We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”
Review of Despina Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Despina Apartments
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“excellent place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

just back yesterday and missing it already. a family hotel run by 3 great brothers. the rooms are basic but most places in Greece are. cleaned daily, always more than happy to help (no matter how shirty the customer), perfect location for bars beach and restaurants, our favourite was georges tavern where everything is cooked fresh to a very high standard by his beautiful and very talented wife. We will definitely be going back asap. My thanks to the boys for going that extra mile & turning a great holiday to the perfect one. see you real soon

Room Tip: rooms above the reception have sunnier balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TerryGarlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    23
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
22
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We have stayed at this apartment a few years ago so we are well up with the brothers and the family lovely people they carnt do enough for you the location is good to we have been going to gouves for many years so anybody thinking about going for holiday dont hesitate to stay at this apartment Eileen /Harold Manchester .xx

Room Tip: We like the rooms upstairs but we have been in most rooms over the years .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 50glad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here from 6th sep to 20th sep 2013...Nice spot....very central location..bars and eating places nearby..Centre only 15 min walk..Apartments were clean and apart from bathroom was big enough to do for holidays.cooking mite b a problem but room enough to make cups coffee..get the air com as it can become quite stuffy without..Staff are lovely and v helpful,nothing was 2 much trouble at all...Would deff stay here again some time..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patty386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constanta, Constanta, Romania
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I hoped for a place like this! When we got there everything turned into reality! Everything was VERY relaxing (even the thing that they did not had tv in the room was a plus for us) , the hosts are VERY nice people.The three brothers and their mother are VERY nice hosts and the bar is VERY relaxing after a day at the beach.They clean the room every day and change the towels every 2 or 3 days, you always have hot water and if you close the door to the balcony everything is very silent (maybe too silent).The pool is nice and the water is very clean.You are very near the beach and just hundred meters from the bus station(Station no 13 or 14) I recommend this place for everyone : solo, family, couples, etc.Thank you very much Kosta, Ari and mom :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dobrescu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Went here year a go just thought I would write a review I loved it and my kids loved it
Nice food also cheap feed 6 people with €30 that save lots of money
Staff lovely brothers made are holiday.

I would take a trip to Baraki good prices nice drinks lovely woman friendly staff good night out
Live bands and everything and booze bar €25 to drink from 10 till 4 I'm morning each

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnlouise2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ierapetra, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed just one night because a flight had cancelled, so we needed to spend the night near airport and I wish we could stay a couple more days. A tidy, neat, family hotel, value for money, excellent burgers and pizza at the pool bar.
The owner was very helpfull, he called several times from his cell phone to make sure we're on the right way and he even came up to the main road to get us.
Yes, I could certainly stay a little longer
PS: beware of the moscitos!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiakaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

We visited this hotel with family that hav been coming to it for over 5 years. We have two children , 7 and 4. We had the family Which consisted of a two rooms one with a double bed the other with two singles. Kitchenette and a shower room. Room was very clean , beds made , swept and mopped everyday. Clean towels every other day. The family couldn't of been more friendly they made us feel really welcome and always got the kids involved in things. Drinks and snacks ( pizza toasties Greek salad etc ) are reasonable prices. The bar was open as long as you stayed there . There was a group of us that went so we took up 4 of the apartments and there was one other couple there. We was the only ones using the pool which was great when we had 6 kids under 8 to entertain.defo recommend for quiet holiday in the sun , Greece is a lovely place and I will defo be returning. Thanks costa arry and mum x x x

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Major43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kato Gouves hotels
0.3 mi away
Cosmi Apartments
Cosmi Apartments
#24 of 36 in Kato Gouves
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hara Ilios Hotel
Hara Ilios Hotel
#3 of 36 in Kato Gouves
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Marie Kelly
Villa Marie Kelly
#5 of 36 in Kato Gouves
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
Sweet Memory Gourmet Apartments
#13 of 36 in Kato Gouves
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
Blue Aegean Hotel & Suites
#6 of 36 in Kato Gouves
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Despina Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Despina Apartments

Property: Despina Apartments
Address: Kato Gouves | Vlyhadas street, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 700 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kato Gouves
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Despina Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Despoina apartments is a family run hotel at Gouves, on Europe's southern island of Crete. The resort is just 15 kilometres from "Nikos Kazantzakis" airport and 20 kilometres from the historical centre of Heraclion. The hotel is situated 100m from the beach and near to lots of restaurants and bars. There are lots of places and archaeological sites around Despoina apartments. 20km to the east is the famous KNOSSOS palace and 7 km to the west is Hersonissos resort, known for its night life. Not far away about 3km is Creta Auarium one of the largest and most modern aquariums in Europe. The combination of the unique location, the relaxing atmosphere and our friendly and personalized service, have established our hotel as one of the most enjoyable holiday choices of Gouves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Despina Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Despina Apartments Gouves
Despina Apartments Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing