We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and calm place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Promised Land Lodge
Ranked #1 of 11 Kizimkazi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and calm place”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

The reviews said it would be calm. And it was really calm. The staff is super-friendly. A really nice place!

The restaurant is amazing. There's only one dish per meal to choose from. But the chef is one good cook! The bar is great.

The downside is the beach which makes it difficult to take a swim during the day and the beds were very hard.

We left one day earlier but kind of regretted our decision and always compared our stay at the Promised land lodge with the other places on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rawbourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    42
    8
    5
    0
See reviews for
23
69
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Really a nice place, a paradise, Shebi and his staff are friendly and kind. Very good and huge breakfast. The dinner is not so variuos but axeptable and cheap.
Very good service of dolphin watching and bathing 25$ each on a private boat!
The bungalows are huts, the bed is a little unconfortable but we liked so much our stay...
The toilet has no roof...strange but suggestive!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafne86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We just returned from the Promised Land Lodge where we spent a week with relatives and friends for a wedding event which was hosted there. Shebi and his staff did a fantastic job of coordinating a family wedding. They were all very friendly and accommodating. The entire resort was dedicated to the wedding. Custom meals focusing on the fresh caught local fish and Zanzibari dishes were prepared, the beach bar was well- stocked and a wonderful place for new and old friends to relax and have fun. Anu, the bartender, worked hard to personalize and add whimsy to the fun. Many guests chose to relax in the many hammocks, swings, outdoor seating areas, or by the campfire at night. The bongo drums added a fun sense of "island". There are any outside excursions the staff can set up for you including the taxi. If you're looking for an atmosphere to relax, get away from it all, do some beach combing and sun bathing you would enjoy it. It does take a little time to to acclimate to the heat and get used to the more primitive hut living and lack of western amenities, but it works and the trade-off for a secluded and authentic getaway is worth it.

Room Tip: Contact the lodge for any special needs or requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trieste
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We have spent one of our best holidays in Promised Land. Peace, beauty and friendliness are always at hand. The sea view with its low tides is breathtaking, you may reach the local village by foot walking in the water, strong sandals in this case are recommended. At night you will not hear bustling TVs or buzzing air-cons but will be sitting cozily in front of the bush fire listening to the beating drums. If you want to live a piece of real Zanzibar this is the place as most of the Island has been gobbled up by tourism. We are grateful to Sheby and his staff for making our stay unforgettable. Fabio

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank us2ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We had the pleasure of spending two weeks at Promised Land. What particulary made it outstanding was the friendly atmosphere and scenic surroundings. Sure you will find beautiful beaches and professionally helpful staff all over Zanzibar. What made the difference here were the unique service mindedness, brilliant outside area with a hammocks and a bonfire every night. E.g. My brother was asking about octopus fishing on the reef, an before you know it he was handed a spear and joined one of the staff guys. No cheezy tour package, just two guys enjoying fishing. Naturally the catch was served the very same night. I could go on forever...

After leaving Promised Land i stayed at 7 other similar or more posh places, but none of them even came close! So thank you Shebi, Mustafa, Salmi and all the staff. We will definately come back at some point!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oyvind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Thanks for an amazing stay, Shebi!
Off the beaten track and in the un-spoilt South of the island, Promised lands is a rustic and relaxed paradise. Relatively quiet and hassle-free walks along the stunning coastline. The bungalows are beautiful and directly next to the water. Lots of hammocks perfectly suited for a breezy mozzy-free afternoon spent reading, dozing, sipping a drink... Our more adventurous mornings were spent taking trips with the local fishermen to go snorkelling in a near-by reef or swimming with the dolphins. Both trips were organised by promised lands and were not expensive.
The food was home-made, delicious and reasonably priced. Balmy evenings were spent chilling next to the fire, listening to the rhythmic drums played by Shebi.
Great vibe and super cool crew, including Ayre and Simba, the resident dogs.
We'll be back again. Remember to bring cash as no ATM's or card machines out that way.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The owner has an incredible eye for creating a place you want to hang out at. That's nice, since there's not much to do in the village. Such a great atmosphere, with the owner adding a fire every night to perfect the beach feel. Food was fresh and delicious. Between the hammocks and swings and bar and restaurant, we were in heaven. As has been stated in other reviews, bathrooms are outdoors and water is salty, so if you're looking for a resort-y experience, this is probably not the place for you. But, if you're looking to soak up Zanzibar in a charming and rustic way, I can't imagine a better place to do it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skye888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
9.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
241 reviews
1.4 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kizimkazi
270 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
2.3 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#3 of 5 in Kizimkazi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promised Land Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promised Land Lodge

Property: Promised Land Lodge
Address: Kizimkazi-Zanzibar, Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Promised Land Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why not sleep and wake up with the dolphins! Promised Land Lodge located in the south coast of Zanzibar in the dolphin village called Kizimkazi. 50 km from Stone Town and 20km to the east coast. Promised Land Lodge is designed with traditional Zanzibari features to create a unique cool and relaxing environment with tropical garden with direct access to the beach and warm water of the Indian Ocean. It is a place where you feel at home as seen in our reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Promised Land Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promised Land Lodge Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing