get out because its too icy cold.
Lilos and inflatables allowed in the pool.
No outside toilet so you have to go into the reception and down some stairs inside the hotel

FOOD
Well what can i say, Breakfast was cereal ,fruit or toast (fine by us all)
Dinner and Evening meal, was always 3 main choices, with either chips or potatoes, i even tried some greek food because there wasn't much choice, wether i would have it again is another thing.
Yes I know I'm in another country and should try food, but I'm not one for change, ha, still tried stuff as couldn't find anything else
Desserts were usually fruit or one of their cakes.
One day my son ( who is a fussy eater) said he didn't like anything, so i asked the chef if he would make him some chips and he quite willingly obliged.
The chef and the waiters in the eating area are fantastic, remembering your football teams, drinks etc.
Yes you do have to sit at the same table during your visit but it makes it easier than trying to find a table.
On the day before we planned to go to the beach the following day, we ordered a lunch box to take with us. water, range, meat, cheese, bread, olives. Not bad actually, apparently you can order a breakfast box too.
From 3-6pm they had ice creams at the bar, which the kids absolutely loved, and so did we if I'm honest.
We had a late flight on our final day, check out was 12pm however we could still eat and drink within the hotel until we left , which i thought was fabulous, saying that as we didn't arrive until 11.15pm on our first night we should have been allowed to as we had missed the whole days food but i know a lot of places don't allow it

WIFI
There was FREE wifi in the reception and pool areas, which was absolutely fantastic and id say this is a huge plus to the hotel, as i could still keep in touch with people back home and check emails etc.

As well as the pool table (2 euros for 2 games) there was a free table tennis table ( we always take our own bats and balls anyway)
In the reception there is a table full of books and magazines that people leave who have finished with them.

You could buy bottles water from reception, 6 large bottles for 2 euros which i thought was a good price.

BEACH & SHOPPING
One day we went for a walk to find some souvenir shops, turn left out the hotel and walk for about 15 mins until you see a kiosk on the other side of the road.
If you turn down there you will find a lot of shops and bars.
Its also the way to the beach.
We had a lovely meal in the town and was reasonably priced. We walked back along the sea front, (passing 2 beaches with parasols and sun beds) and if you follow the road road it brings you out right facing the despo hotel, with the rainbow bar on your left.
If i had known this I would have gone this way in the first place.
There is a bakery down this road. ITS A MUST VISIT. open 8.30-3pm you can buy the biggest donuts I've ever seen, 1.40 euro and it was bigger than my head !!!!
The souvenirs were pretty cheap as well, so grabbed a few bargains here.
We got 6 beds and 3 umbrellas for 15 euros.
The water has some good waves and the kids loved them

DRINKS
The drinks at the hotel were coke, sprite, fanta orange, fanta lemon, beer, ouzo and some spirits, THERE IS NO VODKA unless you pay for it. Not much choice if you are a spirit drinker unless you pay for it.

ENTERTAINMENT
None what so ever, MAKE YOUR OWN :-)
Pool table, Table tennis table, small park for children

There is a pub over the road ( rainbow bar) which holds stuff on at night and football etc, however we never went in it.

DUNGEON/BASEMENT
We were fortunate to have a room on the first floor, you will notice the dungeons(as they are called) when you go to the toilets which are situated downstairs, they need more lighting down there hence the name the dungeons.
On our departure, we asked for a courtesy room and was given one of these rooms.
The room was slightly bigger than our rooms had been, and with them being underground quite cool, which i could have done with on the warmer night. No Balcony tho just a small window
Wouldn't have bothered me staying in one of these rooms at all.

Overall a lovely little hotel, but food could be improved with more choice
Would I return? To be honest I'm not sure, we really enjoyed the hotel, grounds, staff etc, however the food was a put off. I always go all inclusive now as with the amount of drinks the kids have its worth it, but i don't know if we could have coped if we stayed longer than we did. There are places to eat out, but you don't want to do that when you have paid for all your food.

Hope this helps, any questions please ask

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank ManchesterChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

After reading mixed reviews on the despo hotel I can honestly say listen to the good reviews...

food .. There is plenty to eat even for fussy eaters my hubby is fussy but he never went hungry... the chef and kitchen staff are excellent the chef even asked what soup I would like and without any hesitation the soup was on the menu the day after...


cleanliness. ... maids come in 3 times weekly to change towels and twice weekly to change bedding rooms were cleaned every day ....

bar staff.... george is ace always willing to help and always smiling and laughing with the holiday makers... he is one ace guy and as made our holiday what it is ....

Overall experience .... staff are brilliant they work long hrs they are always smiling ... i will miss these guys ...


would like to mention if your not happy with ur room go and see reception staff they are happy to move you ...We moved room only reason why was we had two single beds that couldn't be moved together the next morning we was offered another room with a double bed at no extra cost as it was our 20th wedding annervesaey we decided to upgrade to a superior room which was very nice and roomy....

just sat in the bar now as I'm writing this review waiting for our transfer to the airport ......i can say we have had an excellent holiday and will definitely likely return .....this was our 1st time in greece and its been the best ..... thx despo H otel for an amazing time xxxx

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank derab70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent 11 nights here in May this year. The room was a good size with a big balcony overlooking the gardens at the back of the hotel. The room was a little tired and could have done with a bit of an overhaul but we didn't spend much time in the room so that wasn't a problem. The room was cleaned and towels and sheets changed regularly. The cleaners were always cheerful and friendly and went out of their way to make you feel welcome.. The same goes for all the hotel staff, especially Maria and Katerina who manned the Reception and went above and beyond in their efforts to help you.

The food was of a reasonable standard but there were only a couple of choices of main meal rather than being buffer style as in other All Inclusive hotels we have stayed in. The chef, Michael, always served you with a smile and gave you plenty to eat and if you went hungry then that would be your own fault. There was always plenty of salad to supplement the meal and fruit and some sort of typical Greek sweet to finish. The staff in the restaurant, especially Michael, Nikos and Manos, were always friendly and helpful and Nikos always remembered what drink you usually ordered and made sure he had it waiting for you by the time you got back to your table with your meal. There was bacon for breakfast twice during our stay and the rest of the time it was scrambled or hard boiled eggs with cheese, meat, salad, yogurt and honey, and a couple of choices of cereals. Although there wasn't the choice that we have had on other All Inclusive holidays, there was plenty to eat and we always found something that satisfied us.

The hotel didn't provide any entertainment but the evenings seemed to centre around the pool bar. However, if you got tired of sitting there in the evening there was a fabulous bar called the Rainbow which was right opposite the hotel, where they had live entertainment and the food and drinks were reasonably priced if you fancied a change. Be careful though because you have to cross a very busy main road that runs outside the hotel.

The main resort of Gouves is a good 20 minutes walk away from the hotel, which, at the time of year we went, wasn't such a problem, but not sure how you would get on walking that distance once the temperatures rise. However, once in Gouves there are a fair amount of shops, tavernas and supermarkets to choose from. We found it a pleasant way to spend a couple of hours after the evening meal to go into Gouves for a look around the shops and I would suggest this if you don't mind the walk.

If you are looking for a break that allows you to simply relax and unwind then I think, for the price, this hotel will tick the boxes for you. However, make sure you request a high floor in the annexe if possible and avoid the "dungeon" rooms which are located at the basement level of the hotel.

I enjoyed the holiday but, that being said, we have been to livelier parts of Crete in the past and due to it's location, I doubt that we would go back to this hotel again,

Room Tip: Choose a room in the Annexe and avoid the "dungeon" rooms at basement level. The rooms ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kath W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

It may not be a 5* hotel but my score reflects the service and the overall score of the holiday in general. As with anything, it is what you make it.

I stayed here for a week in August with my boyfriend (now fiance as he proposed on this holiday!) and had a lovely time! The staff are lovely, especially George at the bar and the Chef.

I would recommend this place for couples. I'm not sure this would be the best place for children as there isn't any evening entertainment put on, but for people happy to just relax and unwind in the bar area after a fun filled day, you should be quite happy.
Gouves is a quiet place, perfect for relaxing and I would recommend that people who want to go partying should look to stay in Malia instead.

The food is nice, perhaps basic for some, but as a fussy eater I was happy. Served canteen style.
There is usually soup, a selection of meat and fish dishes, feta cheese and salads in an evening and breakfast consists of continental or ham, cheese, bacon, eggs.
The chef is a lovely man too.

Our room was basic but clean with a tv & we paid a small amount extra for the use of the safe & air con.
I think the beds were a bit hard but I always slept very well and didn't once hear the people in the next room (which has happened in other hotels!)

The pool is nice and clean and we could usually get a sunbed, though we did come at the end of the school holidays where the summer holidays might have begun to quieten down.

The beach is about 20-30min walk away, it gets very hot outside though, so maybe take a fan with you! There are shops & bars you can stop for a drink at along the way though.

There is also a lovely lady who comes twice a week to the hotel that you can book excursions with - I highly recommend the Jeep Safari as it is a great way to see a lot more of the island, here some myths, see the vultures and the driver we had (Steve) was so knowledgable! We did this on our last day after we had checked out (but were not getting picked up until the evening) and were able to leave our bags in the luggage room and use the hotels shower once we were back.
The "Go Greek" night was also good fun, a look around a traditional Greek house, big buffet, singers and dancing - we also got up to dance on stage!
If you like looking at old ruins etc then Spinalonga is also a nice day out & hearing about the leper colony that lived there is rather humbling. Plus the cruise, swim in the sea, lunch on the boat & stopping at a lovely little Cretian town for a shop all adds to the experience!

The bus stop is a few minutes walk away from the hotel and takes you to either Heraklion or Malia within an hour.
We went to Heraklion to see Knossos Palace but I was a bit disappointed with this trip as I had hoped it would be a lot more about Greek mythology, but it was just about the architecture.
We also caught the bus from here to the Cretaquaruim. Be warned it is a good 10 min walk from the bus stop to the aquarium! Fish fanatics (like my fella) should enjoy this but it is not a very big place as won't take long to walk round. However if you do go here and are an animal lover, please stop in Gouves Animal Shelter, you are allowed to go in and fuss all the dogs that are most chained up outside. You can also help to walk them if it is not midday (as it is too hot to walk the dogs at this time). The shelter is quite poor and doesn't get much help so if you have any spare money they would appreciate a donation. We ended up adopting a beautiful dog from here that now lives with us in England! For English speakers, ask for Vicky Light at the shelter if you do want to rescue a dog and she will arrange for transport and vaccinations etc for you.

An unforgettable holiday for us, I hope that this review helps if you are looking to holiday in Gouves and if you do, enjoy!!
If you do stay at the Despo Hotel, we brought a water bowl for the cats outside the restaurant... Please fill it up with water morning & night if you go here. Thanks very much! x

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
12 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.2 mi away
Club Lyda Hotel
Club Lyda Hotel
#14 of 36 in Kato Gouves
500 reviews
17.6 mi away
Panorama Village & Hotel
Panorama Village & Hotel
#13 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
1,147 reviews
8.3 mi away
Triton Hotel
Triton Hotel
#53 of 90 in Malia
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kalia Beach Hotel
Kalia Beach Hotel
#24 of 36 in Kato Gouves
309 reviews
30.8 mi away
Hotel Lisa Mari Beach
5.9 mi away
Semiramis Village
Semiramis Village
#122 of 171 in Hersonissos
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despo

Property: Despo
Address: Gouves, Pediada, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Despo 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Despo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Despo Hotel Gouves
Despo Hotel Crete
Hotel Despo
Despo Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing