We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
£77
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Michele S
Chicago, Illinois

Family Wedding

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Jan 2013
We just returned from the Promised Land Lodge where we spent a week with relatives and friends for a wedding event which was hosted there. Shebi and his staff did a fantastic job of coordinating a family wedding. They were all very friendly and accommodating. The entire resort was dedicated to the wedding. Custom meals focusing on the fresh caught local fish and Zanzibari dishes were prepared, the beach bar was well- stocked and a wonderful place for new and old friends to relax and have fun. Anu, the bartender, worked hard to personalize and add whimsy to the fun. Many guests chose to relax in the many hammocks, swings, outdoor seating areas, or by the campfire at night. The bongo drums added a fun sense of "island". There are any outside excursions the staff can set up for you including the taxi. If you're looking for an atmosphere to relax, get away from it all, do some beach combing and sun bathing you would enjoy it. It does take a little time to to acclimate to the heat and get used to the more primitive hut living and lack of western amenities, but it works and the trade-off for a secluded and authentic getaway is worth it.
Date of stay: December 2012
Room Tip: Contact the lodge for any special needs or requests.
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £85
  • Booking.com
0.7 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
1.4 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.1 miles from Promised Land Lodge
eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
0.9 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
1.5 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free parking
Beachfront
Karamba Sunset
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
2.3 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £65
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Promised Land Lodge
Beachfront
View more hotels in Kizimkazi
Reviews (306)
Filter reviews
306 results
Traveller rating
172
85
30
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
172
85
30
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swinging chairs amazing lodge fish curry compared to other places zanzibar trip overlooking the ocean every night great pool amazing place chill bungalow badminton rasta sunbeds sand cocktails
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 306 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have spent one of our best holidays in Promised Land. Peace, beauty and friendliness are always at hand. The sea view with its low tides is breathtaking, you may reach the local village by foot walking in the water, strong sandals in this case are recommended. At night you will not hear bustling TVs or buzzing air-cons but will be sitting cozily in front of the bush fire listening to the beating drums. If you want to live a piece of real Zanzibar this is the place as most of the Island has been gobbled up by tourism. We are grateful to Sheby and his staff for making our stay unforgettable. Fabio

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank us2ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had the pleasure of spending two weeks at Promised Land. What particulary made it outstanding was the friendly atmosphere and scenic surroundings. Sure you will find beautiful beaches and professionally helpful staff all over Zanzibar. What made the difference here were the unique service mindedness, brilliant outside area with a hammocks and a bonfire every night. E.g. My brother was asking about octopus fishing on the reef, an before you know it he was handed a spear and joined one of the staff guys. No cheezy tour package, just two guys enjoying fishing. Naturally the catch was served the very same night. I could go on forever...

After leaving Promised Land i stayed at 7 other similar or more posh places, but none of them even came close! So thank you Shebi, Mustafa, Salmi and all the staff. We will definately come back at some point!

Room tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
Date of stay: November 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Øyvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Thanks for an amazing stay, Shebi!
Off the beaten track and in the un-spoilt South of the island, Promised lands is a rustic and relaxed paradise. Relatively quiet and hassle-free walks along the stunning coastline. The bungalows are beautiful and directly next to the water. Lots of hammocks perfectly suited for a breezy mozzy-free afternoon spent reading, dozing, sipping a drink... Our more adventurous mornings were spent taking trips with the local fishermen to go snorkelling in a near-by reef or swimming with the dolphins. Both trips were organised by promised lands and were not expensive.
The food was home-made, delicious and reasonably priced. Balmy evenings were spent chilling next to the fire, listening to the rhythmic drums played by Shebi.
Great vibe and super cool crew, including Ayre and Simba, the resident dogs.
We'll be back again. Remember to bring cash as no ATM's or card machines out that way.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The owner has an incredible eye for creating a place you want to hang out at. That's nice, since there's not much to do in the village. Such a great atmosphere, with the owner adding a fire every night to perfect the beach feel. Food was fresh and delicious. Between the hammocks and swings and bar and restaurant, we were in heaven. As has been stated in other reviews, bathrooms are outdoors and water is salty, so if you're looking for a resort-y experience, this is probably not the place for you. But, if you're looking to soak up Zanzibar in a charming and rustic way, I can't imagine a better place to do it.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skye888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Allthough we only stayed for 1 night I can recommend this place.
Relax. Nice location. Very chill athmossphere. Organized our early dolphin tour efficiently.
Good communication over mail beforehand.
Would go back. 50USD for a double would be a little pushed on the mainland but is good value on Zanzibar.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews