We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice apartments”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A warm welcome awaits you when you arrive, well, that is what me and my partner got. We were shown to our room and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived. Clean all through and just as described. The only slight fault was the shower in the bathroom which leaked a little from the bottom on to the floor but nothing to worry about as there was the usual drain in the middle of the floor. Be warned though there is no shower curtain!
Beds were comfortable, sheets changed 3 times during the week.
The temperature went slightly hotter than we anticipated so had to pay out for the air conditioning for both bedrooms to enable a comfortable nights sleep but didn't break the bank.
Only ate there once which was for breakfast before we returned home and can recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bearskinBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    81
    27
    5
    3
See reviews for
97
155
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to Ourania and it has never disappointed. The rooms and common areas are kept clean and tidy and the facilities are excellent. The staff are polite and accommodating. Looking forward to next year already roll on 2015!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed at the Ourania Apartments for one week on the 10 July 2014. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the staff were very accommodating. We had asked for a quiet apartment and this was exactly what we got. Although we have to say everywhere was pretty quiet.

The apartment was very spacious and we did get the sun for pretty much of the day. The air conditioning was a plus we don't think we could have managed without it.

The maid who cleaned the apartment was pleasant and it was kept very clean indeed. Our towels were changed 3 times along with the linen which was pleasing to note.

Thank you to the staff for making our holiday a nice quiet and peaceful one. However we did find that we did have to walk a little way to the restaurants but once we found Medusa Restaurant it was well worth the walk.

Holiday Rep was also very helpful and pleasant.

Would recommend the apartments if you want a quiet and peaceful holiday, not a lot for children to do though.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments tend to have larger terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were the 3rd drop off, so transfer time is short (phew....we just wanted to get there!)
You're dropped off by the side of the road and have to walk 100m with your cases, which wasn't great but hey ho.
Check in was quick, apartments are more than big enough for 2. The staff were excellent. Full marks to Costas, Bob and Stella who were ever so friendly and made us feel very welcome.
There are only 39 apartments, so the pool is never over crowded. The place is also only rented to us Brits and the Dutch, so that was great too!
Costas rescues stray cats and dogs, so you're likely to find a furry friend or 2 (Freddy the dog is cute and the cats are very friendly and soft).
Gouves is not the kind of place you go to to party. It's a quiet couples/family resort, but if you fancy a night on the town, Hersonissos is a bus ride away (E1.60) and the cab back costs about E15.00.
Palm Beach was good - the setting was lovely.
All in all, Ourania Apartments met all our needs and we couldn't have been happier with our choice!

Room Tip: If you're a couple, book a 3 person room as you'll get a separate bedroom and living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Everest19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for a week and found Ourania apartments well laid out, spacious and clean. Two changes of linen and towels during the week. Shower wasn't much good though. Kitchen was basic and not well equipped, and be prepared to drive to Lidl or other large supermarket if self-catering. Small pool is kept clean and well maintained. We booked breakfast in advance but this was either toasted cheap white bread or 'full English'. We don't eat that and would've liked a healthy alternative (e.g. fruit, yoghurt, muesli) so the food was a big disappointment. Bar and pool area has good wifi connection. Drinks in the evening at the bar are only for those who like to sit among the smokers. You will need insect repellent for the evenings.

Kato Gouves as a resort was disappointing. Dusty and desolate in places, but only a short walk to the sea front and the bars and restaurants, though the majority are 'everything with chips' and we avoided them. Xilynos serves two courses for 10 euros, which is good value.

You will need to walk further along the sea front to find the larger of the beach spaces. Vast majority of the beach areas in this resort are dominated by beds and parasols that will cost you 6 euros per day. It's windy in this area and the sea is rough and rocky underfoot. The red flag is usually flying. Be wary if you have small children because it's not a beach resort suitable for them, other than one tiny little harbour bay area.

In the evening (or early mornings) when you're walking down side streets to find bars and restaurants, watch out for rogue dogs.

There are much nicer resorts than this one to stay - go to West of the island or to the East or South Coast. Luckily with our hired car we were able to travel to some of the nicer areas.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jazzymalazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a lovely place! Peaceful, clean, friendly, everything I could want. This is the first holiday we can honestly say we would come back to the same place. The staff are helpful, the apartment was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with a very large balcony. The apartments are far enough away from the beach to be very quiet, but close enough to walk to in a few minutes, where all the lovely bars and restaurants are.

Room Tip: I think you get a better balcony/sitting out area in a first floor room, though some of them are sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HCM9112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is still one of the most peaceful apartment complexes that we have ever stayed at. Kosta, Bob and all the staff cannot do enough for you.
We ate most evenings at The Medusa Restaurant and were surprised that there were not many of our Ourania companions eating there. It is a far nicer place than Milos but a little further to walk, but really worth it. Mama cooks the food herself and it is wonderful.
Try the Ourania guys unless you are looking for a noisy boisterous holiday. They do a wonderful bacon buttie along with many other breakfast choices. A lovely local beer, cool and refreshing and a great frappe!!!
The complex is kept so clean and tidy, clean sheets and towels in your rooms. I wish I was there now!! A few minutes walk to the beach and if you hire a car as we did, 10 minutes to Lidl for a big shop!!! Also very handy for the motorway to see much of this beautiful island. Try it. I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The studios are quite small so if it is high season you will need the air conditioning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goose301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
0.1 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,829 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#4 of 36 in Kato Gouves
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
St. Constantin Hotel
St. Constantin Hotel
#9 of 36 in Kato Gouves
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ourania Apartments & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ourania Apartments & Hotel

Property: Ourania Apartments & Hotel
Address: Epidavrou | Kato Gouves, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ourania Apartments & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There’s a lot to be said for a small, peaceful hotel. If you’re looking to really chill out, you won’t get much peace at a bustling mega hotel. So that’s where the Ourania Apartments come in.You won’t find a huge resort packed with guests, but that’s its charm. What you do get is pin-drop peace and quiet, along with a bit of good old fashioned Greek hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Bookgreece.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ourania Apartments & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ourania Apartments & Hotel Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing