We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star prices for 3-4 Star stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Al Sultan Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Khor
Reviewed 22 January 2011

In short, the hotel is far too overpriced. One night will run you about 900 QAR (that's about $225) for their cheapest room. Tag on to that another 100 QAR or so for 24 hours of internet and the bill is pretty hefty after any length of stay. Did I mention the dinner buffet will set you back 160 QAR per person ($40)? Really, it's the only hotel in the area, so they have the monopoly on prices... and it shows.

Regardless, the hotel is nice, but not 5 Star. If you look closely at their 5 Star certificate, it was certified by the Qatar Tourism Board (or something like that), who I am pretty sure were a bit biased.

The hotel looks nice, but it's 4 star at best. Especially with no free internet. And a lot of it is shiny, but not really functional. The chairs in the dining area have high armrests that prevent you from sliding the chair too close to the table... so then you have to move forward in your chair and dine without back support. Even if you could scoot in, the tables are supported by a single, large center beam-- which leaves no room for your feet. Anyways, that's just my personal rant, but really, a lot of the hotel is like that, a ton of marble and gilded objects that just sit there and look shiny. That's fine for some, but for a business traveler, I couldn't care less.

The grounds aren't bad, but this is the desert, they should give up on trying to grow a decent lawn and just change their landscaping plans-- good grass will never grow.

Anyways, I'll end things here, but all in all, the staff is VERY nice and friendly, the beds are comfortable, but the hotel is a bit too gaudy for my tastes and the prices are far too high.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schruminator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2009

When we were there, we were the only guests! Had the lunchtime buffet - not too bad, but nothing special, and expensive for what you got! Thought the pool was nice, but there wasn't any shade. It's a shame the decor is so tacky - and the prices are so high! We wouldn't stay here again, it's really not worth it. It says it's 5*, but it's nowhere near that....

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2009

Visited Al Sultan twice on business. If you want somewhere to relax and escape the human race this is the place for you - both times I went I saw just one person using the restaurant. The problem is not the hotel - it's equivalent to a 4* i guess - but Al Khor. As said in other reviews, it's a dusty, rundown town with construction taking place on the town Corniche.

The hotel is very quiet, even with local Qataris who won't go because the hotel bans sheesha smoking. Naturally with so few customers, staff are pleasant if somewhat demotivated.

Al Khor has no - and I mean no - other tourist attractions. If coming to Qatar, there's no reason to leave the Cpital city Doha - unless you want complete peace, quiet and the hotel equivalent of the Marie Celeste.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank copyqat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2008

The write ups of Al Khor talk of a sleepy, old fashioned pearl and fishing village. It's not, it's a small, dirty town with nothing going for it,.

The jewel, and only hotel, is this one.

Nicely located on outskirts, with great pool, with plenty of sun loungers and parasols for shade, overlooking the creek, with lots of fishing boats heading out to fish. All very nice.

The hotel is quite small for Middle East, so has limited facilities, buffet was OK with good choice of fresh fruits, cold and hot choices. Chef cooked a good freshly made omelette for breakfast.

Only had breakfast but hotel seemed to have a reasonable looking evening buffet.

Rooms located in small blocks outside were OK except for the noise from air con in the room and also outside, not good.

On company business so cannot comment on charges.

BUT, and here is when it all went wrong.

I was told my bill had not been paid, unless I backed up payment with credit card they would not release me. When its 4.0 am waiting for a taxi to Doha airport you don't protest too much.

Then they photocopied both the front and REVERSE of my card, with my security pin.

I cancelled it on return home. ( Oh, the bill had in fact been paid 2 weeks earlier!)

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Only hotel in Al Khor. Nice pool. No shade.
Tacky decor. Buffet average at best.
At the current price would not ever recommend
it to a friend. In comparison to beautiful 5star hotels
in Asia and Middle East this is more than 3x
what it should cost.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonianSumatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2007

I stayed there with my company and I thaught it was a nice quiet place. Their weekly buffet is to die for.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank LoveTheBeachAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
Thank Marta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Al Khor
24.9 mi away
Hilton Doha
Hilton Doha
#25 of 137 in Doha
1,868 reviews
27.8 mi away
Banana Island Resort Doha by Anantara
25.0 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Doha Hotel & Villas
27.9 mi away
Amari Doha Qatar
Amari Doha Qatar
#29 of 137 in Doha
523 reviews
21.5 mi away
Marsa Malaz Kempinski, The Pearl - Doha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Sultan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Sultan Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 5555, Al Khor 5555, Qatar
Region: Qatar > Al Khor
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Khor
Price Range: £135 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Al Sultan Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Al Sultan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sultan Beach Hotel Al Khor
Al Sultan Beach Resort Qatar/Al Khor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing