We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (196)
Filter reviews
196 results
Traveller rating
124
53
13
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
53
13
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salt water interesting experience dolphin tour low tide reggae music organise trips fishing village dolphin watching beautiful place to stay good vibes seafood lunch and dinner doing nothing relaxing days octopus an amazing place every evening
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 196 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

The rooms are good. The views are just stunning. Location is relatively close to the village, so you can go for a walk.

The manager and everyone working there is really nice. They really make you feel at home. You can have great time at night around the bar, just hanging out with the staff and the owner. We got several free drinks for the birthday of one of my friends.

I liked the fact that the hotel is owned by local people.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kalust M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

We stayed only two nights with frieds... that was too short!! We loved the place because it is remote and chill and more importantly it is authentic. The owner and his people are very hospitable. Guests do not speak much with each other - I guess everybody wants just to relax - but in the Evening they light bonefire, play the drums and is ideal to watch the shooting stars and síp some nice drinks. Also, the food was simple but the best I have had on the island. Really looking forward returning there.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katalin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Located at the southern tip of Zanzibar next to the small fisherman village Kizimkazi. The lodge is very simple, with huts in wood and palm leaves. The hut we stayed in had a little patio overlooking the garden, and an outdoor toilet and shower. The water is filtered salt water, and it works surprisingly good to shower in.

Even though the lodge is situated just by the ocean there is no actual beach nearby. Instead there is a wooden stair just down into the water - but only when the tide is high. During low tide, it is a couple of hundred meters to where the water is deep enough to swim. But that would be a walk through urchins, seared and corals. There is however a pool that can be used when the tide is low.

The lodge has a small bar that is open all day, or until the last guest leaves the bar. The view over the ocean during sunset is marvelous, and everything is very relaxing.

The little restaurant at the lodge serves almost only guests at the lodge. The lady at the restaurant takes around before lunch and dinner and asks each guest what they want to eat. The restaurant has somehow fixed opening hours, with dinner starting at 7.00 PM the earliest.

At the compound there are a lot of chairs, hammocks, sun beds and whatever you need when being lazy and just should spend the day horizontal in the sun or the shade.

We very much enjoyed the stay at the lodge, and it was a good place to start the vacation and just do nothing but relax.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ThunderbirdJenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018 via mobile

Very very nice place. Very "pole pole", so you don't need to be in a rush, because everything takes time. But you have time when you're on holidays, right?! This place is full of charm, the swimming pool is amazing, and is super nice when the tide is low. The room we had was one of the new ones, and was very cosy. Overall we recommend it!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Eloïse d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

The lodge was our last stop to relax after safari and it was a great place. Situated on the south end it is a quiet location for our family stay. The cabins are lovely, clean and comfortable. The shower water is a bit salty and does not get hot at any point. We spent most of our time by the salt water pool but did venture down onto the beach when tide was out and went for a walk to see the shoreline. We did manage a swim in the ocean when the tide was more in than out. There is no sandy beach right at the lodge so if you are looking for that check down the beach. There were kayaks for use and other than the small hole in one of them the kids and hubby managed a paddle on the ocean. There were other activities to enjoy as well. Staff were friendly, restaurant prices were a little high but nowhere else really to eat although we were told of an Italian spot about 10 min walk away we never did go. Bring yourself some snacks if you have big eaters, nothing to buy there. We were going to go on the dolphin expedition but heard from a few people it was more like a dolphin hunt so chose to stay home instead. If you are just looking to relax this is a great place. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4fitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews