We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing property.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
toronto
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing property.”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at The Residence this past week and it is a WOW factor personified. Your villa is so beautiful and top notch. You have your own pool and private chairs are put on the beach for you. Guests are treated like royalty and for pure relaxation after a safari this is the place.
The water depth of the sea depends on the tides but we did swim in the morning and later in the afternoon in the gloriously warm sea. We also went snorkeling. Guests can call for the buggy to pick you up or you can bicycle to the restaurants which is a lot of fun.
The managers Mr. Montel and Mr. Michel took trouble to look after us when we were not happy with transfer arrangements with an outside company, even to arranging lunch at The Serena in Stonetown. They are both to be congratulated on running this hotel so wonderfully and making guests feel so welcome. The Serena hotel by the way does not compare to The Residence and we thanked our lucky stars that we had read the reviews on The Residence.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    711
    117
    51
    16
    7
See reviews for
198
544
24
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Stayed 4 nights in an Ocean Front villa- arrived quite late after long journey from the Masai Mara and was very pleased when car eventually arrived at the Residence. Villa is very spacious and well appointed with large pool out front overlooking the Ocean. Had Half board which allows a $50 USDpp allowance off the a la carte menu which worked out fine for dinner. Breakfast and all other meals were very high standard and the service overall was friendly yet polished- a surprise as the resort has not been open that long. Whats really nice about the Residence is the quietness- its is so isolated that you really cant hear a thing other than the birds and the waves. Overall a most enjoyable relaxing stay which was ideal after a busy time through Africa doing Gorilla tracking and a safari. Minor gripes - the outdoor shower is cold only which makes it feel like a utility area rather than a luxury feature and the pools could do with some foliage screening to the sides to increase privacy (there isnt really any right now) but otherwise five stars well earned.

Room Tip: Ocean front villas worth the extra compared to garden view- why go all the way to Zanzibar iskland t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

I’ve just got back from a really fantastic restful stay at The Residence, Zanzibar.

We flew into Dar es Salaam with BA and caught a little hopper flight over to the island with Coastal Aviation – the latter the smallest plane I’ve been on and a bit rustic but punctual and cheap – go for it as it was fun.

We stayed for 5 nights at The Residence, Zanzibar and took one of the beach villas. The accommodation has a plantation splendour to it, but manages to blend simplicity, space and comfort. There’s a luxury Zen-likeness to the whole place. Small touches in the room such as plenty of fluffy clean towels all smelling of exotic frangipani; yummy residence bathroom products (loved the bath salts and shower-gel); quality cotton bedding and fantastic turn-down service lived up to expectations. Treats such as the beautiful fruit bowl, daily herbal drinks and welcome petit fours made us feel truly spoiled. Oh and a big thanks to Linda was so sweet and helpful but then all the staff were. Other pluses are the butler service (service in general across the hotel was the best I’ve experienced real 5 star); plunge pool (substantially sized) and the push bikes (fun to zoom around the site). Oh and a great spa – I enjoyed a lovely relaxing massage and even fell asleep (first time ever)!

The beach is very pretty – pure white sands and turquoise waters and it’s kept super clean. Windy though and the sun’s strong so remember your high factors (there’s limited choice re SPF in the shop). However it’s the infinity pool that I enjoyed most. It’s amazing – completely glass at one end (get some pics it’s hilarious). Make sure you order a lunchtime picnic box by the pool – super fun.

The food at the resort is delicious and there’s an impressive choice…..from lobster, king prawns, scallops, steak, feta, indulgent puds – whatever you fancy. Every day there’s also a selection of fresh baked breads and pastries. Oh and lovely yummy hors d'oeuvres to enjoy pre-dinner with cocktails (try the ginger mojito or passion fruit daiquiri – wow!!). And if the weather’s not too good then enjoy the 24 hour room service – we did as it was rainy (unusual in October as supposed to be dry but the rains’ came early) but snuggled into a DVD and dinner in the villa. Again we felt really well looked after.

On one of the day’s we went into Stone-town. I’d saying if you’re staying for 3-5 days then do a half day city tour and if longer then a full day so you get some of the broader history. There’s some great shops/bargains to be had and amazing architecture and history to absorb.

Loved Zanzibar and so want to return - maybe Pember island next time too!

Room Tip: The beach villas are great. And the two beds easily would suit 2 couples as there's two seperate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nooLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Having arrived from safari and a few days at a beach villa down the road the Residence was like entering a different world. The grounds are huge and as previously mentioned the best way of getting around is either by requesting a golf buggy to collect you or using the bikes which are outside your villa. The villas themselves are beautiful with the most amazing bathroom I have ever seen which included 2 showers -1 indoors and 1 outdoors! There are so many special touches which separate this hotel from any others including a box of beautiful handmade sweets which were replenished when empty and herbal tea left in your room in the evening.
The one thing that really makes this resort are the staff within 24 hours of arriving they were all greeting us by name and nothing was too much trouble for them. As it was our honeymoon they organised a sunset cruise on a dhow and a special meal for us which we could have had in our villa, we chose to have it in the dining room and will always remember the staff singing as they brought us the most delicious chocolate cake I have ever tasted.

Room Tip: Get a sea view villa if you can afford to!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelliefoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This resort is unbelievable. The service is the best I have found inZanzibar...the villas the most spacious, and the food the best. We have visited many resorts on Zanzibar, and this is by far the best. We were entertaining our family from the US, and every detail was perfect. Bikes were brought to our villas for our use, and we could have had every meal in the room if we had wanted. I highly, highly recommend this resort. I will definitely return. We are expats in Dar es Salaam, and we will be back and recommending this property to all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MshackW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have just returned from 2 weeks of absolute bliss, from the personalised greeting on arrival to the butler unpacking your bags (and repacking on departure) what more could you ask for?
Well the staff become like family and all know your routines, we cycled around the site every morning before breakfast and my morinng coffee was waiting for me without asking . We had personalised Mauritian curries, exquisite steak and lobster that I had never set eyes upon before. Tailored dining at your room whenever you liked at no extra charge. A swimming pool with glass sides to it and a management team that could not do enough to help! Dont forget to visit the spa as the massages were very very relaxing
The family was catered for impeccably and the birthday dance , made the whole hotel stop and smile, left the hotel for a Dhow romantic cruise which is well worth doing and also visited Stone Town which is an education in itself.
I can not praise the Residence team highly enough, they were awesome!

Room Tip: Dificult as they are all beautiful, President suite was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrahamV54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We took a slight risk and booked the residence for our honeymoon before it was even open!
It was the best decision we made all honeymoon!
It is simply paradise.
Pure tranquility and luxury...

We stayed in a beach front villa and it was incredible. THe private pool is an actual pool rather than a plunge pool. Free wifi. Beds are ultra comfortable. Bathroom is stunning.

The service is second to none. Anything you ask for is done immediately and with a smile.

You get around on foot, bike or by golf buggy if you have eaten too much!

The best aspect has to be the food. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are to die for! It rivals any michelin star restaurant in the world!

We had a honeymoon dinner on our vernada one evening... they ask you what you each want for your perfect meal, and you have your own waiter, topping up the champagne all night!

THe spa is magnificent. The pool and beach are well staffed.

We literally could not fault it! If i was being ultra ultra picky, it could do with a bar with evening entertainment for after dinner.

It is one of the best hotels I have stayed in in the world!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjw25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,511 reviews
48.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
602 reviews
30.3 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 168 in Zanzibar Island
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,506 reviews
47.5 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
48.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Property: The Residence Zanzibar
Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing