We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Little Surfmaid Resort
Nearby Hotels
Oasis Country Resort(San Fernando La Union)
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Awesome Hotel(San Juan)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Elegant(San Fernando La Union)(Great Value!)
US$24
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$48
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paiko Resort(La Union Province)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aureo La Union(San Fernando La Union)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
41
28
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
28
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsla unionsurfing areabeach frontrooms are cleandirect access to the beachmona lisarestaurant arearooms are bighot waterthird floorsunset viewtheir websiteper nightsurfersbalconywavesresort
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights. The young kids had surf lessons everyday at 4 pm. On the last day of our stay we came back from the hour-long lesson and realized all our phones (7 in all) incl my iPhone were gone, cameras and some cash. Luckily I put my passport and $$ in the safety deposit box. There was no sign of break-in. The door was locked when we returned. When we reported we were treated horribly. Not once was an apology was given to us. They attacked us for even suspecting that the theft by someone who had access to the rooms and probably worked in the hotel (imagine that!). They were quick to blame a guest who they said looked suspicious, left no address and paid cash. How convenient the "guest" disappeared. There was no compensation of any kind offered. Not a single apology even. We called the police, but noticed that after the police were done they were down at the bar drinking and all chummy with the staff.

I could try to look past the unfortunate theft as something that can happen anywhere--unfortunate but true, but the way we were treated after this experience was absolutely deplorable.
These are some of the things the owner told us:
- they can't screen every single person who comes checks into their hotel (the hotel only has 20 rooms)
- there was a security camera pointed at the door...but it supposedly broke awhile back because of lightning! What?
- they don't monitor the hallways because sometimes politicians stay at their hotel and bring women who are not their wives (trust me that this counts as an excuse floored me too)
- and many more one more head-scratching inducing than the previous I just have to find my notes
By the way, someone mentioned this already the booking process shall we say requires a lot of patience, numerous phone calls, text messages, and emails. The price kept changing, sometimes the room became unavailable all of a sudden, the view kept changing too. And finally even after we'd paid and confirmed by email they still wouldn't confirm us until we suggested that they check their spam folder. Totally inefficient. And owner tells me they very well couldn't be expected to know that! Well why tell us to email you in the first place?

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
5  Thank Dekemaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

Just came back from a two night stay at the hotel. Two couples and we each booked a suite room which had balcony facing the water and two rooms (one bedroom, one bathroom, one living room).
Plus:
Location is great for surfers - Swimming is not so great as there are rocks under water which makes swimming tough
Free WiFi Internet
Cheap minibar (real fridge) - No need to buy somewhere else
Room size more than enough
Overall room is clean (although ants in our bathroom)
Safe parking
OK Value at 3900 per suite. They also have cheaper rooms but we wanted ocean view.
Extensive surf rentals and training (see also con though)
Cons
Service really needs major improvement (basically every time we ordered something we needed to first find waiter as they preferred watching TV then taking orders, then follow up twice and remind in the end that something is missing, which was the only consistent thing about the service - We really felt bad at some point in time as it became almost so ridiculous that we gave up following through)
Service 2: My bro tried to do get a teacher for a surf lesson. Trainer could not be found in the morning and after follow up in the afternoon they gave him a board and said he should try it first alone. Saved him 400 pesos which really is cheap for a trainer but what is it good for if there is no interest in training
Restaurant value is mediocre when looked at price/quality/selection
Very loud aircon in bedroom (too hot to sleep without but if it's on you can't hear the waves)
Bathroom is always wet after shower use - A bit better construction would have avoided that

Place definitely has potential but needs service attention and training. At this price I would expect a better service and a bit more attention to details.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AxelKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2009

I spent a couple of months carefully planning a family trip to Banaue, Sagada, Baguio and La Union, with great help from Trip Advisor. The Little Surfmaid seemed to be one of the most reliable locations for this last part of our journey; new, clean, affordable, and homey.

I called, checked for availability, and was able to make a booking for the 9 of us. As a follow-up to the phone conversation, I sent a text message and an email with the details we'd discussed. Via text, I received confirmation. However, via email, I received a response indicating that there were no available rooms for the dates specified. After several text messages and emails over the following days, I was still receiving confirmation via phone and denial via email until, finally, I called the main line of the resort and spoke with somebody.

It seems that the person who had been messaging me was a trainee. The person emailing me was a regular staff. Somehow, I'd been booked for the wrong dates, despite several attempts to confirm using specific details including dates. Needless to say, I was not at all impressed with the whole process. At the end of it all, the only thing they were willing to do is give me recommendations in the area. According to them, these places were highly comparable to their resort. One resort is outrageously higher priced, and the other two are hardly the kind of quality that I would want to subject my family to. I went back to Trip Advisor and found somewhere else in another part of La Union that was more suited to our family.

It's a shame that The Little Surfmaid has turned us off to the idea of ever going there. First impressions are extremely important in the world of resorts. How one manages (or doesn't manage) these kinds of problems can certainly seal their fate. They can be sure that neither my family nor any of our friends or co-workers will ever grace their doorstep.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
5  Thank Musikovida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

It's been a year since our stay at Little Surfmaid but I truly believe that the resort is worth commending for their excellent service. It was my first roadtrip escapade with my officemates and we really wanted to go surfing with the waves in La Union. Since we really didn't know any good resort around, we literally went door to door to check out the resorts around San Juan, La Union. Our attention was caught by this newly built resort with a rather interesting name - Little Surfmaid. We were joyfully welcomed by the front desk (I forgot Ate's name already) and Kuya Omar (surfing instructor who also acts as asst. manager). The manager himself was a foreigner who was very accommodating himself. They showed us the best room in the hotel ( i think it was named Prince). The room was perfect! It had a balcony facing the beach, a mini kitchen/bar, personal TV, ref and sofa set. The room has a separate bed room with airconditioning and REALLY BIG and COMFY beds! With all that and the fair price, we decided to stay at Little Surfmaid. We hired Kuya Omar's services to teach some of us how to surf while the others (like me) opted to play with the really BIG waves (see my main photo if you wish to know how BIG I meant). The place was peaceful, not crowded and quite clean. The food service was also affordablea and great. I couldnt find anything not worth commending in our stay there. :)

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superassociate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews