We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never ever again!!!”
Review of Paiko Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in La Union Province
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paiko Resort
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in La Union Province
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“never ever again!!!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My whole family planned to stay here for at least 10 days but we were skeptical about it, yet we tried to have at least spend an afernoon swim and perhaps an overnight stay...boy were so glad we did not push thru with our plans! the whole resort was a mess! filthy brown algae filled kids pool (mind u, the staff said ghey havent cleaned it for a while), their big pool has maxed out in chlorine,i bet they have not changed the water too, stinky dirty filthy shower room with 3 trash bags stored in there for who knows how long, and dark shower room since the bulb light was busted, to top that, we have to argue with confusing staffs who charges 150 pesos for adults and 100 pesos per child to be in the swimmingpool area regardless of just watching by the pool or swimming in it! even the kids paid when they cant use the kids pool! ridiculous! its like paying an entrance fee to just come look at the pool!
it dindnt take long for us to leave (less than 2 hours), and just stayed with relatives rather than sleeping there overnight!
the pictures online are deceiving! the beach is way prettier than the old stinky ugly resort!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sheinchrylshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    2
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a last minute decision to spend Holy Thursday and Good Friday in North Luzon. As expected, most of the resorts and hotels are fully booked for the holiday. Luckily, we were able to find a place to spend the night in La Union, before heading out to Baguio. Paiko Resort had 2 available lower cabanas, pricing at Php 4000, which we thought was a pretty sweet deal, considering how last-minute our plans are. Although pictures were lacking on their website, we assumed that everything was "world class" (their claim). As a last-minute booking, the resort was pretty average.

Pros:
Clean swimming pool
Fast Wi-Fi
Lovely beach view
Friendly manager/owner (He was pretty much a hands-on type of manager.)
Good landscaping
Good summer feel
Clean rooms

Cons:
Breakfast serving time is delayed
My sister found hair in her food
Aircon power is not proportionate to the room size
Lumpy beds
And flat pillows
Dim lighting
Bathroom water is salty
Termites!

If you're looking for an average place to stay, and not wanting much luxury, then stay in Paiko Resort.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey Bianca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We booked here and was thoroughly shocked by what we saw. Their pool was green in color and stale, as if no one ever swam in it, like when you dip your hand in the pool the water would stick to your hand. you can see the moss as well! I couldn't imagine how they'd allow guests here and not properly maintaining their pool. It was so different to the blue water pool in their photos. you can't even see what's underneath it, it wasn't the green chlorine that made it green. We had to leave and find another resort and they were not even surprised, since they usually have guests who back out because of this!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pailee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these La Union Province hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in dec 2011. The rooms are full of bugs. The bathrooms need serious updating and the beddings and towels need to be replaced. On our last day, the water from the showers and sinks turned black and muddy, apparently, they decided to flush out their water tank in preparation for their Korean visitors arriving that night without any regard for their Filipino guests still checked in. The manang and other kitchen staff were nice though but I will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Despite the not so maintained gardens, conference room & medium end AC, our three days & two nights stay in Paiko Resort La Union was the best so far. Kudos to the friendly & accommodating staff. They took really good care of my family. We will surely be back next month... Good job!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cheoinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Fernando La Union, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2010

The owner doesn't deserve to be in the tourism business. He even doesn't know how to smile and entertain resort guests.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank miss_bdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
olongapo city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

it is a perfect place for a get-away vacation... we have a group outing for a summer splash and we have chosen paiko shores beach resort for our venue... all i can say is that the place is superb and fascinating... you can enjoy the heat of the sun on their beach though it is not like the white sand of boracay because of the clean water; i also enjoyed splashing on their olympic size swimming pool and have some fun with their fountain pool if you want to just take a deep under the moonlight...cozy rooms while enjoying a relaxing massage, facial and foot spa. simple but mouth watering food... if you feel a bit sporty; they have facilities for beach volleyball, badminton and table tennis, i just hope they also have billiards.you can even enjoy a live acoustic performance on their garden cafe during dinner time. employees are so alive and hospitable that you can even enjoy various dance and song numbers by them; they have this what they call different kinds of line dancing, folk dancing and even hawaiian hoolah!!!! the only problem is that it is not easy to find the place if you are a first timer.. but the whole experience that we got here is really one of a kind and i will surely recommend this to everyone. i am planning to have another vacation with my family, a perfect place to relax and chill-out.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Slumzy_Joype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Union Province hotels
0.0 mi away
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
#1 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marand Resort & Spa
Marand Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Bauang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Little Surfmaid Resort
The Little Surfmaid Resort
#9 of 14 in La Union Province
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paiko Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paiko Resort

Property: Paiko Resort
Address: San Carlos, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in La Union Province
#7 Top resorts Hotel in La Union Province
#8 On the Beach Hotel in La Union Province
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Paiko Hotel La Union Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing