We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No words to describe how fantastic this is!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
Belleville, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No words to describe how fantastic this is!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We recently vacationed in Greece and spent a few days on Crete, at the Amirandes. I can't even describe this place to my friends and family without absolutely gushing. The property is gorgeous, the people are beyond friendly, and we were totally spoiled by the time we left. If you want the beach, the pool, great food and total indulgence (at the spa!), then check this place out. We will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bboop617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    114
    34
    12
    8
See reviews for
217
312
13
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

The other reviews say it all really. It is an excellent hotel, but for me let down on two easy to fix points - the towels are small and pretty useless, and the Internet is hopeless. Wifi network not robust to large numbers logging in, so don't expect to be streaming video (or, for that matter, emails) in a hurry. Enjoyable stay, but for hotels in the same price bracket this is not a winner.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janduxba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amirandes_Management, Manager at Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort. Your comments are very welcome, as your feedback will help us to improve our exclusive services.

We were very pleased to know that you had a pleasant and relaxing stay with us and we hope that you will choose again a Grecotel Property during your next visit in Greece.

Regarding the internet, we would like to inform you that although we have recently upgraded our network, due to the fact that most of our guests use, at the same time the latest technology devises requiring fast internet connection, occurs a delay to access the internet. As our goal is the satisfaction of our guests in every aspect, a further upgrade of our network will take place during winter time in order to eliminate this inconvenience during the next season.



Dear Guest, we would like to assure you that we will keep working hard to develop and improve our services, taking into account any comments and proposals and we really thank you for giving us this opportunity. We are confident that your highest expectations will be fulfilled in Amirandes Grecotel Exclusive Resort, during your next visit in Crete.


The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked this hotel based on its ratings and proximity to a social function we had to attend. Even though we only stayed for two nights, the Amirandes staff made our stay very pleasurable. Everyone from reception to pool staff was always very helpful and I was surpised to see that staff would go out of their way or responsibilities to cater for our needs, even if these were sometimes special. We didn't have time to take advantage of its facilities or activities offered, but overall Amirandes is a very nice family-oriented resort. Special kudos to the pool staff (bar, lifeguards, service) who made our experience there great!

The breakfast buffet is great, and the chef gave us a personal tour of what is offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel with my friend for 10 days and enjoyed it greatly. From the start, with a welcome juice, sandwiches, water and wine in our room, the vacation was amazing. The breakfast is everyhing you can wish for:fresh juice, smoothies, fruits, tasty bakery. waffles, granola, muesli. porridge, eggs, omlette, cheese... The lunch by the pool is also surprusingly tasty, try huge portion of greek salad and spring rolls. Bear in mind, that it's quite expensive comnparing to prices in a vilage (13 euro compared to 4 euro). Our friends with kids were very satisfied with kids lunch at their club: big, tasty and healthy. While at the beach, you can ask for free bottles of waters.

The only negative expericence we had is dining in Cretan restaurant (don't remember the name). For fixed price of 70 euro we orded a set menu, which also included scrammbled eggs - very strange "cretan" snack, lamb and potato/chicken and rise (like in an airplane) for second course and greek yogurt with honey and nuts (which we usually ate for breakfast). Waste of money!

The weather was really windy, hard to swim in the sea, but you don't notice such a difference while swimming in the swimming pool with seawater. There are plenty of sport activities: yoga, dancing, acqua aerobics.

The location is difficult for people who don't want to use car during their vacation. But with a taxi (15 euro) you can go to Hersonissos or Pispokiano (best greek taverns) within 10-15 minutes.

Generally, the hotel is really beautiful and it is a real pleasure to walk around and enjoy the amazing views. The stuff is super friendly, aming to help 24/7.

Room Tip: Bungalo with a garden view is a best choice - it is beautiful and large, you have your own sunbeds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

In need of a relaxing break after a tough few months, we found what we wanted at Amirandes: a cool and comfortable room, a big pool (and a little one in our suite), good food, helpful staff and spacious grounds to stroll around and accommodate large numbers with ease. Just a short drive from Iraklio airport: great for an even later evening arrival than we had planned. (Thanks Easyjet!)

The room? We splashed out on a sea-facing luxury junior suite with garden (the ones with a secluded private pool and mini indoor gym, though we didn't make use of the punch-bag and gave ourselves the excuse that the cycling machine batteries were flat). Big B&O TV though we would have loved an iPod dock too. Fruit bowl replenished daily (a nice touch) and plenty of water and kettle/coffee and a few tea-bags on hand.

We had great fun with the counter-current swimming pool. And we were able to do the very British thing of listening to the Wimbledon final and Test-Match Special on internet radio beside the pool without disturbing anyone else... after a first-day hiccup, the free WiFi was reliable and much appreciated.
Air-conditioning hit the right temperature for a good night's sleep, and by day sea breezes took the edge off the heat in the brilliant sunshine. .The only disappointment was that the evening humidity around the pool made the chairs too wet to sit on under the stars.

We rotated around the restaurants, especially enjoying the terraces around the ornamental pool at the Amirandes buffet at both dinner and breakfast, and the combined menu of the Lago di Candia/new Minotaur restaurants - do ask for a table by an open window looking over the lagoon for the best experience. Lunchtime fish restaurant was good too: expect large quantities.

And the other facilities? Attractive bar with live music every evening; highlight was the Thursday evening in opera style. Saxophone over breakfast on Sunday was fun too.
The saltwater main pool is huge with plenty of sun loungers - good for serious length-swimming though taken over by the Aquarobics for an hour or so each day. Tennis courts are good, but a bit hot till near dusk; racquets and balls are available but if you are serious, take your own. Children (others' not ours) seemed to have a great time and the size of the resort meant that they were not intrusive - and most seemed to be quietly installed behind iPads at meal times! The hotel's shop is well-stocked with the all the things you might have forgotten, though a rather pricey way to buy sun-cream.

Amirandes is very much a resort hotel, and its attraction lies in its design and facilities rather than its situation. Don't expect a curving bay or pretty harbour. It is convenient for the middle of the island and there are many good places to visit a hire-car day trip away, with spectacular scenery in places. Crete is a big island and roads can be winding and hilly so don't be too ambitious, slow down and enjoy the little things.

And in case you were wondering, it's way too far away for an early start to walk the Samaria Gorge. That's for another holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Spent three nights at Amirandes and would have to say this is a fabulous resort. The staff at Amirandes is amazing. The night we arrived, it was late; they welcomed us, had us set down to relax with a cool drink and cool towel. They parked our car for us, took the luggage to the room and told us we could finish checking in to our room in the morning after we had a chance to rest. The staff walked us to our room, where fresh fruit and wine was waiting for us.

Our room was wonderful, big with a very comfortable bed, huge bathroom and a balcony that looked out to the Olympic size pool and ocean. Breakfast was complementary and was excellent, as were the four restaurants at the resort.

There are 58 units at Amirandes that have their own private pool, so if you want your own pool, you can have it. There were many families at the resort, so if you are looking for something geared more for couples, it may not be for you but my wife and I were very comfortable and loved our stay at Amirandes.

The only negative thing I would have to say is that Amirandes is difficult to find. The signs for the resort are small along the roadside and tough to find at night. We stopped to ask for directions a few times and the locals, who were very friendly and helpful, also agreed it was tough to find.

If you are renting a car while in Crete and staying at Amirandes, I would recommend taking a transfer service from the airport or docks to Amirandes and renting a car from the resort, Hertz has a rental agent at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week. The place is absolutely beautiful and the staff are fantastic. It's all luxury, but understated. Everything is brand new (or feels like it), it's absolutely spotless wherever you went and the staff were outstanding.
The service was excellent and everyone (literally everyone) went out of their way to accommodate our requests (no matter how small) and to anticipate our needs. From kitchen and restaurant staff, pool staff, reception, cleaning service. Everyone was so polite and friendy and helpful.
Upon arrival, we asked if we could have a sea view, and they upgraded us to a 'lagoon' view. The hotel was full the whole week, however we didn't have to wait for a table or queue for any sort of service. I don't know how they managed but it didn't feel crowded at all!
Food was excellent (we were on half board). Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and dinner buffet was fantastic. We didn't feel the need to go to any of the 4-5 a la carte restaurants because the variety and creativity of every night at the buffet was great! (from sushi, to local cuisine, different types of meat available and lots of vegetarian options, which was great for my husband).
Every day there was something different: from a sax player at breakfast, jazz trio in the evening, singers, and performers. The hotel was family oriented (with kids club and kids entretainment) but we didn't go with children and it felt like an adult's only too.
They offered us a room for the check out day so we could change (since we were leaving in the evening) but we didn't take it since we only needed a room to change. At that point, we were given a villa for 1/2 hour to shower and change.
We couldn't fault it, we'd be happy to come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GOG25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gouves
43.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 38 in Gouves
1,765 reviews
45.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 167 in Rethymnon
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
43.0 mi away
White Palace El Greco Luxury Resort
22.9 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Property: Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Address: PO Box 106, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Gouves
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Gouves
#1 Spa Hotel in Gouves
#1 Romantic Hotel in Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Crete/Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing