We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puzzled”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We have recently returned from the hotel having taken my family and two children (5 & 7) for a three week holiday. I don't generally write in this forum but have felt complelled by some of the less than generous reviews. Firstly it takes an hour from the airport to the hotel and yes you do travel the final two miles down a rough road but it's not a problem and this from a man who can complain better than most. The welcome on arrival is efficent & courteous and even though we arrived long before the villa should have been available, we were shown without delay to it and given a tour by our butler, Joseph. The beach doesn't look it's best at low tide but this is hardly the fault of the hotel. It's compensated by a fabulous pool and decking which is far more kid friendly than the tiling normally put down. The pool boys run an efficient and tidy area, cold water and fresh towels are provided without delay and a smile goes a long way! Our arrival coincided with the end of Ramadan and the hotel was busy with guests from Dar who were celebrating the festival of Eid's - didn't impact on us and the hotel felt buzy and fun. The restaurants and staff were under pressure as the hotels capacity was close to maximum but not once, did this impact with slow service or anything less than the normal cheery way in which we were greeted or served. The food is of a very high standard and all tastes are catered for and indeed it was pointed out on numerous ocassions, that if we wanted something different we only had to ask and they would provide it. We had, not on the menu, "surf & turf", private beach bbq and more. The hotel has been open eighteen months and the sympathetic planting has already removed the scars of construction and it looks as though it's been there for much longer as it now blends into the landscape. The senior management were incredible from our arrival to our departure. Nothing it seemed was too much trouble and they went out of there way to encourage us to explore outside of the hotel. We to went to Stone Town, quite frankly what people expect from a developing country is extrordinary, perhaps one of the previous reviewers would prefer a Brown Thomas department store as in Dublin? Stone Town nor indeed Zanzibar have the infrastructure to excite, at the moment, but that doesn't mean that you shouldn't explore. Do go early morning and see the dolphins, surfing down the waves, not one or ten but a hundred or more - spectacular! Have the dhow cruise and enjoy being on a beautiful tropical island which has much to offer and deserves a chance to be explored. Finally thanks to Yves, Michelle, Soon, Vikram, Linda, Almas, Jacqueline and all the other staff that made this holiday one of best we've ever had and as my very demanding five year old said, "this was the best ever, much better than Disney"!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel50_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,074)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

610 - 616 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

The Residence is situated in the South of Zanzibar, a quiet and beautiful part of the island. The hotel offers 3 kinds of villas: beach villas and luxury garden have both view on the ocean, and garden villas. All types of Villas are very well decorated, spacious and have their own small private pool.

Thanks to a great management, this hotel makes a difference in the range of this kind of accommodations among the other hotels that offers the same things in other countries...

The attention to the small details in the service makes your stay an unforgettable experience: bicycles are given for people to go around the resorts on arrival ( bicycles will be waiting for you in front of the villas), great cuisine ( Food is well presented, with a great taste, and some original creation and combination ). All the staff is well trained,( always smiling and ready to serve you). The hotel offers as well a wide variety of trips around the island.

A special thanks for Michel (the resident manager), and the lovely Mauritian staff, to Linda (the restaurants manager) , and all the great locals that work there.

If you are going to Zanzibar, it is really worth staying there for a while either to chill out, to rest or just to enjoy being lazy by the beach.

Room Tip: If you can afford a beach villa or a luxury garden don't hesitate. The ocean view is worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The villa was magnificent, food was excellent with fantastic presentation.

Though out my stay the staff where highly professional with gold levels of service and attentiveness.... GREAT holiday many thanks to the Mauritian manager. I forget his name but express many thanks for your excellent service and attention to the minor details that made the holiday a paridise in paridise.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MontyMojito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

we had the pleasure of staying here when it had just opened. there were a few teething properties but you couldnt fault the service which was the best i have seen on the island. i wasnt a fan of the beach but the pool more than made up for it. the rooms were amazing and spotless and the attention to detail in the rooms was second to none. would go back for sure.

Room Tip: there can be a waiting list for golf carts so stick to rooms nearer the public areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veronica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We only stayed a few days, but would have loved to stay longer. The drive from the airport, is well worth it. From the moment you enter the gates, you realize how magnificent this property is. Beautiful villas (and the personal infintiy pool is a really nice touch) Dining staff could not do enough for us. Food was excellent and well prepared. Everyone working on the property made you feel that they appreciated you being there. We celebrated our daughters birthday with a dinner for the family on the beach. A truly memorable experience and the pashmina's given to the ladies when it got a bit chilly, demonstrates their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. Service was excellent. We felt warm and welcome. I highly recommend The Residence Zanzibar

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed 8 days from the 2nd week of august '12. We really enjoyed this hotel as it's in the middle of the bush and we loved a mile of white sand beach where you feel alone, without noisy surrounding. This place is so quiet!

The hotel atmosphere is peacefull with a kind staff. No crowd at the beach as well as at the huge main pool. My wife stayed days at the beach, nobody to bother her, while I was sailing on new hobby cat 12. The sea is safe for sailing, the beaching easy.

Our villa was spacious, truly quiet and very clean. Surprisingly the air conditioning is very soft and moreover TV & WIFI are efficient in this part of East Africa (we haven't miss the Olympics). But we couldn't wait being in our pool while watching the sunset. Each villa has a private pool, 30 x 12 feet, very convenient when low tide (it's the Indian Ocean, not a lagoon).

Ambiance at both restaurants is relaxing and discression is a must. Staff & waiters are dedicated and try their best to cocoon you! You don't need to queue for your juice or your eggs, just ask for! Mr SOON and his team makes you feel VIP's: he organised a marvelous lunch on our private deck facing the sea and, on another occasion, a special fish diner.
Food is very fresh and excellent, no question. A special applause to chef VINAY who surprised us with very testy and ligth dishes; our dilema: desserts were too good!

We were tired and exhausted, we got a true rest. This is why this is our first contribution.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jedhau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I went to the Residence last year for my honeymoon, after a Safari in Serengeti and the service was impeccable. The food was exquisite and so were the rooms and the attentiveness of the staff. I'd definitely recommend the Residence to any honeymooners, but it worth noting that it is far from Stone Town etc. While it is also true that there are issues with the low tide, this is true of most areas in Zanzibar (I was aware of this because I researched before making a reservation). All in all, I'd definitely recommend the hotel, as well as their massage service. We were taken on a trip out to stonetown and prison island which we really enjoyed as well.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank do0dz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,704 reviews
30.2 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
533 reviews
33.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#5 of 19 in Nungwi
667 reviews
17.6 mi away
Zawadi Hotel Zanzibar
10.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range: £290 - £1,111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing