We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Al Sultan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Khor
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not worth the money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2009

When we were there, we were the only guests! Had the lunchtime buffet - not too bad, but nothing special, and expensive for what you got! Thought the pool was nice, but there wasn't any shade. It's a shame the decor is so tacky - and the prices are so high! We wouldn't stay here again, it's really not worth it. It says it's 5*, but it's nowhere near that....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    14
    8
    9
See reviews for
9
5
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Visited Al Sultan twice on business. If you want somewhere to relax and escape the human race this is the place for you - both times I went I saw just one person using the restaurant. The problem is not the hotel - it's equivalent to a 4* i guess - but Al Khor. As said in other reviews, it's a dusty, rundown town with construction taking place on the town Corniche.

The hotel is very quiet, even with local Qataris who won't go because the hotel bans sheesha smoking. Naturally with so few customers, staff are pleasant if somewhat demotivated.

Al Khor has no - and I mean no - other tourist attractions. If coming to Qatar, there's no reason to leave the Cpital city Doha - unless you want complete peace, quiet and the hotel equivalent of the Marie Celeste.

  • Liked — no queues
  • Disliked — no guests
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank copyqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

The write ups of Al Khor talk of a sleepy, old fashioned pearl and fishing village. It's not, it's a small, dirty town with nothing going for it,.

The jewel, and only hotel, is this one.

Nicely located on outskirts, with great pool, with plenty of sun loungers and parasols for shade, overlooking the creek, with lots of fishing boats heading out to fish. All very nice.

The hotel is quite small for Middle East, so has limited facilities, buffet was OK with good choice of fresh fruits, cold and hot choices. Chef cooked a good freshly made omelette for breakfast.

Only had breakfast but hotel seemed to have a reasonable looking evening buffet.

Rooms located in small blocks outside were OK except for the noise from air con in the room and also outside, not good.

On company business so cannot comment on charges.

BUT, and here is when it all went wrong.

I was told my bill had not been paid, unless I backed up payment with credit card they would not release me. When its 4.0 am waiting for a taxi to Doha airport you don't protest too much.

Then they photocopied both the front and REVERSE of my card, with my security pin.

I cancelled it on return home. ( Oh, the bill had in fact been paid 2 weeks earlier!)

  • Liked — location by the sea
  • Disliked — hassle re charges
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumatra, Indonesia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Only hotel in Al Khor. Nice pool. No shade.
Tacky decor. Buffet average at best.
At the current price would not ever recommend
it to a friend. In comparison to beautiful 5star hotels
in Asia and Middle East this is more than 3x
what it should cost.

  • Liked — View of beach, pool
  • Disliked — too hot in August to do outdoor activities
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonianSumatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2007

I stayed there with my company and I thaught it was a nice quiet place. Their weekly buffet is to die for.

  • Liked — beach and pool view-- priceless
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LoveTheBeachAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Khor
7.5 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
3.4 mi away
W Doha Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Doha Old Town
4.9 mi away
The St. Regis Doha
The St. Regis Doha
#7 of 131 in Doha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
6.9 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Sultan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Sultan Beach Resort

Property: Al Sultan Beach Resort
Address: PO Box 5555, Al Khor 5555, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Al Khor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Khor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Sultan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sultan Beach Hotel Al Khor
Al Sultan Beach Resort Qatar/Al Khor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing