We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently great...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Kato Gouves
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Consistently great...”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is the second time that we've stayed at the Grecotel Amirandes and it has possibly the most consistently good customer service that I've experienced. Any issues or requests that you have are taken care of so quickly, it's amazing.

For a relaxing break, I recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    123
    37
    14
    9
See reviews for
236
345
14
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

One of the best resorts in maybe Europe!! The stuff is very kind and helpful especially the captain at the pool restaurant Cristos. I've spend a week there and it was an unforgettable experience. Totally worthy. I would strongly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ligeri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel June 4th to 10th and had a really nice stay. We were there for our honeymoon, and they upgraded us to a junior suite with a pool. Upon arrival, they had someone waiting in our room with champagne and fruits and a bottle of wine, and had rose petals on our bed and it was so nice. The weather was a little colder than they anticipated, so we did not swim in the beautiful swimming pool. It was such a nice pool and looked very inviting but it was not heated and the water was ice cold.

The breakfast was included for us, and they had a wide variety of breakfast choices. We only ate at the Cretan and Asian restaurants, but they were really good too. I would recommend them.

The beach was nice, the water cold, so once again, we didn't get in, but many people were able to withstand the cold water and were swimming.

We went to Heraklion for dinner 2 night. it was a $35 Euro cab ride there and back. So it was pricey, and to tell you the truth, not as nice as the closer town that cost $15 to get to Herasoliso (not sure how it is spelled). They had a nice stretch of beach and parallel nice stores and good shopping. The stores did have different things. It is such a nice place and has really nice restaurants to eat. I recommend this place.

The staff was very nice to us and they were very helpful.

Oh, by the way, if you are English speaking, please make sure to bring lots of DVD's for the time you are in your room. They say they have satellite television, but there are only Greek, Russian and German station AND CNN. So if you are English speaking and watch to watch tv at any point in the day while relaxing in your room, then you are out of luck.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Whilst the beach at the Amirandes is not one of the most beautiful, it seems that in Crete, the best hotels are not on the best beaches. There are restrictions to building on the beautiful beaches in the West of the island in order to provide the widest possible public access.

Our experience began from the moment we stepped into the car that the hotel sent to pick us up from the airport, with cold water, dried fruit, nuts and chocolate. When we arrived, we were greeted with welcome drinks and cold towels. Additionally there were also a lovely fruit bowl, a small platter of hors d'oeuvres and raki (a traditional toe curling Cretan liqueur) waiting for us in the room.

'Ask and ye shall most likely receive'. The Amirandes epitomises excellence in service. We found our first morning that our room lacked privacy, being directly in front of the path that leads down to the beach. We requested a change and by early afternoon, we had been reassigned to another room along with staff to help pack and move us. My wife, upon walking into the bar one evening, casually mentioned that it was rather chilly. In less than a blink of an eye, a space heater had been wheeled out next to our table. In a chance meeting with the general manager, he asked me if I had some suggestions on how to improve our stay. The only issue we had encountered was the fact that the bedside table lamps were rather bright and did not have dimmer controls. We returned from lunch the next day to find that dimmers had been installed. One of our son's favourite meals is miso salmon with rice. We found out that miso cod was on the menu at the Blue Monkey, the hotel's Asian fusion restaurant. We asked if they could also make a miso salmon. The chef obliged by preparing it especially for him throughout our stay.

I am so totally in love with every single staff member we came into contact with. Each and every one of them was so lovely and friendly, working hard to make our stay special, and obliging and indulging with every action. It starts with the general manager, Vassilos, who would drop whatever he was doing to greet the guests as soon as they caught his eye, to the restaurant staff, who would remember our favourite drinks and how we liked our food prepared. The tennis coach, Costas is superb and shows a lot of patience with the little ones - absolutely highly recommended. Alessio, who coordinates the football and family disco, amongst his other duties, is a gem and a laugh a minute.

The hotel did not start out as a family resort, but kids are very well catered for. Grecoland, the kids club, stays away from the newer forms of child entertainment i.e. computers and game stations. Instead, many activities are environmentally focused, like vegetable planting, cooking with solar power and beach exploration. Other activities include family football, family disco and clay sculpting. To satisfy their peckish-ness, there is a room in Grecoland with snacks from carrot sticks to ice cream. This is in addition to the Kids Corner buffet, which supplies kid oriented meals for a good part of the day. Meals can be taken to any of the restaurant outlets so families can eat together. Mini robes, teddies and rubber duckies can be found in the rooms.

Food is very good in each of the outlets. There is a choice of half board buffet or half board ala- carte. We opted for the latter plan, which provides for ala-carte dining for an inclusive price. I would highly recommend this. Don't waste your time with the foreign stuff - Greek wine is very good indeed. Much of the food in hotel is sourced from their own farms.

The Amirandes is a truly special place. It's lovely setting, the central lagoon, the awesome staff makes this place magical. It is designed to ensure that each and every family member has a memorable holiday. There are very few hotels which I feel warrant a return visit; not because of anything but the fact that it's nice to have different experiences. The Amirandes is one which I would return to, again and again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank EatingAnonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This hotel is a fantastic find, the jewel in the crown, as soon as you walk through the huge reception doors you are drawn into the most spectacular view. Frist class checking in procedure, all very calm and relaxing. Escorted to your room with all the relevant information you may need, fresh fruit, complimentary wine and a very relaxing, comfortable, clean room awaits you. Breakfast was an absolute joy to have, everything you needed was there, fresh and delicious. I really can’t fault the staff from reception/beach attendants/bar/breakfast/restaurants/cleaners/gardeners, everyone was helpful and very informative. We really did have an amazing stay, special thanks to Maria (front office). We will be back, for longer next time. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuzJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. We arrived around 10:00 in the morning and were greeted with a cool towel and wonderful fresh orange juice. Since our room was not quite ready (being so early) we were offered a tour of the grounds and offered breakfast while we waited. After breakfast we returned to finish checking in and was surprised to find out that they had upgraded us to a Luxury Bungalow facing the water. Although you could not see the actual sea from the room, it was still wonderful with our own private lawn, chairs and umbrella. The room itself was spotless and romantic and the staff was extremely friendly and catered to our every need. From beach volleyball to soccer and their daily live music made for a wonderful time while we were at the hotel. Next time we are in Crete, we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I arrived here for the first three nights of our honeymoon. We splurged for a sea view suite, but it 100% met my expectations. The rooms, and the full-glass walls with views directly onto the sea, were incredible. We arrived right at sunset, which was breathtaking, and enjoyed the next few nights with equally impressive shows. We ate exclusively at the hotel's main restaurant, with buffet breakfasts and dinners, and were very pleased with the quality and variety of food each day. We only spent 2 full days at the hotel, and were still in the immediate-post-wedding haze (and exhaustion) but we couldn't have asked for a better place to get us started and to help us unwind after a crazy and exciting week. Amirandes is luxury without being stuffy or too formal. We would definitely return if it meets our future non-honeymoon travel budget!

Room Tip: Sea-view room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LGS782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kato Gouves
43.8 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
0.3 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#2 of 36 in Kato Gouves
1,876 reviews
45.5 mi away
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
Grecotel Creta Palace Hotel
#11 of 175 in Rethymnon
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
43.0 mi away
White Palace Luxury Resort
White Palace Luxury Resort
#10 of 175 in Rethymnon
887 reviews
3.6 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#5 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,875 reviews
24.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Property: Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Address: PO Box 106, Kato Gouves, Gouves, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Gouves > Kato Gouves
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Family Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kato Gouves
#1 Spa Hotel in Kato Gouves
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amirandes 5 star hotel in Crete, is a sparkling exclusive resort on the coast of east Crete. Themed around the lagoons that swirl through its centre, the luxury hotel in Crete covers a 70,000 sq m beachfront estate comprising of eight restaurants, sandy beaches, Elixir Spa with authentic Ayurveda treatments, outdoor Olympic-size seawater pool, over 60 private pools and extensive children's facilities. The sophisticated guestrooms suites and villas feature indulgent details such as private gyms, home cinema and state-of-the-art bathrooms with colour-therapy and aromatherapy Jacuzzi bathtubs. Refined and considerate service mirrors the Resort's meticulous attention to detail and utmost respect for the privacy of its guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Gouves
Grecotel Amirandes Amnissos
Grecotel Amirandes Hotel Amnissos
Amirandes, Grecotel Exclusive Resort Crete/Kato Gouves

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing